Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

50th Anniversary Trip

Posted May 12, 2015
We choose LaMadusa because it was close to the ruins at Pompei and Ercolano and because of the good reviews we had read on-line. We were not disappointed. However, we were not prepared for the excellent experience we had at the hotel. The hotel is beautiful but the grounds are exceptional, especially the back garden. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful and consistently maintained that attitude during our five days there. The dining experience was very good - a little pricey but the food was excellent. The total staff made the stay there very special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My partners 50th treat

Posted May 12, 2015
The whole stay at this hotel was wonderful the staff were polite and very helpful, the accommodation was very clean with great views and the food was out of this world. Would go back to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wunderschönes Hotel, edel und geschmackvoll

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Ausblick toll, Restaurant edel, Essen sehr lecker, Garten wunderschön, Interieur sehr schön
Cons: Service an der Rezeption freundlich, aber wenig hilfreich! Badewanne häßliche Macken, geputzt wurde ok, ettliche Spinnweben im Zimmer.
Location: Hotel liegt ziemlich abgelegen, zu Fuß kann man die Stadt schlecht erreichen, also Taxi oder Shuttleservice. Von einem Mietauto würden wir abraten!
Das Hotel, Einrichtung, Bar und vor allem das Restaurant waren sehr schön, geschmackvoll. Der Garten mit den Zitronen- und Orangenbäumen, Bänken, dem Pool waren traumhaft schön. Der Service im Restaurant und in der Bar waren hervorragend. Der Service an der Rezeption war nicht gut, wir bekamen immer wieder nicht wirklich geholfen. Es wurde stets freundlich gegrüßt und nach dem Wohlbefinden gefragt. Wenn wir ein Problem hatten z.B. mit Leihwagen oder Taxi, mussten wir mehrfach nachfragen , bis wirklich eine Lösung gefunden wurde. So hat man uns für eine einfache Taxifahrt in die Stadt 20 Euro verlangt, als wir von der Stadt aus selbst ein Taxi nahmen, kostete es tatsächlich nur 8 Euro. In der Hotelbeschreibung war von einem kostenlosen Shuttle in die Stadt die Rede, tatsächlich sprach man dann von Taxi und Gebühren. Man konnte uns auch nur auch vielfache Anfrage ein Leihauto organisieren. Taxi zum Flughafen 100 Euro, regulär aber weniger, man hatte immer so ein Gefühl, dass das Hotel mit verdiente, oder auch nur die Angestellten. Wir würden auf jeden Fall kein Leihauto mehr nehmen, weil es sehr nervenaufreibend ist, in der Gegend zu fahren, zu viel Verkehr, keine Verkehrsregeln. Mit der Bahn kann man entspannt die ganze Küste von Sorrent bis Neapel abfahren und kommt für wenige Euro zu sämtlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten ganz einfach und schnell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel ; great garden

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: garden
Cons: spa fee
This is a very nice hotel with a great garden. People is nice It is a pity that the spa is not free (but it was a awesome experience)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
A nice hotel with a beautiful garden. Close to Pompeii and Sorrento, but the price is affordable. The front desk staffs are very helpful, giving me lots of tips for the places to visit and eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk UK

Fantastic

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can imagine that when the hotel is full the pianos might get played which would add even more to the atmosphere.
Location: There are local archeological excavations of two Roman villas just a short walk from the hotel.
My wife and I spent 7 nights which included our 40th wedding anniversary. We went out of season and the hotel was preparing for the new season but this made no difference to our stay. We were met at Naples airport as arranged by the hotel and we were taken back there at the end. The hotel was fantastic. We had a third floor room with views across the bay. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The hotel was a little off the beaten track but the reception staff arranged transport each time we needed it to the railway station. They also recommended a superb place to eat on the night of our anniversary. The dining facilities at the hotel were wonderful and the staff extremely friendly. The bar was great as was Vincenzo who was always ready to discuss the quality of the wines. The spa was great. Just outside of the hotel grounds was a restaurant with a lovely log fire and again superb food. The archeological site at Pompeii was only 4 stops on the train at a tiny cost of 1 euro 20 cents for the ticket. I could not recommend this hotel more. It is exceptional. A huge thank you to everyone who made our stay wonderful. Even a snow fall one night meant that we had breakfast looking at a snow topped volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset, UK

A very good hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Set in nice grounds, which made it quiet and relaxing.
Location: Easy rail access to Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, Ercolano and Vesuvius
We stayed in March so it was out of season but the hotel was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and the breakfast buffet very good in nice surroundings. The restaurant was not operating at that time of the year but there is a very good restaurant just across the road. The hotel is out of town, in a quiet location. We used the train from Via Nocera station (just over a mile away) as much as possible for travelling to Sorrento, Naples etc. It can also be used for Pompeii, Ercolano and Vesuvius. The roads towards the station are busy and there is no pavement for some of the route so walking to the station is better when the days are longer and the walk can be done in daylight. We had a hire car but found the traffic chaotic and parking very difficult to find, even out of season, so it is worth avoiding car hire, except perhaps for the journey to and from the airport..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Location: Good location for travelling around to other towns. Not sure about the actual area as we didn't go out there.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, especially on entrance - very grand! Pleasant staff. The room was lovely, nothing to complain about really. Breakfast was nice, nice views from the 4th floor. We stayed here as we got a deal. We hired a car to get to Sorrento. Not sure how else you can get there. We didn't go out in the area were the hotel is situated. Not sure if there is anything there. It is a good location if you are visiting different towns. Not far from Naples airport. Thank you Hotel Medusa Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Well presented, with lovely grounds.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very helpful staff. The hotel is a little bit isolated without a car but it is worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow is all I can say.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We booked this hotel to be near Naples. This was our first trip to the area and we booked three different hotels. This one was by far the best. It was a little out of the way but made for a great stay. There is a resteraunt real close about 50 meters outside the gate and had some of the best food with a great atmosphere. The price for the room was good and the rooms were clean. One thing is that you definitely need a car for this hotel.