Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Not what you expect

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We stayed only one night, but it was more than enough. There is no transportation to the hotel, except by taking the hotel boats, and paying 135,000 pesos per person for the roundtrip. The hotel is about 1 hour and 20 min by boat. The return will be choppy and wet. The room was of good size, but they had applied some type of oil to the floor that made it slippery. There is no privacy in the restroom. There is not much to do at the hotel except eat, sleep, and go down to one of two small beaches. The beaches are full of pieces of coral and algae that makes them difficult to walk or enjoy. Water was typical caribbean. The island is not exclusive to the hotel. Actually there are several properties to both sides that produce quite a bit of boat traffic, some coming dangerously close to the people on the beaches. There is only one restaurant in the hotel and the food is expensive and not that good. Do not tip the waiters. There will be 20 percent tip added to each day you stay, along with many expensive taxes. We paid 300 dollars for four meals for two people. I know there are better options than this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice island

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The water, beach, quiet retreat
Cons: disclosure of all the extra fees and costs
We stayed there July 2014, need to be aware of many fees and taxes which are significant at check in. There is only one restaurant so no choice but to eat there. The food was good but very expensive, a glass of wine costs 12 dollars for about 4 oz glass, for 2 nights for 2 people we paid 490 dollars in excess of the room rate which was prepaid, this included the cost of transportation which is not warned or advertised anywhere. The staff was friendly and the island is very nice, I recommend it, just be aware of all the extra costs not advertised upfront
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Sam52 from Orange county

Terrible experience beginning to end

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
First, know that you are required to pay 105.000 pesos per person just for transportation, which leaves at 9am from cartagena and then 3pm the day you depart your hotel. That's it. When you arrive at 10am you don't have a room for 3 hours and similarly you check out 3 hours before your boat departs on the day you leave. The hotel staff was not accommodating at all, in fact, the majority of the staff was rude and short with us. I've never left a negative review before but felt I needed to here. The beach is tiny which is fine, but was pretty dirty. You also have locals trying to sell you jewelry while you relax. There are only 17 rooms so there aren't a lot of guests, which means there is almost a two to one guest to heckling local ratio. The food was very good and the room seemed nice, but that's the only positive I can say. We ended up leaving the same afternoon, we didn't even stay the night. I told my friends in cartagena no they were shocked as this used to be a premier hotel managed by the same staff as the hotel Santa Clara in ctg which is gorgeous and well managed. I do not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Management and Customer Service = Awful

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our third time here. The previous two were amazing. This trip was absolutely horrific and we will likely never stay here again unless they change their management. A litany of issues..broken toilet, broken AC. Management makes you feel bad for complaining, takes hours to fix the issues, and then never apologizes for the inconvenience. They have all afternoon public staff meetings when you can't even order a coffee and you hear them yelling at each other. No surprise that the waiters all seem to be in a terrible mood and constantly screw up the orders. Shame because this place was a gem in a beautiful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlyle from NY

Great place!

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel location and service was amazing, the only thing that I could say needs more improvement is the menu and the food. There isn't any other option for food so you're stuck with what's on the menu, it should be better , other than that, it's a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry and Elena from London

Island hotel on beach great views lots scuba etc

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We liked the hotel, be prepared and take cash lots as no cash machine! The food in hotel is good but expensive, the staff kind and help. Very good for water sport and diving snorkel, the staff are expert
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IK from New York, NY

Nice way to enjoy a desert Island !

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Delightful staff, terrific food and relaxed environment.
Cons: Would have appreciated the heads up that the boat ride back to Cartagena was going to be wet wild and windy, so we could have prepared with jackets !
Location: Make sure you snorkel, dive and explore the village nearby. Don't be afraid to check out the nearby hotels pool either.
Convenient shuttle and boat trip from the old town of Cartagena. "Resort" is a stretch, but very pleasant room (all named after animals/fish - we were in Tiburon). Great meals and super staff. If you want to stay up late and party or go to different restaurants, then you are in the wrong spot. Not your classic sandy beach, but very comfortable set up to sunbathe, snorkel and swim. Terrific and knowledgeable scuba instructors/guides make a dive or two a must. Also don't skip the 2 hour tour to the aquarium - great dolphin show and the only performing sharks we've ever seen !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hart from NYC

Rustic in a Positive Way

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a rustic beach setting with amenities but don't require 5 star luxuries, this is a great spot. The only caution is that the 1 hour boat ride to the hotel crosses open water. On a windy day, you will get wet and it is exciting in a way that not everyone will enjoy. Your trip to this hotel is an adventure. When you arrive, you will have stepped back in time. We loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway, but be ready to drop a lot of money.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The rooms themselves were great. Nice sheets, bedding, towels, and working A/C. We also purchased massages while there which were phenomenal.
Location: The trails on the island just require a little self-exploration just right off the property.
The rooms and facilities are incredibly relaxing and worthwhile, but the added value is definitely not there. The information on transportation including times and costs are not clearly indicated, nor are all the extra costs associated with food and drink. It seems unfair that hotel guests have to pay the same prices as those who are day tripping to the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tom from New york

Couples retreat

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing & relaxing place to unwind with your partner. The food selection can be better, there's a nearby hotel with a pool that was also nice to hang in. The snorkeling was great & pretty much all you do is lay around and absorb the beautiful views. The vendors can be a bit trying at times but the locals are very nice & the staff very accommodating. Great for a few days!