Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harold from London, UK

perfect location in old town

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The location and the room. Rooms are of a normal size but lovely.
Cons: Security man at the entrance looked lazy, never smiled and rarely opened the door for guests.
Location: It is right next to the most important entrance to the old town, the Clock Tower, location is therefore ideal.
Very good hotel, well located in the old town. It is a small boutique hotel where all works well, apart from the aircon which was a bit temperamental at times, yet it did not fail. Rooms are lovely. Breakfast also very nice with option of European/American stuff coupled with local delicacies. It is not a luxury hotel, more like a business hotel or a hotel for holiday with an air unpretentiousness and modernity. I would go back. The price is very reasonable. Has a fab small pool on the roof, a place to chill out and enjoy the view of the modern part of the city and a section of the lovely old town. Ideal for a sunset drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Miami

Nearest Hotel to the Convention Center

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is very nice, staff is superb, the restaurant prepares its plates with style. Full breakfast is served. The rooms are a little small, but good bed, nice cable, big screen and very nice shower..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Sarasota, Fl.

Great Hotel in the old City

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Price, location, staff,rooms
Cons: Keep noise level down for rooms on second floor
Location: Entrance to the walled city. See Convento de Poppa for great view of the whole city. Avoid so called fishing village Boquilla.
The Hotel is the right choice for people who want to be right in the center of everything in the old city of Cartagena. From here you can walk easy to every attraction in the walled city. The hotel is not to big. It seems to be newly renovated. The rooms are of decent size as well as the bathrooms. The AC worked well. The rooftop pool is small but nice for a dip after a hot day. The cleanliness is very good, the hotel staff very friendly. They speak some English. The included breakfast was in form of a small buffet, which ran out quite early. Then you had to order extra and this was sometimes not free. The rooms ware pretty quiet. The windows ware very good insulated ,so there is not much to hear from the busy Plaza de Coches. Only room 235 is affected by noise from the restaurant and the lobby so try to stay away from that room. The hotel is definitely a good deal and very much to recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Boston

Chic yet not expensive stay in historic center

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Location, service, rooftop views, overall aspect of the hotel.
Cons: Something minor: the window in our room was not spot clean, had a layer of dust which made the amazing view of the cathedral a little less compelling.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of the old city of Cartagena. Everything is within minutes walk incl. Portal de los dulces, Plaza de Bolivar, Sto Domingo...
We had a great time in the Urban Royal. The location could not be better. The staff was nice and very helpful. The breakfast was very good. The pool in the rooftop with scenic views of the old city was an unexpected plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosalia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MTB

NOT OUTSTANDING AT ALL

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
THIS HOTEL DOES NOT DESERVE THE RATING OF OUTSTANDING. WE GO EVERY YEAR TO CARTAGENA AND HAVE STAYED IN A NUMBER OF BOUTIQUE HOTELS IN THE SAME PRICE RANGE. THERE IS NO COMPARISON. AT THE URBAN THE ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL, SO ARE THE BATHROOMS, ASIDE FROM A SMALL WOODEN ARMOIRE WHERE YOU CAN HANG CLOTHES THERE IS NO OTHER PIECE OF FURNITURE TO UNPACK ANYTHING. LAURA AND HER TEAM TRIED TO HELP BUT THERE WAS NOT MUCH THEY COULD DO SINCE WE WERE DEALING WITH REAL LIMITATIONS. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MrLuick from Mexico City

Good hotel on a great location

Posted Jan 10, 2013
Pros: I loved the pool with the city view!
Cons: I hated that I couldn't take a nap before going out for dinner because there was a lot of noise from the Puerta del Reloj square.
Location: The location is amazing, inside the old city, you can walk to every place worth visiting.
The hotel is great first because of its location in the Puerta del Reloj square, inside the old city, which is the best location for hotels in Cartagena; second, because its a new building so its really comfortable; third, it has a pool on the roof, with a great view of the city; fourth, because it has a good price for all of the above things. I didn't give it a 5 because since it is in front of the square, it can be noisy in the room. The option to this is to stay partying until late, 1 or 2 am, maybe earlier, depending on the date. We went for new year and it was noisy, especially since we had a room with a view to the square, and on the second floor. So, I would definitely recommend it, but if you go in a busy week, ask for a high floor, or make sure you stay partying until late, and Cartagena is a great place for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie from Switzerland

Cartgena hotel with great rooftop terrace, staff

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: Rooftop terrace with fabulous view of Cartegena
Location: Excellent, inside city walls and yet close to harbour for boat excursions
We stayed four nights during Christmas week at this hotel with a great location just inside the city walls steps away from the Reloj (clock tower) monument. The rooftop terrace and pool offered a great view of Cartegena. The hotel provided tickets for free drinks, which we had on the terrace. Breakfast in groundfloor room which doubles as a cafe. Super reception staff, very helpful in planning excursions and calling taxis. Only sour note was a notice from mgmt. about the pool being closed for 24 hours for technical reasons...which turned out to be a private party that went on late into the night..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margaret

Perfectly located

Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the hotel. Perfectly located. Had a quiet interior room. Staff were friendly, room was clean and well appointed, and the rooftop pool was wonderful. 24-hr security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elisa from Bogotá, Colombia

great hotel for couples

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: pool, bed
Cons: restaurant
Location: great
the hotel has a great pool and big rooms but restaurant it's very small.