Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

The best hotel views on Catalina

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Views, location
A beautiful Victorian-esque bright pink hotel on one of Avalon's hillsides with the best (that I could tell) views of the beach and bay of any hotel in the area. It's not a modern wunderkind, but it's got all the amenities you could ask for. Our little bedroom had nice views and don't forget to check out the amazing views on the 6th floor balcony - simply breathtaking! It's within a 5-8 minute walk from the docks, which saves you in golf cart rentals or taxis, which is another plus. Overall, I can't complain - it was a nice little surprise and perfect spot for a three day getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, CA

Antique but very nice

Posted May 11, 2015
Staff was great, great service I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Greta experience, for the price it a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach

Cute pink hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Hotel was older but clean. You cannot check in early, u will have to leave ur luggages under the stairs at ur own risk, it's really crammed in. Hotel is up the hill, so coming fr the port, walk up Sumner St instead cz it's less steep if ur walking w/ luggages, near to Vons, Kids Arcade, across fr church. We left a cell phone in the room n it was nice of them to call us immediately to let us know! 6th floor view is beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Would stay there again.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Cons: The check in is not until 3:00pm but they do have a "non-secured" room where you can leave your things until it's time to check in.
Location: Its about 11min away walking distance from the arrival port. Close to restaurants and shops.
We booked this hotel because it was the most affordable at the time of searching for a hotel but that did not diminish the experience in any way. There were no pictures of this hotel available at the time of booking but once we arrived all doubts disappeared. Nice rooms, clean, comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca.

Good Value

Posted Apr 9, 2015
The Hotel staff was very friendly, the price seemed very reasonable compared to others in Avalon. The hotel is a little older and has some signs of wear on the outside, but no big deal, the inside is fine. Short walking distance to bay, stores and food. Great top floor patio with view of bay and beyond.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LOS ANGELES, CA

Up a Hilly Road, away from the Beach!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Location: It is located up a hilly road and away from the main boardwalk. Vons is located on the same street so it is a plus!
I have visited Catalina many times and this was my first time staying at this Hotel. Room was NOT worth at $191 paid for a Saturday Night stay on April 4, 2015. Check-In is at 3 PM and not a minute earlier would they allow for us to Check-In earlier. Check-Out is at 12 PM and at 12:03 PM the Maid was knocking at our Door. I will give the hotel props for allowing free storage of luggage in their "under-the-stair" closet. Only (1) guest restroom on the second floor for both men/women thus a long line for those arriving early into Catalina and not being able to Check-In. Room was bland and old. Bed was as you would expect at a motel 6. Clean overall though. Nothing fancy...a great 6 floor deck overlooking the ocean/city however closes at 8 PM...Really??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Irvine

One block away from the Beach

Posted Apr 6, 2015
In my opinion, Great Hotel to just sleep and head out for the activities. St. Lauren has very thin walls, from the ceilings to the walls. I stayed on the 5th floor ocean view with shared balcony. You could hear people mumbling and walking above you. Right above the 5th floor is there lounge, which can get really loud when people walk around. Thankfully the lounge closes at 8pm. No breakfast, they just serve complimentary coffee. The room is nice, great decor. Bathroom tile needs a little TLC. Jukuzzi was a plus. It's a block away from downtown and right down the street from Von's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach and everything else.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
It was great definitely will stay again! The hotel was clean and confortable. The staff were very friendly. It has a great view. I loved that you can walk from the hotel to descanso beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Habra, ca.

Nice, not bad if only sleeping.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Very nice old victorian hotel. Lobby is very nice and recently redone. The staff vas very nice, friendly, and courteous. The rooms however need alittle updating. The room was clean and made you feel comfortable. Very beautiful views of the bay, the hotel sits atop a hill. Old decor in the rooms and hallways kind need to be updated. Carpet alittle old also. Not bad for the price and if your not spending alot of time in your room.