Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt&Carly from N.Ireland

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
My fiancé and I stayed here for 1 week. We were in Sorrento to plan our wedding for next year. The hotel is about 20mins from Sorrento and you do need a rental car in my opinion which isn't necessarily a bad thing as with a car you get to experience the true beauty of this part if the world. Driving the Amalfi Coast was absolutely stunning!! The hotel represents great value for money compared to similar quality hotels in the center of Sorrento. Spotless, modern, good parking facilities and a great pool. The only disappointment was the WIFI which hardly worked and when it did was very poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie from Highland, Scotland

Views to Vesuvius

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. Views, room, restaurant and, of course, the wonderful staff - ever welcoming and helpful.
Location: Great base for visiting Vesuvius, Pompei, Herculanium, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast.
We had a really relaxing and chilled out holiday. Hotel very clean and staff attentive, very friendly, courteous, willing to please at all times. Good menu in restaurant and again staff excellent. Own pool and private beach a bonus. Wonderful views across bay to Vesuvius from our room - we booked a superior room and it was. For us the location was excellent, away from busy town centres, and an ideal base for touring the local sites, the Sorrento Peninsula and the Amalfi Coast. We had use of a rental car and getting out and about was no problem, but we also used both public transport and the hotel's shuttle bus to get to and from Sorrento and once we got used to the timetable found it fairly convenient and it did not detract from a wonderful holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lee strutt from perth scotland

honey moon

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, felt that you had to pay for everything though (€20 for breakfast each is a bit expensive). Great location but you will need a car. Lovely rooms with views but a bit small considering we ha decided a kingsize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, spacious room, restaurant food.
Cons: Communication about the excursions and the shuttle bus.
Location: Must take train or taxi to get into Sorrento.
Great hotel. Clean rooms. Nice bathrooms. Quiet location. Comfy beds. Our only problem was that we had to get off the hotel shuttle bus after boarding because we were expected to reserve a seat in advance. However, we were not advised of this when we spoke to the hotel staff. This was very inconvenient for us. Better communication would have prevented this from happening, and we were not alone because over 8 people did not have reservations and were asked to get off the bus. Otherwise, we are very happy with our choice to stay here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jo from South East UK

good service by staff

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely part of Italy, unfortunately this was not a nice area and not a place where you could walk from the hotel for an evening walk or to explore - lots of rubbish and graffiti and no pavement. Fine if you have your own transport to get around. The hotel runs a shuttle to Sorrento which is useful but the return shuttle isn't until midnight from the train station. The staff were very helpful and quietly attentive. The room was a little tired eg worn chair, bathroom patched side panel of bath though adequate. A little disappointing re the area and room compared with other Crowne Plaza hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

best beach around area, not good for other dining,

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
relaxing place, not a five star but nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Highland, CA, USA

Hotel Crown Plaza Stabie in Italy.

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: The room we had a ocean view and it was fantastic.
Cons: It was not near anything and we were stuck eating there.
Location: The Hotel is located right on the ocean and is very well maintained. It has a really nice pool area but is only openned during the summer months.
Our stay in Stabie Crown Plaza was great we had a great room and the service was spot on. The desk helped us with directions and tours which we went on one and it was absoulutely wonderful. The Hotel is not near much of anything and if you don't have transportation you will be stuck eating at the hotel. The food is good but a little high but it is really nice and the service is good. Over all it was a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sorrento

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: views
Cons: staff were not very helpful or friendly
Location: 20 mins drive from sorrento
...................................................................................................................................
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crowne Plaza-Terrible, Dirty, Horrible, Unfriendly

Posted Oct 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a truthful review of my terrible experience in The Crowne Plaza Stabiae Sorrento Coast Hotel. I must emphasise that none of the following information is exaggerated. I stayed there from the 26th September 2011 to 29th September 2011 with my Fiancée for both business and pleasure. The Crowne Plaza Stabiae Sorrento Coast Hotel is an over-expensive, run down, disgusting hotel. This truly is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I have spent time and effort to compile this in-depth review of this terrible hotel to prevent people from experiencing what I just have. The hotel is extremely dirty and grotty. The hotel is nowhere near Sorrento, it is a 45 minute drive to Sorrento. The staff are unpleasant and incredibly unhelpful. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, and you have no choice but to eat at the hotel. This is okay, however, the Crowne Plaza takes full advantage of its guests in this respect and charges ridiculously high prices for food and beverages. It really feels as if the management have no respect for its guests and abuses its guests by charging what they like for food. My bedroom was never cleaned properly and there were dirty ashtrays distributed throughout the public areas in the hotel, these remained for the extent of our stay. I was disgusted by the quality of the hotel that I took the time to take several photographs. These are displayed below. I have never done this before. I must say that the photographs I took differ significantly from those displayed on the hotel's website. I feel it is very unfair that a hotel treat people in this way and expect people to waste their money. I must plead with people not to stay at this hotel. Do not waste your money. You are trapped here and must pay extremely high prices for the essentials of food and water. There are several beautiful hotels in the heart of Sorrento that are significantly cheaper. I have visited several of these, and they are all far better than this hotel. For those who are interested I have provided a detailed, more in-depth review of several aspects of the hotel; I must emphasise that I never written a negative review like this before, I have just been so angered that I feel I have to expose my terrible experience at The Crowne Plaza Stabiae Sorrento Coast Hotel. Reception Staff: The staff at reception were all unpleasant and unhelpful, this is of course when they were there. They treated us all the time like we were an inconvenience. On several occasions I stood at reception while the receptionist stared at me and answered phone calls without asking if I was okay. On one occasion the receptionist actually answered 5 telephone calls while standing one foot away from me and staring at me. I timed this and I was waiting 7 minutes before she asked me was I okay. This is truly unacceptable, I partly blame the reception staff for this, however, a significant blame has to be placed on the hotel management. There are clearly not enough staff and they are obviously overworked. Room: Upon entering the room there was a dirty ashtray full of cigarette ends on our balcony. I asked at reception each day that this be removed; the ashtray was still there on our departure. There was mould growing on the side of the bath, photographs of this mould are shown below. The wardrobe provided was a strip of curtain that was half hanging on the ground. I also paid extra for a sea view, this turned out to be a beautiful grey concrete wall! I went to reception to complain but, alas, there was no staff to be seen as usual. The minibar prices are ridiculous. This is the case in many hotels, however, The Crowne Plaza Stabiae Sorrento Coast Hotel takes this to a new level. Again the management are abusing its guests by taking advantage of its isolated location. Some of the minibar prices are as follows: Water 3.50Euro, Soft Drink 4.00Euro, Small bottle wine 12.00Euro, Spirits 8.00Euro, Small can of Pringles 6.00Euro, the latter makes me laugh!! Bar: There is a tiny bar in the reception area of the hotel, but, there is no barman. You have to get the unhelpful reception staff to telephone for a barman, that’s of course, after the usual wait for the receptionist to acknowledge you. The bar and lounge area was often covered in dirty coffee cups, and plates. There wasn't just a few, there was loads, and this was on several occasions. Then when the barman arrives you can ask him to see the top-secret menu which is kept hidden behind the bar. Hidden for obvious reasons, again another example of high prices, where the Crowne Plaza managament takes advantage of its guests. I can't remember exactly what was on the menu but I know I chose the cheapest item on the menu. This was a ham sandwich for 10.00Euro. It was the literal definition of a sandwich; two slices of stale white bread with a piece of ham in the middle, no butter or mayonnaise, it was served on a plate for free though! I also paid 4.00Euro for a 250ml bottle of coke which was served in a plastic glass with no ice or lemon. (Incidentally, I actually only got the plastic glass after going to reception, waiting 5 minutes to be noticed by the receptionist, and then the telephone call to the barman etc..) The management are clearly cutting costs all over the place and the quality has severely suffered. Lounge Area: The lounge area is full of chairs, all these chairs are caked in dirt, I don't mean a little bit of dirt, I mean filthy. There are photos below. There is also paint coming off the ceilings. Swimming Pool: There is a sign that says that the swimming pool can only be used when the lifeguard is on duty between 9am and 7pm. I was there was three days and saw the lifeguard once, this was in the restaurant by the way?? There was never a lifeguard on duty beside the pool. You also have to pay 3.00Euro per day for a pool towel. Again the management stealing money from its guests. The swimming pool was full of cleaning machinery and long twisting pipes and tubing. This is not an exaggeration. This clearly represents a blatant health and safety issue for swimmers in the pool. There is no pool bar, just 3 vending machines beside the pool, again, over-expensive prices; Magnum ice-cream 3.00Euro, Cornetto ice-cream 2.50Euro, bottle of water 1.50Euro, and 330ml soft drinks 2.50Euro. Courtesy Bus to Sorrento: The website displays a luxury minibus, as you can see from my photographs below, this is just a white Ford Transit van with 8 seats. The shuttle bus only takes 8 people and leaves for Sorrento 5 times per day. There is 150 rooms in this hotel, it does not take a mathematician to work out that is next to impossible to get a seat on the courtesy bus. If you want to go to Sorrento you will have to take the public bus. This is 4.00Euro one way. These buses are not frequent. A taxi to the hotel from the main square in Sorrento cost us 69.74Euro. Wifi: There is wifi in the hotel but you will pay dearly for the privilege, this is 3.00Euro per hour. Overall: This hotel is dreadful. Please do not stay there. The hotel is in a state of disrepair, there are examples of paint coming off walls all over the place and cracks etc.. There are some photographs of this below. There are plenty other hotels in Sorrento. The hotel is clearly understaffed and operating on a shoestring budget. Please don't be fooled by the photographs on their website. These photographs portray a luxury resort, these are clever photographs, they are not a true representation of the hotel. This hotel advertises itself as a resort, this is not a resort, this is a low grade hotel located in the middle of nowhere. Please please please don't waste your money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2010 on Hotels.com