Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cork

Luxurt hotel in co cork

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: the accomodation , location , the luxury of the rooms and the quietness inthe area
Cons: Car parking for hotel guests, also I had "white onion tart" for started , very basis half an onion on top of a piece of pastry.
Location: Rural , walking, fishing, golf.
Overall experience excellent , however for 5 star , at breakfast we were shown out table but not advised it was buffet and sat out table for 5 minns until we saw other guests leaving the dining room and returning with cereals , fruit etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Damien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Wonderful experience in beautiful hotel, do book for dinner in advance though as it can be difficult to get suitable time at short notice
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim D from Orange CA

Best Hotel EVER!

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
The Castlemartyr is phenomenal. Incredible rooms, grounds, and staff. You feel like a VIP without the stuffiness. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful and one of the best rooms I have EVER had. The only thing that was not perfect, is that there is little to do off grounds as it is in a bit of a remote location, but the there are so many things to do ON the grounds, that you don't miss it. Cant wait to go back!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cork

Terrible Service Ruins Luxury Hotel Experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
The reception area, bar, and restaurants at the Castlemartyr hotel resort are well appointed with spacious and inviting guestrooms. Unfortunately, the entire experience is destroyed by the most horrendous guest service you could possibly imagine. Examples included having to wait four hours to have orders sent to the hotel room, overhearing the incredibly unprofessional waiters and waitresses discussing guests within earshot, and having to wait at least 45 minutes to even be offered a menu on the terrace. (I say at least 45 minutes because we could not bear to wait any longer). Besides this, the spa and pool area is exceptionally disappointing for a supposed 5* hotel. NOTE: access to the spa area is NOT included in the price of a hotel stay - use of the vitality suite is €15 per hotel guest. There is a sauna/steam room/jacuzzi by the pool which has free access. However, the facilities are poor and an extreme disappointment. Overall, I would absolutely NOT recommend staying at the Castlemartyr hotel resort. On leaving the hotel, we voiced our concerns to the team at reception. We received a follow up phone call the next day to expand on all the failures of the resort. It is testament to the appalling service at this hotel that we were not willing to accept complimentary offers to return. SUMMARY- atrocious staff ruin a lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Definately worth a trip

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, luxurious surroundings, the contrast between old and new. Will definately return to make use of all of the facilities
We stayed at Castlemartyr while attending a friends wedding recently. Check in was quick and easy in spite of the wedding crowd. The rooms are located quite a distance from reception so it is worth availing of their offer to deliver bags for you. The room itself was spacious, clean and very comfortable while the bathroom had a lovely marble bath and seperate shower. The wedding meal itself was delicious and all of the staff I encountered could not have been nicer. I used both the gym and pool the next day. The pool was very refreshing and is in a lovely setting. They also appeared to have good facilites for children with a playroom near the gym. There were a few minor things that could have been improved with the stay. When we arrived there was torrential rain but in spite of valet parking being signposted, there was no one in attendance to take our car, help us into the hotel or just offer an umbrella. This was probably due to a crowd arriving for the wedding but I'm sure they host weddings on a regular basis so this could have been better. Also the lockers in the changing rooms were never explained nor keys offere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels