Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Panama City

Nice and Quiet

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Quite location, the house itself is nice and beautiful.
Cons: Bathroom size is small, there is no place to put clothing. Trash bin very small and only available in the bathroom.
Location: Plaza de San Diego is close with some restaurants, walked trough the walled city. Just walk, drink and eat :)
I went with my wife for 4 days and stayed at the Kartaxa. I was concerned about some reviews saying about the small rooms with no windows, but I was lucky and got a corner room (very big) with nice lighting. We found it very nice although the bathroom was quite small. The hotel is in calle de las bovedas, close to the wall but far from noise. The only thing you can hear at night are the horses so it is not next to big restaurants or bars. Plaza San Diego is just 1 block away and even main streets or restaurants are farther it is nothing more than a 10 min walk which is nice because of the beauty of the walled city. Breakfast is great at La Comunion Restaurant, you have 4 options to choose from (every day is the same menu), but you get fruit, coffee and juice plus the main dish that could be eggs, arepas, pancakes, etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Troyfrom Brisbane, Australia

Disappointing Cartagena Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very disappointing experience at Hotel Kartaxa. Had to request towels and the room to be clean everyday during my stay. The room was very small for the price . The breakfast is very bad , I recommend eating breakfast at one of the nearby cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Felipefrom americana

Ótima localização

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel muito bem localizado e muito confortável. Único ponto negativo é que não tem frigobar (ou máquina de gelo no corredor) nem secador de cabelos no quarto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great simple hotel in old cartagena

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Excellent friendly staff. Great location. Simple but better than any fancy hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roberto & Tâniafrom Brasil

Excelente Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Possui ótima localização. Próximo às Bovedas de Santa Clara, com arredores muito calmos e tranquilos. Conta com uma equipe muito atenciosa e prestativa. Retornando a Cartagena, com certeza, é onde queremos nos hospedar novamente.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Uchisfrom Bogotá

Buen hotel pero habitaciones podrían ser mejores

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
El hotel tiene una buena ubicación cerca de la plaza de San Diego y algunas pocas cuadras de las zonas de restaurantes y bares. El servicio es bueno y la limpieza de los diferentes espacios también. La pequeña piscina es cómoda y bonita. Al medio día hay un poco de ruido por la cercanía de un colegio. Las opciones de desayunos son buenas. Las habitaciones más pequeñas no tienen luz natural por lo que deberías estar mejor amobladas e iluminadas. Las habitaciones deberían contar con almohadas de diferentes tamaños Para comodidad del huésped. En general, recomiendo el lugar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose Costa Rica

The best hotel inside the walled city

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Colonial. Very nice hotel. Recommended
Cons: Not much to say, the service is excellent
Location: You can do whatever you want, your close to everything
I had an idea about the hotel, because I saw the photos before I book it. But It was better tan I expected, because of the colonial beauty and the service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Davidfrom Burlington, Vermont

A hotel in transition?

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: The building and furnishings.
Apparently, the Hostal San Diego recently changed management. There was a lot of construction going on during our stay, with the accompanying noise, dust, and clutter. It didn't appear that the infrastructure was all that great to begin with. The staff, however,we're unfailingly helpful and friendly. And the location was very good. We would not, however recommend staying here until major improvements are made.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by IGORfrom CALI-COLOMBIA

Excelente Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Muy amena,tranquila,agradable.