Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yamandu from Montevideo, Uruguay

Standar hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: A nothing special, a standar 3 star hotel.
Cons: the service room, beds, pillows
Location: Bettween Taormina and Catania, very nice town near (Aci Castello)
They did not make the service room!!!! Nice apartment room , uncomfortable bed (2 beds joined), Room very large.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for the money. Good stop on the way nor

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Pool, view, staff
Shower was pretty gross. Floor tile was cracked. Room felt moldy. Was ok. Fflks were nice though and pool was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Debra M from Staten Island, New York

Beautiful Gem in Catania

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wish we could have stayed longer. The accomadations were well appointed, clean and updated. Beautiful oceanside room with sliding doors leading to a private patio overlooking the sea. Food was delicious and the staff was warm, wonderful, courteous, helpful, honest and trustworthy. The sea was readily accessible from the deck and totally awesome! Definitely would come back. Thank you to the staff, especially the person who found and turned in my money belt with my money, credit cards, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ga

Pleasant stay.

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the Gatatea Hotel was quite pleasant and we would consider staying there again. The pool was most enjoyable and the staff very friendly. breakfast is not too flash, but the variety of cold meats, cereals and bread are more than adequate. The room was very clean and comfortable with a nice balcony to enjoy the cool evenings. The nearby town of Aci Terazza has many good restaurants available and a very nice ocean side walk. The beaches however are mainly rock with no snady areas available. The only negatives are that the entrance driveway is quite tight to access and that the internet charges are unreasonable at 2 euros for 5 hours from time of login or 5 euros for 24 hours per device. So if you have both an ipad and iphone you can expect to pay twice as much. Given most hotels now provide free access I would not be staying at the Galatsea again due to these charges.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig from Siena italy

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is way over rated. Difficult to get to restaurants in area. This place could be much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Jun 2, 2013
The hotel is lovely! A bit out of the way and you have to walk on a main road with no sidewalk to get to the nearest town Acitrezza (which is like 800 mts away). The staff were lovely, over and above all the time. ! downside is that there is no wi-fi in the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by rene

Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is modern, no frills. Similar to motel type accommodation. The pool area is nice with decking next to the sea. Unfortunately the sea is quite rough and the bay is rocky so whilst we were there the red flag was flying. Breakfasts were only just adequate- no way 4*. There are no footpath to walk from the hotel to the nearby villages so a car is essential as the road outside the entrance is busy and dangerous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
Everything was great and friendly. I was very satisfied and I'll go back next year. Thanks to the great "Salvatore" the lifeguard and everything man.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia

Good Sea View

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. we stayed for 2 nights. Lovely pool area and decking for sunbathing. Great for kids.Breakfast was in a soulless conference room even though they had a beautiful open air terrace upstairs. Note to managment: when you live in the UK you don't want to eat breakfast indoors in Sicily.The quality of breakfast was poor with really bad coffee.also not happy to pay 5 euros each day for Wi Fi when it had been free everywhere else we travelled on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Manoela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2012 on Hotels.com