Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota

A luxury experience

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The Hotel, is one of the best in the wallled City, there are a lot of Boutiques, but this is overall much better
Cons: The food at the Hotel was disappointing, very expensive and not so good quality.
We was invited to a party in Cartagena, and we chose to stay at this Hotel, because that was like a dream for me. The dream came true at a price. It is really a luxury experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Ellen from New York

Had no idea what to expect

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
An outstanding place to stay for a mother/daughter get away. Hotel was wonderful and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved every minute of our visit in Cartegena. Perfect location within the walled old city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel and setting. Pleasant and helpful.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The pool was luxurious and the pool staff delightful The history associated with the hotel makes it even better
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bustos from USA

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
expensive for the services. Poor service at front desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Under Construction

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Great location and beautiful property. Nice bar with live music. Loved Mateo, the resident toucan. However, half of the hotel is currently being renovated (until Fall) so during the day it was extremely loud, which made it hard to enjoy the pool and spa. Would have been helpful if the hotels website and Expedia made this known ahead of time as I would have made a reservation for another hotel. Also, concierge staff needs improvement- not friendly and disorganized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Juan c Rojas from Farmington hills Michigan

The old city is beautiful . The hotel location is

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great vacation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Major disappointment, not really 5 stars

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Santa Clara has a good reputation, but they do not seem interested in preserving it. I was given an atrocious room in which the water from the shower flooded the entire bathroom and outer hallway every time you used it. When I tried to call reception, I got a busy signal multiple times. The pool restaurant did not want to make me an omelette until I complained. My overall impression is that the staff does not care, the rooms are over-priced and few if any customers will return for a repeat stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by physician from garcia

Elegant and very accommodating hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pleasantly surprised by hotel experience and staff willing to help with any request
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nema from Mississippi

Stunning

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in one if the standard rooms with pool view with a buddy of mine. We were attending a wedding a mutual best friend taking place in the hotel. One word to sum up the hotel: stunning. The grounds were impeccably maintained and the developers have gone to great lengths if maintaining an old world feel to the place as it used to be a monastery. The members of the general and maintenance service, was one the top 5 I've ever experienced. The concierge, bell hop and desk staff were very kind and helpful. The cleaning staff maintained our room to perfection and had an added touch with turndown service. The pool was fantastic and the staff catered to is like we were the only guests there. The spa was great and was at just as high a quality to any high end facility you might find in the States. Overall, I would say that this is the ONLY place worth staying in Cartagena to be centrally located in the city with every amenity to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patty from new york, ny

Beautiful hotel full of history and great people!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We just came back from a four day trip to Cartagena. We had wonderful time at Sofitel Santa Clara. It is beautiful and full of history. Our kids loved the pool and the people that work there in particular the safeguards at the pool. We are definitively coming back and staying in this wonderful hotel. Love Cartagena!!!!