Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I stayed at the hotel for two nights over a weekend. Overall, the location is very convenient to shops, restaurants and the beach and the hotel is cute with amazing staff. Upon checking in, we were told that we received a room upgrade (we stayed in the Charley Chaplin Room). The room was awesome! It looked to be recently renovated and I was impressed that for an older hotel the room had so many upgrades. My only complaint was that there was not a blow dryer in the room. I understand that this is not a major hotel chain- but I have definitely become accustomed to this amenity! My only complaint for my stay is that even though the bed was super comfortable, it is almost impossible to sleep due to noise from the street that goes on until the wee hours of the morning. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel and it sounded as if the people outside were in my room with me! I suppose this will be the case with any hotel that is convenient to the beach and restaurants. Regardless, I had a great stay at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adorable older hotel a 1-minute walk to the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The staff was SOO friendly and gave excellent restaurant recommendations. Had no trouble with the noise like other people had mentioned. Very clean, comfy beds. Steps the ocean and shops. Would definitely come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from temecula

Ok hotel centrally located to everything

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nice location and room was clean
Cons: Bed was ok but pIllows were unsatisfactory. Be able to provide wine glasses at request. Put hair dryers in every room.
Location: Avalon is a small area and everything is close to hotel.
Room was clean but bed comfort needs improvement.Pillows were unsatisfactory. No wine glasses available. Plastic cups only. We were not informed front desk closes down 11:30pm. In am I had to go to hotel next door to obtain hair dryer for my wife. Front desk does not open until 7am. The hotel does a continental breakfast that was decent. Staff was friendly but did not go out of their way to assist us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

It's all about location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Cons - The room #308 itself was very small, no view, bathtub jacuzzi not working, not baby friendly, all stairs, no elevator, over priced. Pros - Location and staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great place!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Zipline
Before you visit Catalina Island it would be worth you time to know what is available. It does NOT have bigger hotel chains. Everything is run on a much smaller scale.This hotel might be smaller but, it is historic with modern updates. My family stayed in two separate rooms and both surpassed my expectations. Bedroom and bathrooms were fantastic: roomy, spacious and clean, with a shower to die for. Staff was excellent. Picked us up promptly and dropped us off when we asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Great place to stay in Avalon close to beach

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, room cleanliness and comfort, price
Cons: Nothing
Location: Half block from beach/boardwalk, center of Avalon, one block from the pier and endless water activities
Beautiful, quaint, 1890's hotel with recently renovated rooms. Great location, nice staff, comfortable rooms, great prices. Will definitely seek them out on my next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encinitas, ca

Close to the beach but too loud!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We were happy to be so close to the beach here, but between the construction in the hallway right outside our room starting at 6:30am and the deliveries to the Vons store right outside our window, the noise was awful. The staff was friendly. It had a small continental breakfast of bagels, fruit, coffee and juice. The hotel had a old European feel to it but needed some updates (just not outside my door at 6:30 in the morning!) there was no clock in the room--probably so I wouldn't know what time they started working!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly. If your looking for a clean, simple place to stay at a reasonable price, this hotel is great. They offer history of the hotel (being the 2nd oldest in the state of California), complementary breakfast, shuttle service and you can't beat the location. Walking distance to everything in Avalon. Had a Great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Def going back!

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob & Gigi from San Diego

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the location of the hotel. Our room was very nice and located in front with a view of the street but it was noisy at night and we did not sleep very well. The service was great at check in and check out but totally not helpful at answering simple questions. Example: what time does the museum open? We would still go back but ask for a room in the back.