Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mb from London

Typical Grand Italian Hotel - Great Service

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel; very grand. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only downside was nearby location was not as lovely as the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from Shell Beach CA

Marble Liberace Dream Decor

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a dream when you drive through the white wrought iron gates down the palm-lined drive. The interior does not disappoint. Amazing oasis grounds and delightful views of Gulf of Naples. The staff speaks excellent English and is very helpful. The dinner (and breakfast) were outstanding. Highly recommend the pepper steak. SUBLIME. Big drawback was the HARD as stone beds. They really should do something about the bedding as well. We might have stayed another night but for the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquility

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Terrific grounds, terrific building, staff put in the effort.
Location: Located away from the crowds. Archeological sites on either side make the hotel an ideal destination.
This hotel was quite different that other hotels we stayed at in Italy. Considerable attention has gone into maintaining the grounds, palms and sizeable lemon grove. Combined with a well maintained elegant building the atmosphere is indeed relaxing. Our room faced the water and I'd recommend spending the extra money for the view, quite spectacular as the hotel is up a hill from town. We walked from the train station to the hotel but wouldn't recommend it unless you are fairly fit. The hotel does run a shuttle every few hours, they may come if phoned (driver great) or 10 euros for a cab. Archeological sites on either side of hotel within walking distance. They are truly spectacular, well worth the free entry fee and literally empty of tourists until I post this. Breakfasts good, dinners a little pricey. The same staff for both, attentive enough, perhaps it had been a long tourist season but I found them wound a bit tight. No choice but to add meal charges to the room and I'm not so sure both wine and food prices didn't inflate a little between the restaurant and the front desk. I didn't question so I'm at fault but pay attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel, close to Pompeii but...

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: The grounds and staff
Location: Close to Pompeii, but would not stay in this location again. Not scenic and nearby restaurants looked a bit daunting. Stay closer to Sorrento.
We really enjoyed our stay at La Medusa. It felt like a special resort - the grounds were very impressive. Room was spacious - we had a balcony with sea views. Shower had some soap scum but otherwise rooms were clean. Staff in the restaurant and bar areas were particularly good - they remembered our names and looked after us very well. Food was acceptable. The neighbourhood where the hotel is situated was not so nice. We were really concerned driving towards the location, felt really industrial and run down. Do not rely on a navigator system to get you there, it took us down a really narrow laneway with gates locking off where we were directed - almost impossible to perform a U-turn! Overall a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by april-sarah from E

Amazing hotel. Lovely staff. Best hotel visited.

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Visited Sorrento and this was a little out but incredibly lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watford, England

Beautiful Hotel and a bit of an oasis the town

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Friendly Staff and beautiful hotel
Cons: A more reasonably priced restaurant
Location: We had a car which is almost essential, you can walk to the train station but not a great walk.
This is a beautiful hotel, the staff are very friendly but unfortunately for us the Hotel restaurant was a bit expensive and there were no restaurants in walking distance. In fact the town was very disappointment for restaurants. This is a working town and not a holiday resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The manager

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: It's lovely
Upon arrival the mgr. Francesco had us put our bags back in the car and follow his van to a new hotel that cost 40 percent of this hotel. We went from a superior room with ocean view and balconies to a smallish room with a small window looking at chickens. He said come back to dinner and Ill buy you a bottle of wine. Then when I pushed it he said he would buy us a dinner at the new hotel. The difference for 2 rooms was 300 dollars. We got back in with the threats and help from another host. My parents are in their 80 s and this hotel deserves to be trashed. Trust this story. Americans stay away! It is ba beautiful place but not near anything else beautiful. The manager had no intention ever of being honest or refunding the money. I had to become angry as hell to avoid stating our vacation horribly. As it was we spent 2 hours tiring to get back into a hotel that has held almost $600 since March!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Would recommend to anyone

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Excellent room with views of the sea and Vesuvius. Lovely gardens and pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a bit in the sticks

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Pool Breakfast
Lovely hotel, classy. Very good breakfast and pool area. Francisco was lovely. Beautiful gardens. Only downside was the hotel was quite far from any restaurants and food for dinner in hotel wasn't great but apart from that a lively stay