Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: THe view
Cons: Better plumbing, new paint, new stairs
Location: Samara is just down the road which offers many restaurants, the beach and shopping.
THe hotel was in a rather dilapidated condition, which was too bad because the view was very nice. The toilet leaked and the shower didn't drain. We also happened to book for the one night of the hotel staff party, which meant all the facilities were closed to guests. The next morning, we saw contractors walking around, so hopefully this means the owners are willing to put some money into bringing the hotel back to a more modern standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rod from franco

Great views from balcony

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Facility was nice, pool area and restaurant have great views, the room was out dated but for the price you cant complain
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great view but the place needs an updating....Great staff; food needs help
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice View of the Ocean

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: There is a beautiful beach.
I personally was not impressed. The room was very outdated. The staff was very helpful though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn rooms. Nice view.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
This hotel must be more than 25 yrs old, and rooms show it. Taking that apart, restaurant and pool are located un probably the best spot on this beautiful beach. One detail that I disliked. I chose one king size bed which they changed to two queen size with no warning. There was nothing they could to to give my king size and no apologies were offered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from West Michigan

The Hotel has a very good location overlooking bay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: This Hotel is well located for access to Playa Carrillo and reasonably close to the towns of Samara.
Cons: The better rooms are down below the bar and pool facing the ocean. All the rooms need some repair and attention to maintenance
Location: Playa Carrillo is one of the more beautiful beaches in Costa Rica in my opinion and the town of Samara nearby is very colorful with a Costa Rica feel.
We have been to Costa Rica four times and three times to the Samara/Playa Carrillo area. This was the second time for us at this hotel. There were some issues regarding the room and its availability. We ultimately changed rooms. The process was needlessly protracted. The general manager finally became involved and things were corrected to our satisfaction. It seems that the Hotel has been recently purchased by new owners and they are in the process of bringing things back to the appropriate standards. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful and well managed but the buildings are in need of some maintenance and repair. I believe the new management is in the process of doing this now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mari from Oregon

Nice hotel, great pool, good location

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: pool, charm
Cons: very slow wifi, somewhat rundown
Location: Best thing to do was swim in the pool and eat at the Argentine Steak House at Punta Carrillo. Also Howler monkeys nearby.
We had 2 days left and chose the Samara area. It was very hot, but the pool made it very pleasant. We were given an older room with a great ocean view and thatched roof, even 2 bathrooms! The AC worked great, great sunset, and local charm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mav from Seattle, WA, USA

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: The pristine pool and the magnificent views!
Cons: we loved everything about it!
Location: perfect location, near the beach and to other restaurants.
Hotel Guanamar The staff was soo kind, helpful and friendly! Client satisfaction was their mantra! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! We stayed 10 days and the rooms were clean, there were no little ants as there were eight years ago when are there last, but we did have food in the room, he reason for the ants the last time. We learned our lesson the last time. The pool was lovely, the restaurant and the food were excellent, we could not have asked for any better experience. We will definitely be back again and next time maybe more than 10 days if we can swing it. They reinforced the steps and the stairwell since the last time, so that was very helpful. Also the security guard at night really made us feel safe, as we noticed he walked all around the premises all night long. Pura Vida!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Staff went over and beyond to make you stay a pleasant one. The real strength of the entire visit.
Nice trip and excellent staff, but location is cut into a hill. Not for anyone that has medical problems because walking up and down several flights of stairs to restaurant or beach. Good food at restaurant but menu is limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlos from San Jose

The hotel was great, really close to the beach

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: The hotel room was really good, the air conditioning and the hot water were great, and the view to the ocean was amazing
Cons: Too many stairs to get to the restaurant... lol
Location: There are very few things to do near this hotel, you would have to drive to Samara beach to get more choices for entertainment and food
We stayed there for three nights and had a really good time.