Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarasota

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Extremely costly the phone service from the room to ANY number even local calls RIP OFF
1 out of 5
by Margie

Disappointing

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a lot of facilities and things to do. The bar was always open and played good music. The singer at night was a nice addition. The lobby
Cons: LOTS OF THINGS. The entire hotel needs to be renovated. It's very very old fashioned. The hardware in the bathrooms are falling apart. and the coffee
Location: The location is ok. But that area is just not nice at all. The beach is dirty. There are a lot of intense, scary looking people.
Our experience in this hotel was not the best. We had to ask to be moved to another room because the shower was leaking and the leaking could not let us sleep. The quality of the bathroom was very poor. The drain in our bathroom smelled soooo bad! The pool looked dirty and old. We noticed a bullet hole on one of the windows above the pool. It scared us very very much. I got hit on by the pool guy. It was very disrespectful. If we wanted to bring a guest we had to fill some entrance form with her ID number and everything. She didn't have it so we had to visit in the lobby -_- Lastly, we were charged an additional tax just because I was Colombian. We were not told about this when checking-in.
2 out of 5
by Luis from Miami

fourth time staying, the first time disappointed

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: always the lobby people and guards very pleasant , same as the restaurant staff, love the location,..
Cons: in general, the way it used to be, better food, better service management.
Location: shopping, restaurants, walking and the beach
been in Cartagena 5 times, 4 times at the almirante and its the first time I feel it needs lots of improvements. 1) no beach towels, excuse was pool maintenance 2) towels at the gym the charge you for water at gym (hard to believe) 3) pool was closed saturday sunday and monday , very strange 4) had to ask the maid to change the pillocases 5) I always bragged about the breakfast buffet, this time very limited 6) guy next to my room also very disapointed with the wifi and the hotel in general,.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to be back!

Posted May 30, 2014
Awesome breakfast, convenient and next to the beach, amazing staff, beautiful hotel overall.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hector bolivar

Terrible

Posted Apr 22, 2014
they charget extra money. No air condicion and shower reali bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No beach, expensive and old

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Never come back too old, and expensive hotel. Breakfast was terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected from a five star hotel!

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Old facilities, this is a five star hotel with no facilities as such. There are many hotel in Cartagena now days with better facilities and cheaper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel !

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: the service, breakfast, hotel conditions and the facilitiesm too.
Cons: There was an unpleasant smell in the room and in the corridor. This hard smell only a few minutes but I felt it when I arrived and the next day.
Location: Excellent location, in front of the beach, a lot of stors, restaurants, coffees and dico-bars.
It was good, the check-in was fast, the overall service was excellent. The hotel staff gave us a profesional and courteous service. I loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jay from Denver

In a good location

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Rooms were comfortable. Air conditioning worked great. Bed perfect. Breakfast included fresh fruit, pancakes, and eggs. Work out facility had dated cardio equipment dated but useable. The hotel is in a great location. There is a great pizza place next door and an awesome restaurant across the street. It is a short taxi ride to the walled town/center area. The hotel also has the ability to set up a day tour to Rosario islands which is a great thing to include during your visit.
2 out of 5
by boris from florida

Mediocre hotel -- three star the most

Posted Jan 8, 2014
It was sold to us as a five-star hotel. It is a rundown place deserving 3-star rating by it appearance, service and food