Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary/Palm Desert

A Charming Hotel in The Center of Everything

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: It is family owned and managed. It is centrally located (within a 300 meters of the shoreline, restaurants, shopping, etc.)
Cons: No comment
Location: Scuba diving, sailing, fishing, hiking, camping, golf. Not enough?
My wife and I flew in by helicopter (which I strongly recommend-with 'Island Express') for one night. We arrived at 4pm on a Saturday and left the following morning at 11am. In that time we were able to tour Avalon on a rented golf cart with time to spare. The hotel was centrally located, which doesn't mean much seeing as Avalon encompasses an area of a mere three square miles. I would not get hung up with location when choosing a hotel on Catalina Island. The Glenmore Plaza Hotel is for the seasoned traveller who wishes to stay at a hotel with a history. Having previously stayed at the Coronado, I can boast of having stayed at two of the oldest hotels on the West Coast. It was well worth the experience for the experience's sake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Perfect choice!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: history, friendliness, and staff
Great hotel right in the middle of everything. Very clean rooms, very friendly staff and the continental breakfast was nice. I would definatley stay here again and recommend this hotel to a friend and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom encinitas,ca

Cozy!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Cozy beds! Helpful, friendly Staff! Had a wonderful time staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kenosha wisconsin

Easy access to EVERYTHING,location is perfect

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The old elegance
Cons: re-open the restaurant
The room was what we expected,it's the second hotel built,the oldest remaining one,so the floors were slanted,door didn't hang correctly, but the Wrigley mansion was our view,well half of it (the other half was a rooftop) it was quiet for us, it was clean, we had a wonderful time,and would happily go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful locaton

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Staff very friendly and accommodating, great location, antique charm. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Perfect location.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: location and staff and breakfast included.
Staff is extremely helpful, great tips of where to eat and what to do. Even replaced a battery for me. We'd come back again and stay there for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect, except for being woken by noise

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the ferry terminal and tourist attractions; fast and free wifi.
Cons: Reduce the overnight noise level.
Location: The waterfront restaurants, the Casino Theatre, the beach and the museum are all within five minutes' walk.
This place is a very easy walk from the ferry terminal and within walking distance of all the major attractions in Avalon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room facilities all fine (wifi in particular was reliable and fast) and the rate reasonable. My only problem was noise. Air conditioning is by window-mounted split units, and even if yours is off, you'll hear them running in the rooms around you. The walls are very thin, and noise in the corridors and even conversations in the adjoining rooms were all audible, and made for a broken night. If you can sleep through a high ambient noise level this hotel is perfect for a mini-break; but if, like me, you need almost total silence to sleep, prepare for a broken night if you choose to stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Very poor experience at Avalon/Catalina

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Please see above and improve the breakfast with higher quality of food
A very disappointing experience at the Glenmore Plaza Hotel in Catalina. It was my birthday and I had reserved the most affordable room for me and my wife. The whole experience lacked courtesy and satisfaction from the staff and the room. There was no air conditioning or ceiling fan in the room and the only relief was a cheap tiny fan that sat on the dresser. No where in the hotel website did it state that rooms didn't include air conditioning and the temperature in mid September reached into the low 90's. Wait, there's more, the toilet did flush but it would leak and make noise for approximately 10 minutes after every flush. There are signs all over Avalon about conserving water due to the drought. However, the hot water for the shower and the sink took several minutes to warm up. I tried to talk to the manger at the desk and he never apologized for the inconvenience nor did he try and make things right even after I mentioned that it was my birthday. His reply was the room I reserved was the basic rate and he made no attempt to at least communicate some empathy. What I also found off putting was the lack of warmth when we first checked in and when we checked out. There was no GOOD AFTERNOON or HOW WAS YOUR STAYand what could we do to make things better the next time. I found the behavior by the hotel staff to be passive and uninspired. A couple of last points have to do with the make up of the room and the continental breakfast. The bed was inches away from the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I stayed at the hotel for two nights over a weekend. Overall, the location is very convenient to shops, restaurants and the beach and the hotel is cute with amazing staff. Upon checking in, we were told that we received a room upgrade (we stayed in the Charley Chaplin Room). The room was awesome! It looked to be recently renovated and I was impressed that for an older hotel the room had so many upgrades. My only complaint was that there was not a blow dryer in the room. I understand that this is not a major hotel chain- but I have definitely become accustomed to this amenity! My only complaint for my stay is that even though the bed was super comfortable, it is almost impossible to sleep due to noise from the street that goes on until the wee hours of the morning. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel and it sounded as if the people outside were in my room with me! I suppose this will be the case with any hotel that is convenient to the beach and restaurants. Regardless, I had a great stay at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adorable older hotel a 1-minute walk to the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The staff was SOO friendly and gave excellent restaurant recommendations. Had no trouble with the noise like other people had mentioned. Very clean, comfy beds. Steps the ocean and shops. Would definitely come back!