Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: GREAT location, amazing hotel between two preserved Villas that were engulfed in the 97AD eruption. The Hotel SPA is out of this world!
Cons: Food and Drinks could be a little cheaper, you are paying 5 Euros for a beer etc etc. The aggressive driving of the locals is out of this world
Location: Pompai, Almafi, Sorrento
La Madusa is a fantastic hotel, close to Pompai, Sorrento and the Almafi Coast. You need a car as this hotel is an oasis of calm in a crazy part of the world. The hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking the cities and towns that surround Vesuvius. From the hotel you have a fantastic view of the Mountain, combined with fabulous service and facilities. The Area feels very Neapolitan/Local but don't let you put you off, the city beneath the hotel at first seems industria if you drive in. But if you don't get scared by the driving and make it to the centre it is a nice city with lots of restaurants, a sea front and the usual high street shops. Its a great place to grab a bite to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: La brace restaurant - go there!!!!!!!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the medusa. The staff were brilliant, very welcoming and so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Great food, fabulous setting and a swimming pool to relax in after a hard day sightseeing !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, brilliant staff.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel and staff were absolutely lovely (as was the weather!). The only down side is that the hotel isn't close to the town centre but the hotel runs a shuttle service to the town centre and the train station so it doesn't make much difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Great location for sites and spa like setting

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We were not sure about the location at first, but after entering the gates and seeing the beautiful grounds, experiencing the high quality staff and treatment, convenience of location to Pompeii, Sorrento, Naples and other area sites, this hotel turned out to be perfect. It afforded the great option to either get out and see the sights or decide to spend a day relaxing in this beautiful facility. If we go back to this area of Italy again, we would not stay any other place. Great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from California

Nice hotel near Pompeii

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself if beautiful, very elegant. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Cons: The WiFi here was very poor. We were unable to connect during our stay.
Location: It is about a 30 minute drive to Sorrento and about 10 minutes to Pompeii.
We stayed a the hotel while visiting Pompeii. It is only 3 miles or so away. The hotel is a wonderful property located in a walled compound. The surrounding area is a bit rundown so don't expect to stroll the streets in the evening. We ate our dinners at the hotel which was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray from windsor

Hotel and staff top marks.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The gardens with its orange and lemon groves.swe
Cons: A spa or gym which I think was under construction.
Location: There are many roman villas within walking distance of the hotel but a car for every thing else.
We had a great time here the staff would get top marks the personal guide for us at Pompeii was worth it the only thing was the address on the sat nav (Tom tom) wasn't correct about 1km out so was hard to find .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mb from London

Typical Grand Italian Hotel - Great Service

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel; very grand. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only downside was nearby location was not as lovely as the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from Shell Beach CA

Marble Liberace Dream Decor

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a dream when you drive through the white wrought iron gates down the palm-lined drive. The interior does not disappoint. Amazing oasis grounds and delightful views of Gulf of Naples. The staff speaks excellent English and is very helpful. The dinner (and breakfast) were outstanding. Highly recommend the pepper steak. SUBLIME. Big drawback was the HARD as stone beds. They really should do something about the bedding as well. We might have stayed another night but for the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquility

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Terrific grounds, terrific building, staff put in the effort.
Location: Located away from the crowds. Archeological sites on either side make the hotel an ideal destination.
This hotel was quite different that other hotels we stayed at in Italy. Considerable attention has gone into maintaining the grounds, palms and sizeable lemon grove. Combined with a well maintained elegant building the atmosphere is indeed relaxing. Our room faced the water and I'd recommend spending the extra money for the view, quite spectacular as the hotel is up a hill from town. We walked from the train station to the hotel but wouldn't recommend it unless you are fairly fit. The hotel does run a shuttle every few hours, they may come if phoned (driver great) or 10 euros for a cab. Archeological sites on either side of hotel within walking distance. They are truly spectacular, well worth the free entry fee and literally empty of tourists until I post this. Breakfasts good, dinners a little pricey. The same staff for both, attentive enough, perhaps it had been a long tourist season but I found them wound a bit tight. No choice but to add meal charges to the room and I'm not so sure both wine and food prices didn't inflate a little between the restaurant and the front desk. I didn't question so I'm at fault but pay attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com