Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long-weekend getaway

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, amenities...everything!
Cons: everything was wonderful.
Location: Surrounding town has some conveniences, and tourist attractions aren't far away.
Staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable, going the extra mile to ensure comfort and care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Frisco Tx

Very quiet and peaceful surroundings !

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Nothing fancy but just what you need ! Very quaint ! Very clean ! My rate was for 68$ / night , we were there for Sea World. Didn't mind the extra drive! If you are a small town person then you will love this hotel ! Also recommend eating breakfast at Sammy's restaurant ! The " Good Morning " breakfast hits the spot !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lowell from Missouri

Hotel for visiting family

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location. However, while location was the primary factor in choosing this hotel, I found the general setting and decor to be peaceful and relaxing.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was very disappointing in it's lack of any hot foods of substance
Location: Since my visit there was for family matters, we were not looking to get out in the area. However, Castroville is rich in history.
The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. My problem was with Expedia through whom I booked my room. When I got there, I had two rooms for two nights instead of one room for two nights but since I had booked through Expedia, the rooms had been charged to my credit card and there was nothing the hotel staff could do. When we called for service to our room, the staff was very prompt and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Durham, NC

Nice facility with lovely view

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Location was the initial draw for us as we were visiting family in town.
Cons: The pricing is a little higher than chains with similar amenities, but they are the only motel in Castroville.
Location: About half an hour from San Antonio and its many attractions.
Very friendly and helpful staff in an attractive setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul S from Tolono, IL

LOVE this hotel!

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nothing I can say bad about Hotel Alsace. Wish there was a little more variety for the continental breakfast, but for free, who can complain. Every room has a great view overlooking Medina Valley. Service is impeccable! Only 15-20 min to SE San Antonio. Love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was very nice; but adjoining balconies made for very loud neighbors (people smoking out in their balconies). Can really hear people outside and in neighboring rooms & decks. Noise really carries - felt like we were at a truck stop at times because of noise. Otherwise room was very nice. Really liked the fridge, coffee pot - add a microwave for the perfect convenience hat trick! ;) (we stayed 4 days/3 nights so it was helpful to have a fridge to store milk, snacks etc)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ann Eaker from O'Donnell, TX

close to a brother-in-law.

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant. Handicap rooms need showers not just handrails. Some people can not raise their legs high enough to get over a bath tub.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to business

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs a complete remodel
Front desk said I didn't have a reservation, then miraculously found it when I showed them my printout.Room ok,view very nice,bed absolutely terrible.Mattress thin and worn out,sheets and blankets thin and old.