Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel okay but getting very tired

Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by L. Sanz

Very nice freindly staff

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time. Food was good. Entertainment was good. Bar was good. Easy assess to trips. Easy walk to the old city. Good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel

Cartagena Is a paradise

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
You can not miss Cartagena as one of the most spectacular colonial city in the world.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A two star All Inclusive Hotel and Resort at best.

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Closeness to downtown Cartagena. Gave us the opportunity to enjoy activities paid at our expense like a horse carriage and chiva rides, both very fun
Cons: Many dissapointing things, see above
Location: good location. Beach and sun worshippers..think twice before booking this hotel..not a good choice for that
1. Does not have direct access to the beach. The beach area consists of a poorly maintained bar and tents. Of course, if you want to use one you have to drag a cheap dirty plastic chair. We opted to rent a tent next to the hotel because it had two cheap plastic chaise launges 2. After spending a full day at the beach we came back to our room at 4pm to shower, rest and get ready for an early dinner and found out our room was still not cleaned. We called and asked for someone to come in and clean our room, no apologies or explanations were given. 3. The restaurans in the hotel are 2 star at best. their menu is very limited and caters to the locals. I spent 5 days at this hotel and every day I found myself with the same options like rice and beans, chicken dishes, and other colombian dishes. About their restaurants ..you have to make reservations wich is normal for resorts, but in this hotel you have to get up before 8am to make sure you get a timeslot you want. We tried the seafood restaurant and was very dissapointing, very limited I guess they spend more on fish that is cheaper than on other seafood; of course, you will not find calamari, lobster or any of that. To sum up, I loved Catrtagena but would not stay at this hotel if I go back to this city
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from curacao

good hotel if youre not a internet freak

Posted Dec 11, 2011
Location: old city of cartagena was very beautiful. take into account lots of vendors but that comes with south america.
only thing i did not like was that there was no internet in the rooms. you could buy internet downstairs around the bar which was slow, otherwise very nice and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Manny from San Diego

Excellent choice if you like an all inclusive hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2011
We really enjoyed our stay, the staff are very welcoming and helpful at anything being asked. The entertainment provided and daily events surrounding the pool area are excellent, don't miss out on this free entertainment. The only thing that we disliked was the constant pressure of re-booking the hotel for future stays, but they will leave you alone if you respectfully tell them to do so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Decameron All-Inclusive: Disappointing

Posted Jan 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Location: Bocagrande: Classic beach setting Long streets lined with shops, restaurants, and hotels. Stay here if you want to stay in the most comfortable and clean area. Getsemani: The old city The historic center of the city. Narrow, bustling streets crowded with locals going back on forth in their daily routines. Stay here if you want to be within walking distance of the sights and looking for something different from the normal beach scene.
First of all I should say that the Decameron is not a bad hotel. The amenities are endless, the security is tighter than Fort Knox and the views from the upper floors are breathtaking. That being said, for the price that I paid I was expecting a little more from the room in the way of creature comforts. There was no A/C in the room, the bathroom was small and cramped, the decoration was minimal. Basically it was a bare room with the essentials thrown in. Once again I'd like to reiterate that I expected more for the price, if it had been more reasonable I would not have been so critical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta, CA

Love my Decamerons

Posted Nov 24, 2010
Although I seemed to be the only english speaking guest at the Decameron in Cartagena Colombia, I was looked after very graciously! I have stayed at the Royal Decameron Flamingos in Puerto Vallarta three times this last year and prefer this chain of hotels. The hotel was very clean, my room was clean and comfortable. I found the bed alittle hard but nothing to really complain about. The views from the hotel are outstanding as it is right on the beach. I found the food delicious even though it is different than what we generally eat in Canada. It's good to be open to new experiences culinary wise My only suggestion would be to have a bottle of water in the room itself in addition to the water cooler in the hallways. The Bartender Roy was a gem. I like bloody marys and he made a special effort to find the ingredients to make them and then he delivered them to my poolside chair. excellent service, thank Roy! Check in and out flowed smoothly and I felt safe during my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dobbs Ferry NY

Cartagenas Decameron

Posted Nov 20, 2010
The All inclusive makes this Hotel to be a Hot destination in Cartagena Colombia! have Night Shows and Good Food