Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, ME

Atmospheric but dated

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location close to Etna and convenient to the autostrada.
Cons: Needs a bit of updating.
We used this hotel as our based for two nights to explore the area around Etna, Catania and Taormina; in this regard it was perfect. The place is a bit dated and the furnishing are a bit tired, but this adds to its overall charm. It is in a busy suburb located near a large shopping mall, which is a good place to hunt for food outside of the standard Italian mealtimes. It is also a short drive to the center of town where you can find all necessary services. Our rooms faced Etna, but were close to the front of the hotel and the busy road that buzzed with traffic during the day. The breakfast is sufficient and attended by staff willing to make individual coffee drinks upon request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well presented hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
We had a three night stay and enjoyed it immensely. Well presented in and outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila & Charle from Cherry Hill, NJ

Charming hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: We totally enjoyed everything about the hotel. We had a spectacular view of Mount Etna from the breakfast sunroom.
Location: We liked that the hotel was not very far from the airport, although the streets were slow so it took about an hour to get there.
We enjoyed our one-night stay in this charming hotel. The staff was friendly and the restaurants were very nice (and delicious!) for dinner and breakfast. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful. This was a lovely beginning to our holiday in Sicily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay close to Etna

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Rooftop terrace for breakfast (though we ate indoors as it was 31 October), large comfy bed, clean room.
Location: Etna, Etna, Etna!
We enjoyed our stay at Villa Paradiso. The hotel has a kind of old world charm but in a very nice way. The marble bathroom was clean and with an excellent shower. The bed was large and very comfortable. The surrounds of the hotel were very pleasant, and our room had its own terrace, though it wasn't the kind of weather for sitting out when we visited. It was ideally situated for visiting Etna and it was easy to be up the mountain by 9am the next morning. Breakfast in the roof top terrace was a lovely way to start the day and there was lots of choice of things to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by aral_sea from Gillingham, Kent, UK

Good hotel and good stay

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Location: If you want to go shopping, a big retail area (Le Zagare and I Portali) is round the corner, five minutes by car from the hotel.
The hotel is kept well. The style is something like liberty, I would say. The room we had was comfortable, with fridge filled with usual expensive small drinks (like other hotels), parquet on the floor, thick glasses in the door of the small balcony, sky on demand, bathroom in good state. On the whole the room was clean. The view of Mount Etna from the terrace where we had breakfast was spectacular. We were lucky there were no clouds for all the length of our stay. Breakfast included various juices, almond milk, slices of bread (rye bread too) and toaster, yoghurts, coffee, tea bags, green tea, croissants, cappuccinos, honey in little jars, jams, cakes (which unlike croissants weren't covered), ham, slices of cheeses...you should be able to pick something satisying your tastes. The little garden it's worth a visit. People at the reception were affable. Location of the hotel: bear in mind that if you want to go around in Sicily the best way is hiring a car (or a moped or bike). Public transports outside the main cities are poor. The hotel is situated in an area which is part of the hinterland of Catania, but urban bus lines don't get there. If you have a car, the hotel is ideal for excursions to Mount Etna, but also Taormina, the ceramic capital of Caltagirone, and Siracusa and all the other baroque towns like Noto, Ragusa and Modica. Catania town centre and Acireale are worth a visit.
3 out of 5
by MM from London

Too far

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Clean room
Cons: Reception knowledge of local trips & tours, staff helpfullness and customer care
Location: Nice shopping centers
Disappointing for the price and 4 star rating. Hotel is miles from anywhere, so car is essential.Hotel tired looking and outside cleaned just for evening local events. Pool did not seem cleanest, although a machine was used to clean. Depressing ambience, esp. in dining room. Food expensive for the quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary & Chris from Buckinghamshire, UK

A beautiful Sicilian hotel in traditional style

Posted Jun 18, 2013
We stayed for 7 nights and were very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The garden and pool area is lovely - very relaxing and the pool clean and well kept. We had a wonderful view of Etna from our room and I would recommend asking for a room with an Etna view. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service good. Internet access is good in the lounge area and a computer is provided for guests to use. For us the only down side to the location of the hotel is that there is nowhere to walk from the hotel if you want to have an evening stroll. We did however, find a nice pizzaria within walking distance of the hotel which enabled us to sample the local wines without having to drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lpm

Comfortable country house hotel overlooking Etna

Posted Apr 10, 2013
We loved the hotel. The atmosphere in the hotel is warm and comfortable, and the staff are charming, so it feels homely - country house hotel homely. The restaurant serves a four course set meal but it is possible to have only a part of it and pay accordingly. The wine was good and not expensive. We had a good view of Etna from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RK

Hard to find, but cute.

Posted Aug 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was quite the hotel in 1920....but a little tired now. The rooms are really cute and the sheets are top quality. The hotel restaurant was very good and the staff was excellent. The main problem is that the hotel is near nothing and very hard to find. Even with our GPS we drove around an extra 10 min. The street names are repetitive and the roads are difficult to navigate as they are in many parts of Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by colbourn

sites to see Taomia, mount Etna

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant stay. Staff friendly, hotel typically sicillian. Gardens and grounds tranquil.