Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from Syracuse

5 - 10 minute walk to old city centre

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Wifi was great and I downloaded series from the BBC. The continental breakfast in the cafe was good.Coffee was made to order and the staff R fantastic
Cons: They need better tourist maps.
Location: Location is great not far from many sites. The train station and bus station is two minute away. Also can get many local buses from train station.
I loved this hotel! Apparently I had one of the better rooms with French doors to the main courtyard. I was upgraded because the safe in the other room didn't work. Now I was happy with that room as it pretty much had its own courtyard, and was bigger than my last hotel room, but no where near as spacious as the one I ended up with. It was also darker and only one door onto courtyard. The courtyard i ended up with was georgous and I was the only one who sat in it. The decor of the hotel corridors were lush, blue velvet, framed beautiful velvet textured wallpaper, gold trimmings ... I loved being there. Also I felt safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alastair from New York

Good clean hotel in dirty station area

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Perhaps the best and worst thing about the hotel are the same: its proximity to the station. Unike most station hotels, this was clean, efficient.
Cons: Little I can remember.
Location: The station is two or three minutes walk at most. The Teatro Massimo Bellini is ten or twelve minutes walk, and the Piazza del Duomo another five.
I was staying two days only in Catania, arriving by train and principally interested in investigating the city centre by foot. In most respects, the Villa Romeo was perfect for this. I could wheel my large, heavy suitcase there from the station without difficulty; the staff were pleasant and efficient. Once registered, I could set off into the city, returning during the day as I chose. The room was clean and elegant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Ideal for single women

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Apart from being a nice little hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, there is a lovely feature to the downstairs rooms: They open up to a little patio, filled with flowers, benches, ashtrays (!). So, if like me, as a single woman travelling, you find the streets of Catania not very inviting by night: There is a wine-shop round the corner with very reasonable prices, so you can sit on your own patio and enjoy a lush and calm evening. Further, the hotel is just across the road from the main station, where the airport bus leaves, and about 5 minutes walking to the inter-urban bus station (though crossing roads is a special adventure in Catania....). And, not only is there free WIFI, you can also use a computer if you travel without your own laptop. Rooms are simple, but there is all you need, breakfast all right (and again, you can have it in a patio) and you hardly hear anything of the buzz of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jan from UK

Good value for money

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location. Short walk to shops. Very close to ferry port for early morning trip to Malta and a good late night bar opposite Lovely roof terrace - shame we left too early for breakfast. Staff really friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John from Milton Keynesa

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good as a base near the station for trains and buses
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Montreal, Canada

Short stay

Posted Sep 15, 2013
We got here late and left early the next morning. It was convenient for us because it was incredibly close to the train station and there was a good place to eat right across the street. Breakfast was not included. The decor of the hotel was different, but nice. Staff was friendly, although we had asked about checking the shuttle times to go to the airport and they told us it comes every 20 minutes which didn't turn out to be so. All in all, a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniele from Rome,Italy

Nice Hotel, location close to transportations

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location close to buses and cleanliness
Nice Hotel, location close to bus and railway station, nearbies a little dirty and not good to go out at night. If you are a group it's ok, but if you are a single woman traveller be careful in the evening/night. Staff very nice, room perfectly maintained and clean for a 3 stars hotel. Via etnea (downtown) is a 10' walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Val

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Pleasant hotel very handy for Catania Railway Stn.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Enclosed garden.
Cons: Disabled room allocation!!
Location: Handy for Railway station and not too far from the Duomo sector, the most interesting part of town.
Pleasant hotel very handy for Catania Railway station. Room was comfortable.Only problem was that it was a disabled room and that is not always optimal!! Lovely private enclosed garden. Great for hot nights. Breakfast good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed K from LA

Thanks for the low rate!

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Thanks for keeping my costs down.