Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

nice quite

Posted Jul 7, 2014
het was a nice place to stay but is inside the wall site there are not places very near
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very happy

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: I am happy with everything
Location: situated in a very local neighbourhood in getsemani; close to all sights
super nice hotel in a lovely neighbourhood of getsemani
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed over New Year’s and everything in Centro was booked. Patio Getsemani is in the city walls and is easily walkable (no more than 1.5 miles anywhere, as a guess) to the sights in the Centro and to the old Fort. The room was clean and the comfy, if basic. There was a flat screen with Spanish and English language programming. The price was great, especially considering the holiday. This rate also includes breakfast, with delicious juices I'd never heard of , and a rooftop with a whirlpool tub with great views. And the staff was great– friendly and helpful. They even volunteered to loan us cash when we had an audio tour delivered to the hotel for which we had to pay cash, so we would not have to walk out in the heat of the day to an ATM. There's also a "minibar” in the lobby area, with all your basics -- snacks, beer, and water, at very reasonable prices. Overall, I recommend Getsemani for a budget friendly, well-located stay, with friendly service. The negatives are these. Getsemani is a cool area, with a bar scene and street life, but I would not have felt comfortable there travelling alone. We had no problems -- it's just a still gentrifying, and raucous neighborhood. Our room was the closest to the hotel entrance, and the neighbors played music in the streets till the wee hours of the morning on weekends. The water temperature in the shower is lukewarm, but less of an issue b/c of the tropical temps outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Itsgotimepaul from Sacramento, ca

Good, but less than advertised

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a "real" neighborhood with families, homeless people, drunks, drug dealers and tourists. If this sort of reality bothers you, stay in Bocas and miss the real fun. The hotel is basic, no frills. The rooms have good AC and tv with a tiny safe (can't hold an iPad). Otherwise, anything advertised as "in-room", isn't at all. No minibar, kitchenette, laundry machines or espresso maker. Those exist, but not in-room or without additional charge. The 'hood is great. Trinidad square has great restaurants, live music and a good feel. I was disappointed as the advertised rate did not match up with the rate at booking. I'd stay here again but only at the "sale" price advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel- warm, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast always included fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice. There's a roof terrace which is perfect for watching the neighbourhood baseball match on a Sunday. Perfect location in the hip neighbourhood of Getsemani. Only minor drawback was a leaky shower which meant a wet bathroom floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Samantha from California

Gem in Gestamani

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The neighborhood may be a bit rough around the edges, but this little hotel is just lovely. Nestled in the lively neighborhood of Gestamani and two blocks from Plaza Trinidad, Hotel Gestamani offers clean rooms with AC and TV. Breakfast is included which usually consists of fresh fruit and eggs or cereal. The staff is attentive and helpful. For those who want to be in the walled city and don't mind a little neighborly flavor, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brandon from DC

We loved this place

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
After checking in way early on our first day and sleeping a bit we headed out of the hotel only to run into a very organized game of street baseball, which turned out to be par for the course for this amazing (though a bit sketchy) neighborhood. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful with our constant questions and drink orders (the beer's priced the same as the grocery store; drinks on the deck are a must). The breakfasts were quite tasty, one was among the better meals of our trip. One minor complaint, the wifi didn't work in our room unless we opened the window into the courtyard, but not a big deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Omar from Miami

Nice Hotel In Low Income area

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was very nice and did not mind the area but someone might feel unsafe. It should not be an issue since the police presence is very high. Must use common sense in all areas. Did not have toilet paper when needed. Staff needs to do a checklist. Staff was incredible and very professional. I would recommend it to anybody.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EJ from Australia

Cute place in Cartagena

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms and new air conditioning units.
Cons: The doorbell that gets ring at all hours of the night.
This is a really cute hotel close enough to the old town to walk but far enough away for peace and quiet! The staff were very helpful and sweet and the rooms were clean with great air conditioning! Breakfasts were small but good.