Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near historic Catania.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It was an easy walk to historic Catania with plenty of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. It was a quick drive to the airport.
Marco was friendly and helpful. He was able to speak English to recommend excellent restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from England

Good location for Central Catania

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Convenience and value for money
Staff very helpful especially with city parking problems. Good breakfast with Sicilian delicacies. Walking distance from attractions i.e. castle, cathedral and fish market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only perk about this B&B it's location very central close to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Meg from London

Great location, friendly service

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is the greatest advantage of this Hotel Etnea 316, on the main street of Catania, adjacent to the Villa Bellini. The hotel itself is basic, but sufficiently comfortable. The staff are mostly very friendly and keen for a chat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Very Happy from Australia

Terrific staff

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The B & B was very nice but it was the staff that made the stay great. The staff spoke English which made it easy and they were all friendly and helpful, especially Marco. No matter what you asked he was there to help you.
3 out of 5
by buck from Glasgow

Darkness Visible.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Location ,price, sense of humour.
Cons: Decor, layout, plumbing, internet connection.
Location: Very central location in Catania, restaurants, cafes all around. All the historical stuff too. You have to walk a long way for a supermarket though.
Stayed 8 days at hotel Etnea. Argument with member of staff when I arrived , i,d specified smoking, he said " no". I told him he had accepted the booking months before , with my smoking request therefore I was smoking. And i did too....like a chimney. The hotel is in a very old building in a very busy main st in Catania. I imagine the rooms that face the st are very noisy but the room i got only had one window ,opening into a corridor which other hotel guests pass along!!! You have to keep the shutters closed and the ( very dim) lights on at all times. With the lights out it's like a near death experience.. especially as you batter your legs off every piece of furniture in the room as you fumble and stumble your way to the bathroom in the permanent night. The bathroom was ok, very narrow but all the bits and pieces worked other than the WC which ,although it seemed enthusiastic judging by the noise it made, was often reluctant to flush away the "contents"! The shower had some black mould along the door edges which might offend some although it didn,t bother me as I have one just like it at home!! I only had the breakfast on the morning I was leaving and it was perfectly acceptable ,all the usual Continental stuff The staff are pleasant (once you,ve pointed out who is the customer) and speak English with varying degrees of proficiency. The air con is good. The internet connection is very slow . You get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Oregon

A little gem in Syracusa

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Everything except no onsite partking.
Cons: Public parking only several blocks away. However, parking was easy to find. If no free parking, then a garage paid parking 7.50 euros for the night
Location: Lots of take away eateries just outside the door. Well known puppet theater down the street with performances every other day, shopping all around.
Difficult to find but so worth the effort. Located in Ortija, the historic area of Syracusa in a narrow alley among old buildings and there's even a small piazza outside the b & b. Room immaculate with beutifully appointed ammenities. Lots of light, crisp sheets, modernized updated bathroom. Beautiful main downstairs with good wi-fi connection. Breakfast very nice with wide assortment of foods. Staff very helpful. A great value. Wish we could have stayed longer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic not a typical 3 star

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Size of room and quality of room.
Location: Excellent right in the heart of Catania.
Room was not as advertised on Internet and hotel and breakfast is quite basic and more like a 2 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted May 19, 2013
This small hotel has a great location with bus stops to Etna, train station an airport only a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roland from California

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable attractive room, attentive professional staff, very good location, all at a very reasonable price. Trip Advisor more accurate as to this hotel (#6 of 104 hotels in Catania) than Hotels.com in this instance. Thank you Hotels.com for displaying both ratings.