Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Hotel is mostly for business, not for vacationing!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Some of the best amenities.
Cons: Hotel staff friendliness.
Went to Cartagena for vacation, stayed at this hotel 5 nights. I ended up going to the hotel where my family was (Cartagena Plaza) to use their pool and services. The rooms are great here, but their service sucked and this hotel was dead in terms of fun. Do not go here if your on vacation!!! Use only if you're traveling on business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AMM from NYC

Great hotel in Cartagena!

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Capilla excels at service and comfort. All staff were bilingual, attentive, and friendly. The food was really good- especially the fruit (cut by a fruit lady!). My group had a private party on the rooftop- so much fun! Capilla took care of us and made sure that everyone had a great time. It is only a 5-10 minute drive to the old city too which is nice to visit. The only negative was the beach - not relaxing at all with the constant harassment of peddlers and massagers- they were downright aggressive! Thankfully, you can escape the madness and layout by the beautiful roof top pool! If you want to go to a beach, I highly recommend taking a boat trip to the islands. The further out you go, the better it gets!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Z Martin from West Palm Beach, FL

overall good, minor issues

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a decent room but I expected more for the money. I stayed in a suite and it was all new and clean but there was some type of odor, maybe a mouse in a wall somewhere or something. I found the majority of the staff to be great and several speak English. There was one incident where they hassled me and my girlfriend because they wanted to make sure she wasn't a hooker or something, she is Colombian but I found that to be very insulting being I paid for 2 guests and she was there the whole time with me and we are close in our age not like some 70 year old and some 20 year old or anything. That was the only bad time with staff though and we stayed there around 2 weeks. I thought that the food was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michael from boston ma

Amazing week

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere caring staff
Cons: Love to see surrounding buildings complete renovations
Location: Near the old city Fishing trips and trips to islands
The staff took great care to insure our stay was perfect Comfortable modern hotel Near beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Central NJ

Great all around

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean, helpful staff, great breakfast and great location.
Very nice hotel with a helpful staff and located right on the beach. The hotel has a nice pool with great views and a convenient bar. The beach is literally across the street, which makes it perfect. If you walk a block away from the beach, there are tons of little shops and restaurants to choose from. Many tours available and you are picked up directly in front of the hotel, so no car rental is needed. Also, the breakfast buffet is filled with a wide selection of food and they change it up everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim D. from Cheyenne, WY USA

Outdated but clean!

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great and in its day this was a 5 start hotel. But it is looking old and tired inside the rooms. The bathrooms and showers are small by today's standards, and all the furnishings look late 1980's. But everything seemed clean and the breakfast was above average. Overall, this is a solid 3.5 star hotel so if you can get it for that price, its a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr J from washington DC

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: the room is clear and clean
Cons: i want to find internet service in the lobby (laptop for general use )
Location: Its excellent very close to the beach
This HOTEL is very nice, clean and close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Keep going back

Posted Dec 25, 2013
The rooms facing the ocean are great. Every person that works there goes out of their way to make whatever you want happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by karen from abbott

Centrally located

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
As an American who had never traveled to Cartegena Colombia, I was mostly impressed with all the security and the politeness of the people there, especially at the hotel. Very Professional from the cleaning services of the room to the waiter staff at breakfeast to the front desk and Concierge and the Guards in the lobby and front of hotel were very helpful for taxis, safety and directions.. Keep in mind it IS centrally located and during high season it can be busy and noisy with construction. But we slept peacefully every night. Floor 9 with a nice view of the ocean.