Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxing stay

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The room
Cons: Size of the television
The room was great and the staff very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Nice rooms. Didn't think we would find something so comfy in a small town. Beautiful porch deck off our room with Adirondack chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Aransas, Texas

Nice hotel in Castroville

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. Beautiful french doors out to balcony.
Cons: TV was old and poor picture quality. We did'nt come here for that, though.
Location: Be sure to check out the old Alsatian homes in town. Founded by Henri Castro in 1845. Take a walking tour if possible.
The folks that work at this hotel (managers, maids, restaurant) are friendly and will take care of you. Rooms have private balcony in back with view over the town(hotel is on a hill at the outskirts of town). Our room was very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mandyfrom Texas

Great vibe.

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love this hotel. Lovely balconies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Doug and Trinafrom Cypress Texas

Following in her Father's footsteps.

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
travelling frequently in this part of the country , we have had the opportunity to stay at many of this areas hotels and motels. My wifes father recently passed and knowing that he and his late wife had stayed in the Alsace many years ago, thought that it would be "special" to stay the night there and "follow" In their footsteps so to speak. We found it to be very convenient in its location and proximity to the local area. The rooms were as clean or cleaner than most others in the area. The prices were maybe a little higher (depending on which day of the week), but the Alsace's restaurant's inexpensive and beautiful setting more than compensated for this . We were given a "great" rate for a Sunday night and informed the disk personnel that we would like to sleep in and not awakened until 111am. Housekeeping woke us up much before that time and we went to the desk. The desk personnel simply asked us how much we wanted to pay to compensate for their mistake. We gave them what we thought was a fair price and they agreed without question. Something rarely seen these days! Great Customer Service. 3 of their rooms have older mattresses which may be fine for most , but uncomfortable for any with back problems. The hotel informed us that they were working hard to replace all the old mattresses but hadn't quite done this yet. They also said that if any guest had a "bad" mattress that the front desk would be glad to move them to another room upon notification.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by G Martinfrom Denton Tx

Bird nest

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A group of us go dove hunting in Hondo every year and we have been staying there for years and every year when we pass the hotel Alsace we say we should stay there it looks nicer .Well this year the hotel was sold out so we gave it a try. Now we have a new home for the hunt ,it is 10 miles from the fields where we hunt . The rooms are bigger nicer the view is great and breakfast on site was outstanding. My son went to the spa and it was relaxing and the prices were great .This hotel is where we will land from now on , the service , cleanliness , comfort , and location was GREAT . Thanks for making our trip a little more special . See you next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Mediocre hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: see the above
Location: was there for St. Louis anniversary.
Hotel a/c was noisy and kept us awake. Mattress cover was terrible and kept me awake. Breakfast was very meager. For the price of the hotel we had expected a hot breakfast. They had cereal, juice, coffee and cold rolls that were probably purchased at a food store. Overall we were extremely disappointed. I talked to the front desk and asked about a refund. She could not give a refund but agreed we should have one and asked me to tell Expedia and they could help me get a refund. Please follow up on this for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by imleafrom San Antonio

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the pool, when we could use it. Closed for wedding as was the restaurant at dinner time. I don't believe this fair to paying guests. Breakfast was disappointing, make plans to eat elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely rooms with view. The amenities in room somewhat stingy, needed more coffee.