Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Unfortunately 3 star rating it's too much.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: location in bocagrande
Cons: To be honest, needs to be demolished and built a new one.
Location: close to historic places.
Above statement sumarize my experience. If you're looking for 1 or 2 star hotel this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Edmonton, AB

Fair lodging in great location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The location was great, the all-inclusive option was good and the price was awesome.
Cons: The hotel itself is quite a bit aged and needs some renos. The elevators were sketchy at best. The front desk staff could be more friendly.
Location: Right across the street from the beach and also across the street from the new Nao mall. Lots of shopping nearby. Excellent views from the room
Spent 5 days here with family. Coming from frigid Alberta to the warmth of Cartagena was very welcome indeed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 40 something... from Texas U.S.A.

Not bad for the price....

Posted Feb 19, 2014
This is my second visit to El Dorado Plaza I will suggest to book your room at Torre Andes remember this is less than U.S. standard but acceptable the food is good never got sick room service is a 4 out of 10 the area is some how safe as far as people selling you stuff at the beach just say no! no crab legs no oyster is very unsafe health wise dont let them put it in your hands thats the catch! If buying something bargaining is perfectly acceptable also the hotel will charge you a tax is around $15 U.S. dollars thats a one time fee the taxi cab back to the airport is about $9 U.S. dollars or 18 thousand pesos breakfast and lunch runs from 0700 a.m. til 1000 a.m. and lunch from 1200 til 1400 all buffet be advise dinner is a la carte and you need to order by 1000 A.M. and it runs from 6 P.M. til 830 P.M. also wifi is good all around the entire hotel area will I go back again? yes for the price and the quality of the food I will do so cheers!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jose from New jersey

decent hotel right next to the beach.

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: It's all inclusive and it's priced right, which are two things that are very hard to find in Cartagena, Colombia. You can't beat that.
Cons: The shower heads should be replaced for more modern and practical ones where the angle and water pressure can be adjusted.
Location: The beach it's across the street and there are shops nearby, including the coffee shop "Juan Valdez" , which it's the colombian version of "Starbucks"
I had a nice stay. the food was good and the staff was very friendly and courteous. The hotel is celebrating it's 40th year anniversary, so some things need to be fixed and improved.
1 out of 5
by Lajos from Toronto

There are better hostals

Posted Jan 12, 2014
When we got there the people was rude. The building was ruin down and with strong mold smell, I have travel all over the world and I have been from hostals to high end hotels. And this hotel cannot even compare to the best of the hostals. For the price you better pay a couple of hundred more and be in a better place. Not worth for the price. Stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosi Erazo from Colombia

great place to stay, we have no complains.

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Year at Hotel Dorado Plaza in Cartagena

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel is clean and the staff is very kind.
Cons: The food is awful and almost the same dishes everyday. The elevator is old and needs to be repaired.
Location: The hotel is very well located at almost 15 min.to the airport and the dowtown of Cartagena. You can make the city tour in chiva and visit the islands
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Cons: Update pics, update room keys, and having to wait for the butler to take inventory
Didn't like that the pictures online didn't quiet match the actual room accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia

location location

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: it's only a few steps away from the beach, staff were great!
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: location is perfect, on the beach, close to authentic resturants and supermarkets and only a five minute taxi drive to the centre
Hotel was great, plenty of helpful staff around, it's great especially if you take your family, clean and tidy and best of all only a few steps to the beach!