Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J P Panet from Montréal Canada

Good recommandation

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place to stay. Food ok but Nice staff. Off thé city of Cartagena but quiet place on the sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Staff, food variety, beach and pool
Cons: The mattress was too hard for us.
Location: The hotel is a 20 minutes drive from the old city. A shuttle will take you there and back at certain times but you have to book in advance.
We are a family with 3 small kids and stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The all inclusive worked very well for us. The lunch buffet was full of variety and at night we had a choice of 4 restaurants. One with a daily changing menu, another Italian, BBQ and buffet. All pleasing. there were several activities for the kids and adults during the day in the pool or in the evening with films and shows. The all inclusive also included basic water sports like windsurfing and wave surfing including free lessons in the morning. The beach is well maintained, without the ongoing local sellers there to pester you. The hotel is a 20 minutes drive from the old city. A shuttle will take you there and back at certain times but you have to book in advance. You can also use the shuttle to get back to the airport. There are two big pools both in different areas, one is noisy with all the entertainment for families and the other calm for couples that want to relax. The Mojitos there were fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis

Excellent Service, and Great Resort

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Staff, and food options.
Cons: More entertainment options
Location: Having the shuttle service to the old city its very helpful
Everyone on the staff was very helpful, William, Josep, Maria to name a few. It was our first time in that hotel and will always go back when in Cartagena. My now fiancé was amazed by the food and the help given to him by the stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paola from USA

Family Vacation

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
this is a very nice hotel, clean and well maintained. The pools are great, and the beach area is really nice without all the vendors that you usually find at Bocagrande, my kids enjoyed it very much.The staff is really friendly and helpful.The only negative comment is the food, this was a trip with kids (under 4) so it was easier to find them something from the trattoria, while we (parents) ate from the buffet (i like italian but not on a town that it's known for its seafood) also the food at the buffet while underseasoned at times, offered more varieties; but 2 days in a row the buffet was closed, and the only other options were the very nice (but so not appropritate for a hyper 2yo) Nativo or the grill,,so we were just left with the italian option. I wish the hotel would have announced earlier in the day that the buffet wasnt going to be open so we could have made plans in town. If my kids were a bit older I would have gone to one of the other restarants,,they looked very nice. Our experience overall was really good, we are going back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Houston

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Terrible, the name they go under is different ,no cab drivers knew the occidental grand name. Hotel service very slow, had to call several times for towels and shampoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jairz from Jax, FL

Resort away from noisy world

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Close to Cartagena and "Las Islas del Rosario" . Just 20 min away from " La Torre del Reloj" downtown Cartagena . Friendly staff. Beautiful sunset.
Cons: Administration need to take care of a serious either A/C /sewer malfunction. At times rooms smell really bad. We have to open the windows.
Location: Overall a great resort, clean, friendly staff. Close to Cartagena de Indias, Barranquilla y Las Islas del Rosario.
Nice place to be with the family. Swimming pools are clean. Beaches are 200 feet away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from MEXICO,CITY

GREAT HOTEL

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: THE ROOM ,THE OCEAN VIEW, THE AMENITIES AND THE STAFF.
Cons: GIVE OR TELL THE PEOPLE TO TAKE REPELLENT,OR PROTECTION.OR MOSQUITO REPELLENT.
Location: THE HOTEL IS 30 MIN AWAY FROM THE CITY, THERE IS NOTHING NEAR THE HOTEL. BUT THEY HAVE THE SHUTTLE TO TAKE YOU TO AND FROM THE WALL CITY.
THIS IS A GREAT HOTEL TO GO AND SPEND A WEEK , RELAX , NICE POOLS, AND THE STAFF IS AWESOME VERY GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS. THEY HAVE A SHUTTLE TO TAKE YOU TO AND FROM THE CITY. WE HAD A GREAT TIME.