Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect hidden gem

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Incredibly nice hotel and gardens, very luxurious and has the feel of a five star hotel. The room was very clean although not massive. Facilities in room were good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Silvano the driver. The location is okay, the town is a 20 minute walk along a busy road so you're best taking the free shuttle bus every 2 hours. Or just stay in the resort! Its not far to Pompei if you want to visit, the local town is nothing special but there are a couple of nice resturaunts. The garden and pool areas are particularly nice. The resturaunt is good too, although perhaps a little pricey at 42 EUR PP. Overall a great stay and particularly good value for money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Good hotel convenient to Pompeii and Herculaneum

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: The staff were great, the pool was wonderful and the quality of the meals was excellent.
Cons: There was little alternative to the hotel for meals. The taxi to the station was expensive
Location: The hotel was great for visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum and the Amalfi coast
we were given an upgrade on our room and it was superb. It overlooked the pool and dining area and was overlooked by Vesuvius. The restaurant served meals of a superb quality, but with a price to match. Breakfast was excellent. the pool was excellent and very welcome in a very hot July. The only problems were related to the relative isolation of the hotel. To get to and from the railway required a taxi (at 10 Euros each time). There was a shuttle that could take you to the station, but this only went four times a day. It was very difficult to eat anywhere other than the hotel, as the town was not close and restaurants were hard (impossible) to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great place

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Very good gardens and pool.
Location: Nearby town not that exciting but near very good cheap rail connections to Napoli, Sorrento and Pompei
One of the best hotels I have stayed at. All staff very friendly and seemed interested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The hotel is beautiful and very spacious. The location is a bit off and there is not much to do without having to driving about 20-30 minutes. The staff was okay, not very friendly or flexible but we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Lovely hotel and gardens, amazing staff, so friendly and helpful. Relaxed place to stay and easy to get to all the historic sites nearby. We will certainly be back again and would recommend to others for sure. Best in room air con I've ever had at a hotel too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I have never stayed at a Hotel where the staff are so accommodating. Nothing is too much to ask and they make you feel very welcome and comfortable. The food from the restaurant was amazing however the breakfast was poor which let it down a little. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out with a lovely swimming pool and beautiful gardens. The hotel is about a 45 minute drive from Sorrento and roughly costs 70 euros in a cab. I thought it was a little closer which was slightly disappointing however you can get a train which takes about 20 minutes and the hotel will arrange transfers to and from the train station. Overall we had a wonderful time and we would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Beautiful Oasis

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Warm friendly smiling helpful efficient staff Classy elegant decor The smell of jasmine in the gardens View from our room Fresh flowers everywhere
Cons: As you can tell I loved this hotel - it's a shame you couldn't pick it up and put it in a better position as it's not a great walk up from the town !
Location: The town is not picturesque and if you can't eat in the hotel the walk back up is a bit tricky eg no footpaths and rubbish to get past - ok by car tho
We had a five night stay in May (half board) From walking into reception we knew we had found something really special by the friendly welcome from the reception staff. Our room had a wonderful view of Vesuvius and stunning sunsets and was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with lovely lighting. We ate in the orangery type room overlooking the terrace and gardens most evenings and the food and the service were marvellous. Half board didn't stretch to the a la carte but there was a choice of at least four prima eg risotto and different pasta, and four second courses including entrecote and local fish dishes - the deserts were stupendous !! Wine (not incuded) started at about 20 euros and cocktails in the from the bar were about 10. Thanks to Antonio and Maria and all of the waiting staff in the restaurant and the bar for a great experience. We were out and about most of the time-Pompeii, Herculaneum and Sorrento by the Circumvesuviana railway and on to Amalfi and Ravello by Sita bus from Sorrento. We found the shuttle service to Via Nocera station invaluable and all the advice from the driver (sorry I can't remember his name) very helpful. It was lovely to be able to go and sit by the pool or stroll in the pretty gardens to chill out when we got back. There was a wedding and a First Holy Communion party while we were there with great jazz piano music wafting up to our room - very atmospheric ! Breakfast on the top floor ! What a view ! Good cold buffet !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

50th Anniversary Trip

Posted May 12, 2015
We choose LaMadusa because it was close to the ruins at Pompei and Ercolano and because of the good reviews we had read on-line. We were not disappointed. However, we were not prepared for the excellent experience we had at the hotel. The hotel is beautiful but the grounds are exceptional, especially the back garden. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful and consistently maintained that attitude during our five days there. The dining experience was very good - a little pricey but the food was excellent. The total staff made the stay there very special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My partners 50th treat

Posted May 12, 2015
The whole stay at this hotel was wonderful the staff were polite and very helpful, the accommodation was very clean with great views and the food was out of this world. Would go back to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wunderschönes Hotel, edel und geschmackvoll

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Ausblick toll, Restaurant edel, Essen sehr lecker, Garten wunderschön, Interieur sehr schön
Cons: Service an der Rezeption freundlich, aber wenig hilfreich! Badewanne häßliche Macken, geputzt wurde ok, ettliche Spinnweben im Zimmer.
Location: Hotel liegt ziemlich abgelegen, zu Fuß kann man die Stadt schlecht erreichen, also Taxi oder Shuttleservice. Von einem Mietauto würden wir abraten!
Das Hotel, Einrichtung, Bar und vor allem das Restaurant waren sehr schön, geschmackvoll. Der Garten mit den Zitronen- und Orangenbäumen, Bänken, dem Pool waren traumhaft schön. Der Service im Restaurant und in der Bar waren hervorragend. Der Service an der Rezeption war nicht gut, wir bekamen immer wieder nicht wirklich geholfen. Es wurde stets freundlich gegrüßt und nach dem Wohlbefinden gefragt. Wenn wir ein Problem hatten z.B. mit Leihwagen oder Taxi, mussten wir mehrfach nachfragen , bis wirklich eine Lösung gefunden wurde. So hat man uns für eine einfache Taxifahrt in die Stadt 20 Euro verlangt, als wir von der Stadt aus selbst ein Taxi nahmen, kostete es tatsächlich nur 8 Euro. In der Hotelbeschreibung war von einem kostenlosen Shuttle in die Stadt die Rede, tatsächlich sprach man dann von Taxi und Gebühren. Man konnte uns auch nur auch vielfache Anfrage ein Leihauto organisieren. Taxi zum Flughafen 100 Euro, regulär aber weniger, man hatte immer so ein Gefühl, dass das Hotel mit verdiente, oder auch nur die Angestellten. Wir würden auf jeden Fall kein Leihauto mehr nehmen, weil es sehr nervenaufreibend ist, in der Gegend zu fahren, zu viel Verkehr, keine Verkehrsregeln. Mit der Bahn kann man entspannt die ganze Küste von Sorrent bis Neapel abfahren und kommt für wenige Euro zu sämtlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten ganz einfach und schnell.