Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

best around

Posted Jul 6, 2014
great hotel with very clean bedrooms and very quiet and staff very helpful especially during the morning breakfast which is great. Restaurant is a favourite in the area with the locals with good menu and wine selection and tv room with balcony and view is magnificent and the area with pool and outdoor eating exquisite apart from the noisy trains that pass but only about six to eight times a day and pass very quickly,apart from that its a great place but you do need a car as taxis are expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Excellent breakfast, helpful staff, lovely room. Parking limited. Location average but easy to find.
2 out of 5
by sam from ottawa, canada

NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED VERY DISAPPOINTED

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the town of Acireale
Cons: Accomodations and front desk staff
Location: restaurants and shopping
This hotel was not what we expected. We had asked for waterfront and did not get that. They put us in a wheelchair accessible room. The shower was large but water was all over the place. We asked the front desk to have someone come in to clean it up, they came and put some towels on the bed and left the water on the floor. The bed was very uncomfortable. The man at the front desk was not very helpful at all. DEFINITELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Santa Caterina

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Mostly everything
Cons: The parking would be the only slight problem but we had no issues with it.
Location: Close to Mt Etna and Taormina a very pretty village. Syracuse was not far away with the monument the Roman Park and avery nice old town area.
This was an excellent hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, the hotel reasonably quiet, clean and comfortable, we would recommend this hotel to anybody who wished to stay in this area, the included breakfast was very good and we ate in the hotel restaurant every evening which was good value and portions. One of the best hotels we have stayed in and would not hesitate to return.
3 out of 5
by Sebby from London

Nice Hotel but....

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The Restaurant
Cons: The Bar should be open
Location: The beach is far and road are dangerous for pedestrians
The Hotel is located in a nice area with a great view over the beach but it's located near a busy road. There is a nice restaurant recommended in the Michelin guide but seems that the restaurant is more important than the hotel. On Saturday, the bar is closed and there is no space for a nice drink. The option is to to near the swimming pool are in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
If you travel a lot around the east coast of Sicily then this is the hotel you want to stay in. It has a very comfortable room, a great bathroom and a nice swimmingpool (outdoor). You can feel the cosiness after a morning walk through the city of Acireale and return to your hotel and enjoy a great breakfast. After you return with your car in the late afternoon you can nicely relax in the "living room" right next to the reception and enjoy the sea view from the balcony. In case you have not eaten anywhere else by then the hotel accomodates an outstanding restaurant with great dishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marc from USA

Lovely hotel if you can find it...

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and friendly 4 star hotel that my wife and I stayed at while driving to Mt. Etna. The on site restaurant was very well run and had tasty food. Only major problem was trying to find this place and the absolute lack of parking, also nowhere near the town center and a good hour drive to Mt. Etna, but overall worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Close to all the fun in Acireale

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
After a very difficult time to get to Sicily, Santa Caterina Hotel was the beginning of a very good time in Sicily for us. It started with the front desk staff who were fluent in English. They tracked down our lougage for us (it hadn't arrived on the flight), booked us a car to rent, provided toiletries, maps, and interpretation services always with the most pleasant professional attitude. Everything was perfect once we got to Santa Caterina Hotel. The area is not known for tourism but this hotel is a gem in the very friendly town of Acireale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jen61 from UK

Great hotel in lovely Acireale

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for nine nights in June 2013. The service and facilities were great, and it has the best restaurant in Acireale - lots of locals in each evening as well as hotel guests. The food is superb, and reasonably priced. There is a lovely pool with plenty of shade and sun and the rooms have effective and quiet air conditioning. Our room had a fridge and safe. We chose to stay here rather than Taormina (for price and because it was a quieter location) and did not regret our decision. Acireale is a hidden gem, and surprisingly untouristy. The slight compromise is that the hotel is sandwiched between the railway line and a road. Neither are overly noisy or busy and if you live in a city you will barely notice them. We do, and didn't feel that our enjoyment was encroached upon at all. The town centre is 5-10 mins stroll away and the hotel towards the bottom of the hill. The incline is relatively gentle, apart from one short section, which is quite steep and would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems. All in all, highly recommended.