Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Perfect retreat!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Me and my wife booked a standard room for a relaxing long weekend break and we weren't disappointed. Put aside the small dispute with the taxi driver who tried to charge €110 from Naples airport, the hotel staff were extremely welcoming and our first treat was a free upgrade to a suite which was amazing. The hotel sits in between the mountains with stunning views all around and our trip to Pompeii was great and recommended as it's only a short journey from the local train station. We didn't get to do everything we wanted to but this was due to our decision to relax more than intended. This does mean we'll have to go again though! Shame!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Enchanting Villa

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The whole experience of visiting an Italian villa.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Sorrento and the Amalfi coast a drive no one should miss.
An outstanding villa hotel a stones thow from Sorrent. One of nicest facilities we have stayed at in years. There are no words that could describe the opulance and good taste in decorating the facility. Well appointed rooms of a good size and big bathrooms as well. The grounds surrounding the villa was spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: good central location for sight seeing , local town is not very ice ,but good connection to major destinations
if you want a first class Italian experience foot this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Wonderful visit

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: All of the staff are helpful and have a good sense of humour. The hotel has a really happy atmosphere. Everyone gets the same warmth from the staff
Location: The hotel is outside the town, a car is almost essential if you want to see sights although the staff advise on how totravel to places.
The hotel and staff are lovely. It's not very often I feel such a glow from a hotel stay as I am a "difficult" visitor because I have food and other allergies. Once the staff found out they could not do enough to help and make sure I had a varied and delicious diet, even to the extent of making me gluten and dairy free bread which is the best I have ever tasted. Sadly I don't have the recipe! Aside from my dietary problems the food was amazing. We had booked for half board and the menu changed every day with 5 choices for each course The room was very comfortable and a good size which feels important when you stay somewhere for a week, and very clean. The bathroom was lovely with a very effective shower. The grounds are beautifully maintained and a pleasure to sit in, especially the outside bar with a good book of an evening. I would happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

La Medusa 🇮🇹

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Everything ! The staff, the gardens, the food I could go on and on ! The staff especially made us so welcome and couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: Nothing could improve this hotel.
Location: Great for getting around,the train is easy to use. There are a few restaurants within five mins walk from the hotel.
Such a beautiful hotel and the staff are exceptional! Was apprehensive about Castellammare as the reviews were not good,however I was pleasantly surprised. It's no Amalfi it's just a typical Italian town. We have had a fantastic holiday would recommend it and will defiantly be going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel but expensive extras and bad service

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Pool and grounds were beautiful. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Customer service in restaurant, translations on menu, removal of extortionate mark-ups on extras.
Location: There isn't much to do in Castellamare Di Stabia and it's not a very pretty town.
We booked the hotel for the last few days of our holiday and planned to spend all our time here relaxing. The front desk staff were very welcoming, and the hotel grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately what spoiled our stay was the extortionately priced extras and appalling service in the restaurant. A can of coke comes in at €4.50, cover charge in the restaurant is €5 per person, and there is a €2.50 charge per pool towel per day. We spent our first night at the hotel restaurant. It was a beautiful ambiance with live pianist, only spoiled by the manic staff continually standing over us counting tables as they didn't seem to know the table numbers. We ordered a primi pasta dish each and one bottle of wine. The pasta arrived before we even got our drinks and didn't match the English translations on the menu. When I questioned whether we had the right meals the waiter, who it turns out was the maître d, proceeded to take the fork from my hand and prod my food. I had ordered a pasta dish with no meat or fish and it arrived with a giant shellfish perched on top. While I understand that menu translations aren't always exact, the shellfish was a rather key ingredient to leave out. Our bill came to a pricey €70 for two starters and a bottle of wine. The food that we had was nice, but if you're going to charge such prices, the service HAS to match. As a result we didn't eat at the hotel again as planned and instead brought drinks in from elsewhere. Poor service = loss in revenue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not 4 Star

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Staff were genuinely friendly.
Cons: See above problems. Surrounding roads (major and minor) just blocked off????
Location: Pompeii close by.
Wifi not available in all rooms! Not accessible in room 114, extremely intermittent in room 311. Booklet in room states wifi available in 'all areas" - definitely not pool area. Residents treated a poor second when Hotel hosts "wedding receptions" and or "parties". Residents cars are moved out of hotel and across the road into a field to enable wedding/party guests to drive into hotel. Similarly front, rear garden and rear terrace all used for "wedding/party guests". No advanced warning to residents that these events are taking place. (Saturday and Sunday during our week). Thankfully across the road is "La Brace" a restaurant which was always available with good food and inexpensive prices. In room safe, (directly above bar fridge) was like a sauna..... do not store electronic devices in there! Both cupboard doors had to be opened to access either safe or bar fridge due to odd partitioned shelves. 3 panel glass shower door barely hanging on - open slowly and carefully. Air Conditioning failed one night, just blowing air, as did a complete wifi failure over two days. Not reliable for business user. (WiFi)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Grand Medusa

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: There is a free shuttle TO the local station 4 times a day. It would see reasonable to offer the return shuttle free at those times also.
Location: Several restaurants/ pizzerias in the vicinity - try La Brace, turn left outside the hotel, go down a narrow road/ drive about 70 metres on the right.
Very pleasant old world style and charm. Welcoming and helpful staff. Lovely pool - great jacuzzi options in pool. Peaceful and green gardens, beautifully lit at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Excellent hotel with views of Vesuvius.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Hotel has excellent grounds, friendly, helpful staff, great pool, It is well maintained and is lovely design.
Cons: There needs to be more, better quality cosmetics in the room, hair conditioner especially. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room w
Location: There is not a lot to do locally but there is at least one excellent place to eat nearby in walking distance. The lovely grounds of the hotel make up
We used this hotel for five nights on our honeymoon and it was a fantastic hotel in beautiful grounds with exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is well situated for trips to Sorrento, Capri and visiting the Amalfi coast. It doesn't have all the facilities we come to expect in 4/5 star European hotels but the hotel, its setting and staff made up for it. We would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KG from UK

KG

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel. The staff are very attentive and friendly. We stayed with our 4 children and had a very relaxing stay. A couple of warnings: this is a wedding hotel so weekends are busy and noisy. Also the restaurant is lovely but expensive, good news is there are plenty of good fun restaurants within walking distance where you can eat with the locals and pay local prices. Overall a really good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Mariano Imperato, Hotel Management
Dear KG, Thank you for having selected The Grand Hotel La Medusa!!!!!! We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful sojourn. We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again. Best regards,