Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to relax, with access to anything

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything and everyone who worked here.
Cons: We went at the tail end of one typhoon and left at the beginning of another. So the weather was less than perfect, but the resort was still wonderful
Beautiful resort! Beautiful rooms, gardens, and exceptional staff. The photos that are shown are the rooms, not just a premiere or show room. All of the pictures are accurate. The staff here is always available, helpful, and friendly, but never overbearing or "in your face". I went here to unwind and was treated to a wonderful experience. If you can make your own itinerary and fun, this is the place to go! If you need to be led from one activity to another, or you expect a resort to show you how to live on vacation, maybe you should try Disneyland. I rarely write reviews, but this resort is a gem! Go if you can and enjoy. P.S. If you give the Chef a little time he will cook meals to your order. Not the menu, meals to your order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Markham

Return Trip

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Advantages of a resort without the price tab. Food is good but it is not a fast food restaurant. Try the sizzling squid and pork humba.
Cons: My only real complaint is that you need to be prepared for insect bites if you are suscepitble (hey guys it is the tropics!)
Location: You are only a £8 taxi ride to Cebu city but there are plenty of local malls closer than that. Courtesy car to beach if you want it
Alta is a small resort that I have stayed in many times. Upgrades a plenty this time, second pool air con upgrades, simplification of bfast menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dannh from Lubbock, Tx

Returning to the Philippines AGAIN

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything
Cons: I believe that the premium rooms should all have a large overstuffed chair specially for their larger guests from Abroad.
Location: you do have to travel to get to some vacation items but nothing is very far away.
if you want glitz and glamor go to the casino resorts. If you wish to be catered to by a staff and managers who make you part of their family then this is the place. The staff will do everything within their power to make sure you are comfortable from morning to night. I totally recommend this resort to anyone who wants off the beaten path but still wants to be taken care of like they are the most important person at the resort and to be greeted with a smile no matter the time of day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cebu City

Great Location

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the time we got there it was a slice of heaven. The staff was very fast with our check in and room assignment. Our room was very comfy plenty of light, loved the shower. Food was fine, staff was very friendly and helpful with all we asked of them. The natural setting of the resort was calm and peaceful. Alot of activities to do. We will be staying there again, we already miss the place. Thank you Larry for sharing your slice of heaven with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rick from perth

Serenity

Posted Mar 21, 2014
We were made to feel very welcome. The staff were fantastic, so friendly & helpful. Beautiful surrounds & very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

want to live here

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
i have left several reviews of this hotel and i think i have said everything i can ? just to recap = i LOVE this place it is great in every way , and if you are there on a sat night enjoy the grill it is well worth it ! will be going back again so see you soon larry ! whammy n whabby
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

love it

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
i personally love this place ! have stayed here a few times now and it is always great to go back . the hotel itself is approx 20 mins from airport as long as taxi driver knows where he is going ! surrounding area is ok , locals are friendly , the staff are great , very nice and helpful , food is good , rooms are nice , the gardens are beautiful , swimming pool(s) are great . hotel manager is a nice guy who will help out with any little probs that you may encounter , all in all i would recommend this hotel to anybody and everybody , and i am looking forward to my next stay there ! whammy n whabby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John and Ruela from London UK

Alta Cebu Resort - Not Quite what we Expected

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We are an English/Filipino couple and this is our 9th trip to the Phils. We have family in Lapu-Lapu. Over the past 11 years we have stayed in most hotels on Mactan island and Cebu. This hotel sadly does not tick our boxes. On arrival, virtually no lights on and not even the hotel name sign lit up. We did get an arrival drink which was a nice touch. Don't get us wrong, there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel it just wasn't quite what we expected. We stayed in a standard room and this was pretty well equipped with bath robes, coffee, kettle and fridge etc. The tv reception is poor at best and the wifi did not work from our room. It was fine by the pool and the restaurant. The bedside light kept flickering and this was because of two breaks in the mains cable, both covered with insulation tape. The air con was fine the night before but blew cold but not chilled air the following morning. The photos and the descriptions are not representative of the real hotel. The photos make out extensive green lush gardens but in reality it's smallish with plenty of different buildings in a garden setting. It might appeal to some people but it's only because we had prepaid that we stayed all 4 nights. The staff are attentive and polite and you can't fault the human factor at all. This hotel is directly under the arrival flight path for Mactan International Airport and you have jets coming in for landing at around 1000 feet over your head. We won't return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Larry, Hotel Management
We have hundreds of lights throughout the resort. For environmental reasons we turn off some of the lights after midnight. I am Larry the owner.. I live at the resort. Our TV reception- in my house and in the rooms- is the same as other nearby resorts using the only local cable company (quite good most days), but we do offer an alternative for days when the reception is not up to par. Wi-Fi is actually better than all but the best 5 star resorts, as we also offer a language school which needs the best connection, as our teachers teaches online. We have 4 Wi-Fi connections coming into the resort from the two main providers. Our monthly bill for internet runs almost $800.We also have an excellent full time guy to monitor and maintain the connection. If there is a temporary problem, the guests need only to ask out IT guy to trouble shoot the problem. I was not made aware of the problem with the light wire. It is difficult to find good maintenance in the Philippines- the standard here is to cut corners- which I instruct them not to do. Unfortunately old habits die hard and it is impossible for me to oversee every maintenance project and also run the resort. We already fixed the problem, as soon as we were made aware of it. Everything at Alta was built to American standards, with direct supervision by me. We replaced all AC units with quiet split-induction units , at 4 times the cost of normal units. I took all the photos myself. You can find hundreds at our website. No photo was doctored by the likes of Photoshop. The descriptions are actual comments by former guests and industry professionals. Our gardens are more than 2 hectares- 6 acres, the largest and finest of any resort in our class. We won the :best gardens in Cebu” classification by an industry professional in Cebu and have a wider variety (more than 300 types of plants) than any other resort. As mentioned by other guests the planes are not a bother when measured against the better value and beauty of Alta Cebu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Forrest from California, USA

Peaceful Jungle Oasis

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: SPA, pool, cool jungle landscaping, quiet, able to walk out the gates, restaurant, friendly local and longterm staff.
Cons: + half star, daily towel animals, rabbits, snake, swan, with a few hibiscus flowers etc dropped around. More candle and tiki for eve. romance
Location: I have had good snorkel trips, long trip to Whale sharks, visited guitar factory, visited seaside restaurant at expensive Maribago resort, and Bohol
I have stayed twice here and both times were excellent. I often have to visit Cebu City and Alta is a nice peaceful retreat from the Cebu City congestion. Outside the gate, Cordova does have dire poverty pervasive throughout Phil. and Cebu, but Cordova always has that feel of rural poverty where people are friendly and not the horrific poverty you find with street kids in the worst parts of Cebu City. I have always felt safe walking outside the gates and riding Jeepneys and tricycles in this area. It is nice if you want to have a measured dose of the Phil. experience. Taxis are usually meter+100 because it is off the beaten path but rarely over 250 to get anywhere including Guitar factory and Ayala. There is a new mall nearby so I was able to wave down an occasional taxi. The resort itself is very well executed. It reminds me of the swanky jungle resorts in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. The landscaping is natural, peaceful, and lush. The pool is cool but pleasant in the heat. The restaurant is romantic and quiet and the food is great and reasonably priced. Breakfast has many options(although one of my Phil. favorites - sardines is not one of them). The SPA is the best I have encountered in the Phil. but I am an ind. traveler and avoid the conglomerate owned resorts. The spa is peaceful and spiritual, and massages(2) were GREAT. There is no beach, but you can reach by taxi. Mactan does not have great beaches at most if not all resorts compared to other islands.