Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest Territories

Relaxing hotel away from tourist attractions

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: pool, beach access, pool, beautiful setting, ocean views, nice room and bathroom
Cons: more concierge service, friendlier staff, not convenient for sightseeing in the area
Location: 15 euro taxi to the town of Castellammare di Stabie which is rundown, stinky, full of garbage and graffiti, but you can get the train there.
The Towers Hotel is located away from the tourist attractions, along the Sorrento Coast. It is NOT IN SORRENTO. We got off the train in Sorrento to have to take an expensive taxi two towns back to where our hotel is actually located. Pros: beach access, pool, beautiful setting, dining area overlooking the water with a view of Mount Vesuvius, architecturally interesting (used to be a concrete plant), lovely breakfast included in price, spacious room, nice bathroom including tub, ocean views of our room were excellent. Cons: staff are very formal and not that useful in giving information about the area other than the overpriced activities that they offer, difficult to get to sites from here - shuttle bus with very limited service, then a train and perhaps a boat if visiting the islands. Pool & beach area close too early at 7pm. Expensive drinks & food. The town of Castellammare di Stabie is rundown, stinky, full of garbage and graffiti. My advice: stay here if you want to swim & relax. Stay in Sorrento is you want to sightsee in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Not a family holiday hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Close to bus stop and train station
Cons: The amenities of the hotel, the hotel is in an isolated area, it needs entertainment.
Location: Very easy to get the bus to Pompeii. Even easier to get the train to sorrento, although the underground tunnel to the station is very dangerous.
The hotel is in a very good location, there is a bus stop right outside and a train station 2mins walk so it's easy to get into sorrento, Pompeii and naples. Although, I wouldn't like to use the train station on my own or at night, as you have to walk up a very uphill tunnel which goes into the mountain. It's dark damp and quite frightening. As we walked into the hotel, there was no signs for the reception and it was all a bit confusing. We luckily had a sea view, if we had any other I would of been really upset as the view is the best part. The beach is very small and is made of rocks, not somewhere you would take kids. It also looked very dirty. The pool was ice cold and very shabby looking( nothing like the pictures). There's no entertainment in the evenings, we took the shuttle bus every evening into sorrento otherwise we would of been very bored. The hotel bar is very small and located next the reception, not somewhere you would like a drink after your evening meal. There's nothing there at all, if it's just a bed to sleep in then fine, but don't go there for a relaxing holiday, you'll be so disappointed. It's also ridiculously expensive. For 2 ham & cheese toasters, 2 small beers and a bottle of water it came to 28 euros. Overall I was disappointed in the hotel. The only positive side I've got is that the transport is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt&Carly from N.Ireland

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
My fiancé and I stayed here for 1 week. We were in Sorrento to plan our wedding for next year. The hotel is about 20mins from Sorrento and you do need a rental car in my opinion which isn't necessarily a bad thing as with a car you get to experience the true beauty of this part if the world. Driving the Amalfi Coast was absolutely stunning!! The hotel represents great value for money compared to similar quality hotels in the center of Sorrento. Spotless, modern, good parking facilities and a great pool. The only disappointment was the WIFI which hardly worked and when it did was very poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie from Highland, Scotland

Views to Vesuvius

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. Views, room, restaurant and, of course, the wonderful staff - ever welcoming and helpful.
Location: Great base for visiting Vesuvius, Pompei, Herculanium, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast.
We had a really relaxing and chilled out holiday. Hotel very clean and staff attentive, very friendly, courteous, willing to please at all times. Good menu in restaurant and again staff excellent. Own pool and private beach a bonus. Wonderful views across bay to Vesuvius from our room - we booked a superior room and it was. For us the location was excellent, away from busy town centres, and an ideal base for touring the local sites, the Sorrento Peninsula and the Amalfi Coast. We had use of a rental car and getting out and about was no problem, but we also used both public transport and the hotel's shuttle bus to get to and from Sorrento and once we got used to the timetable found it fairly convenient and it did not detract from a wonderful holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lee strutt from perth scotland

honey moon

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, felt that you had to pay for everything though (€20 for breakfast each is a bit expensive). Great location but you will need a car. Lovely rooms with views but a bit small considering we ha decided a kingsize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, spacious room, restaurant food.
Cons: Communication about the excursions and the shuttle bus.
Location: Must take train or taxi to get into Sorrento.
Great hotel. Clean rooms. Nice bathrooms. Quiet location. Comfy beds. Our only problem was that we had to get off the hotel shuttle bus after boarding because we were expected to reserve a seat in advance. However, we were not advised of this when we spoke to the hotel staff. This was very inconvenient for us. Better communication would have prevented this from happening, and we were not alone because over 8 people did not have reservations and were asked to get off the bus. Otherwise, we are very happy with our choice to stay here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jo from South East UK

good service by staff

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely part of Italy, unfortunately this was not a nice area and not a place where you could walk from the hotel for an evening walk or to explore - lots of rubbish and graffiti and no pavement. Fine if you have your own transport to get around. The hotel runs a shuttle to Sorrento which is useful but the return shuttle isn't until midnight from the train station. The staff were very helpful and quietly attentive. The room was a little tired eg worn chair, bathroom patched side panel of bath though adequate. A little disappointing re the area and room compared with other Crowne Plaza hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

best beach around area, not good for other dining,

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
relaxing place, not a five star but nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Highland, CA, USA

Hotel Crown Plaza Stabie in Italy.

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: The room we had a ocean view and it was fantastic.
Cons: It was not near anything and we were stuck eating there.
Location: The Hotel is located right on the ocean and is very well maintained. It has a really nice pool area but is only openned during the summer months.
Our stay in Stabie Crown Plaza was great we had a great room and the service was spot on. The desk helped us with directions and tours which we went on one and it was absoulutely wonderful. The Hotel is not near much of anything and if you don't have transportation you will be stuck eating at the hotel. The food is good but a little high but it is really nice and the service is good. Over all it was a great stay.