Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Absolutely perfect

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Rooftop pool! Room was made up almost immediately whenever we stepped out so it always felt clean and tidy. Service was impeccable.
Cons: Order a la carte breakfast poolside rather than the more expensive main courtyard. No iron in room. Staff irons for a fee. Needs more H2O in room
Location: Great eats: Santa Teresa: Brocheta de pollo; Santa Clara: Coconut lemonade; Restaurante La Vitrola: Grouper with coconut risotto; Quebracho Restaurant
When our first hotel called the day before we were set to leave to say it was overbooked, the Santa Teresa stepped in to accommodate. This was our first trip to Colombia and knowing we were staying at the Santa Teresa made us feel even more excited. The service was great, from our tour of the hotel and our room to the daily cleaning service to the pool and restaurant staff. This is not a discount hotel - be prepared for some pretty hefty additional charges, esp with some meals. But if you are treating yourself (and if you are staying at the Santa Teresa, I assume you are!) this is a perfect hotel. Fantastic location, the rooftop pool is amazing. And the shower! Oh that shower!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to start a trip

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The privacy
Cons: I couldn't say. They were perfect with me :)
Location: The heart of the City where you can look everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to all must-see sights

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Cartagena is a fabulous city to visit in Colombia. It was my first time in that country. I felt very safe. The people, bars, restaurants were great - although I did find it expensive. Be prepared to be questioned by officials at the airport - not a bad thing in my opinion - but you certainly need to allow yourself extra time at the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very well located

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Renovating rooftop restaurant so not as nice as good have been. Service friendly but a little slow in confirming restaurant reservations and informing me when they were not able to get the reservation I asked for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EA from Bogota

Inaccurate room descriptions

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice property, but the customer service leaves something to be desired. I would not recommend staying here. PROS: The hotel was well-located and the roof-top pool was beautiful. CONS: 1. the room descriptions on hotels.com were inaccurate. The "deluxe room" I booked was described as having a separate sitting room and balcony. My room had neither. When I called the front desk to notify them that the room was not as described, the receptionist told me that their "deluxe" rooms did not guarantee the two features described on hotels.com. Hotels.com indicated that they post the descriptions provided to them by the hotel. 2. The hotel charged approximately 5 percent of the rate in additional fees (hotel insurance and fees) even though the price on hotels.com was suppose to be inclusive of all charges, based on the information provided by the hotel. Hotels.com provided a courtesy refund for those charges, which was nice of them, but the hotel refused to waive the charges or issue the refund. 3. The hotel does not provide irons in the rooms. I was traveling for business and needed to iron clothing each morning. The hotel refused to bring an iron to the room and instead offered the ironing service, which was highly overpriced. Overall, a very nice hotel, but it's a small 3-4 hotel operation which oversells itself on hotels.com and tries to nickel and dime the guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay at the Charleston Santa Teresa!!

Posted Sep 30, 2013
I have to say this has been the best hotel I've stayed at since visiting Cartagena. This place is magical. It's filled with lots of history and at the same time brings you into the new era. The rooms are spotless clean, lots of new technology, including an iPad, nice bedding, air conditioning was wonderful, staff was friendly and very helpful. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Did I mentioned the breakfast?....hmmmm...what an experience. Wish I could give more than the 5 stars... : )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great experience

Posted Sep 5, 2013
The hotel is beautiful with a great pool on the roof overlooking the water and city. The staff is very helpful and the location great. They try their best at speaking English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful stay. Great accommodations and a very nice swimming pool with striking view of the colonial city. Did not use the hotel restaurant, but there are excellent ones within walking distance. Rate is pricey, but worth it.