Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great simple hotel in old cartagena

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Excellent friendly staff. Great location. Simple but better than any fancy hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roberto & Tâniafrom Brasil

Excelente Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Possui ótima localização. Próximo às Bovedas de Santa Clara, com arredores muito calmos e tranquilos. Conta com uma equipe muito atenciosa e prestativa. Retornando a Cartagena, com certeza, é onde queremos nos hospedar novamente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose Costa Rica

The best hotel inside the walled city

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Colonial. Very nice hotel. Recommended
Cons: Not much to say, the service is excellent
Location: You can do whatever you want, your close to everything
I had an idea about the hotel, because I saw the photos before I book it. But It was better tan I expected, because of the colonial beauty and the service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Davidfrom Burlington, Vermont

A hotel in transition?

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: The building and furnishings.
Apparently, the Hostal San Diego recently changed management. There was a lot of construction going on during our stay, with the accompanying noise, dust, and clutter. It didn't appear that the infrastructure was all that great to begin with. The staff, however,we're unfailingly helpful and friendly. And the location was very good. We would not, however recommend staying here until major improvements are made.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carolfrom Toronto

Hiatal San Diego

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
In terms of location, the hotel is excellent. It is only a 15 min.walk to the Historic centre. The hotel is clean and the service was good. The staff wete friendly and helpful. The full breakfast is very good and is included in the price. I was given a room on the main floor. I don't think guests should be given rooms on this floor. Mine had no windows and a hole in the bathroom exposing pipes. It was not very uplifting. At check out their credit card machine wasn't working and I spent 25 min going with a staff to three different bank machines in the surrounding neighbourhood with none of them working. Ensure that you have cash to pay for your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Macfrom Nueve York

Great value Friendly staff

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The accommodations are very basic. The rooms are small and there is no hot water. None of that really mattered too much to me. The staff is excellent and the location is perfect. Free breakfast is included which is also a plus. Good pick for a short stay in the walled city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location in Cartagena Old City

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really nice location within Cartagena old city, hardly one block from great shopping market for traditional crafts (Las Bovedas). Rooms clean, free breakfast included, A/C works well in the rooms. Just two blocks from the best plaza for open air dining (Plaza San Diego)...great and safe vibe, good food with a variety of selections, much less touristy than the other larger plazas! Only complaint was that their credit card machine wasn't working when we arrived, but we were able to work it out by paying at another business which somehow got transferred to the hotel. Small nuisance, not a big deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danny Boyfrom Managua, Nicaragua

I sugest you go, but also sugest to call first :)

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of the Staff, very good breakfast
Cons: Internet reception poor and speed slow, checkout with out a functioning credid card machine.
Location: Very nice place, close to everything and even a supermarket and a beautifull plaza :)
They have really good intentions, but there was only one router for the whole hotel and the wifi recepcion was terrible. They should place another router. I dont know why but, even if I went to a place close to their existing router, the speed was really slow anyways. Also their machone to swipe credit cards did not have connection with the bank so I had to pay in another store nearby from a family member. The good thing is that they are in a remodeling process and they are going to have a pool very soon. I talked to the GM and sugested for another router and fixing the credicard machine. He told me that he was going to do that, just in case he has not done that, call before to verify those items conditions. Overal it was nice and they are very friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet. Excellent front desk, friendly and helpful. Breakfast typical, nothing special. Rock hard pillows. Hopefully, credit card payment system will be improved. When my departure was delayed due to weather, they allowed me a late checkout. Very much appreciated.