Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unwinding

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Just the perfect place to relax. Nice wee golf course and club house. Close to cork and perfect for touring around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sharon from Galway

Amazing setting, really enjoyable

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed it, would definately go again and stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from Rhode Island

Wonderful surprise

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good resort hotel. Facilities and staff are first rate. Food is good but not on a par with the hotel facilities or the quality staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. Tweed from County Down

Easter Stayover at Castlemartyr

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The room; great size, well ventilated. Temperature adjustable to suit all tastes. Great bed; very comfortable and no noise from adjacent rooms.
Cons: Breakfast and gym/pool opening times. The waiting staff at Breakfast were first class but the Maitre d' could be better.
Location: Convenient base for exploring; Cork city and coastal towns like Kinsale close by.
We booked accomodation at Castlemartyr for two nights including Easter Sunday. Having previously stayed at Castlemartyr for our honeymoon three years ago we had high expectations as we were really impressed by the hotel on that visit. This time round we found the experience nothing particularly special and somewhat disappointing as standards appeared to have slipped. The check-in was painless enough but we were told we were too late (at 6.35 pm!) to order a meal from the bar and the earliest we could obtain a reservation for one of the restaurants was 9pm. We went to the bar and the very friendly and efficient bar staff said it was no trouble at all to order food so wires were crossed somewhere...! The second point worth mentioning was that the gym closed at 7.30 pm. Well, at least that was what I was told when I asked the staff at Spa reception. The Spa we belong to is open to 10pm every night for both the pool and the gym. I found this very disappointing. My final point is the fiasco that is breakfast. Quite frankly, having to stand in a queue and wait for a table at a four plus/ five star hotel is pushing things a little. If that wasn't bad enough then the member of staff shouting out "who's next?" really leaves a lot to be desired. I expect that from a chip shop not a hotel with high-end pretensions. The buffet is squeezed into a tiny room and the plates aren't replenished often enough. Unfortunately the Maitre d' has to multitask and change tablecloths. Disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray from Cork

One night get-away without the kids

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close enough to Cork for a quick and easy get-away for one night without the kids - Castlemartyr ticked all the boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zimbali from London

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners must have spent a fortune on the fit out of this hotel in the last five years or so. For a non boutique hotel it is excellent with great quality and attention to detail. Its quirky and comfortable. The staff were kind and helpful, if a little unpolished at times. The food was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by abdul from los angeles

Lovely resort with lovely surroundings.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
We had a great time. The resort has a lot of charm and the lake, the golf course and landscaping just creates a beautiful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia from Castlebar

Breakfast

Posted Nov 25, 2013
I thought the breakfast was very poor. There was no management and as a result the staff were run off their feet trying to serve the entire diningroom.The fresh fruit on offer was poor! Its a shame that such a good hotel would not this right as everyone eats breakfast!