Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Friendly staff, poor facilities

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Staff was friendly whenever we interacted with them, but the room was bare bones and the toilet barely worked (all items outside of human waste had to be put in trash... Yes, even TP). We lost power part way through the night and it still hadn't come back on by checkout (11am), good thing it wasn't all that hot. Fortunately it was only a one night stay. Any longer and we would have gone elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Hotel with excelent ocean view.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Hotel staff is very nice, Ange (Front Desk), Didier and Alam (Restaurant) Daisy (Kitchen) Carlos (Manager) all make our stay like home or better, Nice location with front Ocean View from any point, Pool was clean with spectacular sunset view, Room was clean, very nice terrace, bath in bay view cabins has great concept but need some improve as well with the room too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: THe view
Cons: Better plumbing, new paint, new stairs
Location: Samara is just down the road which offers many restaurants, the beach and shopping.
THe hotel was in a rather dilapidated condition, which was too bad because the view was very nice. The toilet leaked and the shower didn't drain. We also happened to book for the one night of the hotel staff party, which meant all the facilities were closed to guests. The next morning, we saw contractors walking around, so hopefully this means the owners are willing to put some money into bringing the hotel back to a more modern standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rod from franco

Great views from balcony

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Facility was nice, pool area and restaurant have great views, the room was out dated but for the price you cant complain
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great view but the place needs an updating....Great staff; food needs help
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice View of the Ocean

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: There is a beautiful beach.
I personally was not impressed. The room was very outdated. The staff was very helpful though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn rooms. Nice view.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
This hotel must be more than 25 yrs old, and rooms show it. Taking that apart, restaurant and pool are located un probably the best spot on this beautiful beach. One detail that I disliked. I chose one king size bed which they changed to two queen size with no warning. There was nothing they could to to give my king size and no apologies were offered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from West Michigan

The Hotel has a very good location overlooking bay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: This Hotel is well located for access to Playa Carrillo and reasonably close to the towns of Samara.
Cons: The better rooms are down below the bar and pool facing the ocean. All the rooms need some repair and attention to maintenance
Location: Playa Carrillo is one of the more beautiful beaches in Costa Rica in my opinion and the town of Samara nearby is very colorful with a Costa Rica feel.
We have been to Costa Rica four times and three times to the Samara/Playa Carrillo area. This was the second time for us at this hotel. There were some issues regarding the room and its availability. We ultimately changed rooms. The process was needlessly protracted. The general manager finally became involved and things were corrected to our satisfaction. It seems that the Hotel has been recently purchased by new owners and they are in the process of bringing things back to the appropriate standards. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful and well managed but the buildings are in need of some maintenance and repair. I believe the new management is in the process of doing this now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed from Connecticut

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite a long way out of the small town and the ocean view room was a tree view room, with a smattering of ocean at high tide. The rooms are a steep climb/drive from the restaurant/ reception and the free wi-fi is only available in the restaurant or at the pool. Against this we had one of the best evening meals during our stay in Costa Rica although breakfast (included) was basic. Another positive the room we had was huge and very clean. All in all, mixed feelings, would probably not return, but not awful.