Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from Perth, Australia

Excellent location just outside Walled City

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Like the friendly, helpful staff & convenient location to major attractions of Cartagena, beautiful view of Walled City from pool, bar area on terrace
Cons: We had a twin bed room, could be a little bigger.
Location: 2 min walk to Walled City, 5 min walk to harbour to do island tours & short taxi ride to Boca Grande & other main attractions.
We had a great time staying @ this small, boutique colonial style Hotel, very clean, tidy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew from London

A very pleasant hotel in every way.

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is one of the most pleasant hotels I have stayed in. The building has character, it is in a convenient location for the old city, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are very helpful and friendly, I had a good breakfast every day of my nine night stay and there is decent restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to must see sights

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyable stay. Helpful staff, good breakfasts
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane & Jon from Florida, USA

A gem of a hotel, perfectly situated

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were delighted by the Hotel Monterrey! The location - at one end of the plaza that faces the clock tower (entrance to the old city) could not have been better. Also, although Cartagena is a hot, busy, and noisy city, the Monterrey was an oasis of quietude and calm. The rooftop terrace - complete with a pool and a bar - was particularly lovely at sunset. And the staff was super-friendly and helpful. We would love to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TravelerD from USA

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The location
Location: Within walking distance to the old city
The staff were friendly. It is a good place to stay if you want to be near the old city (was only about 1 1/2 blocks across the street).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from UK

Good location for old town

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very well placed for old town/walled city. Converted Spanish colonial villa - plenty of character. Great view from rooftop bar, though bar and restaurant expensive. Lift doesn't go to top floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Los Angeles, Ca USA

Great location

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Was a good boutique hotel with great staff and clean rooms. Also nice roof deck with small pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oscar from Boston, MA, USA

Very good and affordable

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Location: Right where u want to be, nearby the old city,( walking distance) not too far from bocagrande, 7000 pesos for a cab ( around 5 dollars)
Best kept secret in Cartagena, this Hotel is nearby everthing.. and i would do it all over again...check in and check out was pretty quick..the staff was very helpful i would call the desk to request a taxi cab, and was there in within 5 minutes, pool towels,etc. the room was pretty clean and cool..( yeahh) breakfast was pretty basic, but it everything else makes up for it..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for friends!

Posted Dec 25, 2012
Great location and had an amazing view facing the clock tower!