Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay place to stay

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It is close to the nursing home my Mom is in. It is close to good restaurants.
Location: It is close to the Coralridge Mall and University of Iowa
The hot tub was down for our stay, but it has been functional in the past. The breakfast was better this time, but the hot water was not hot. It was tepid at 8:00 a.m. The mattress was too soft for my taste. It was mostly clean, I want clean corners too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Underrated hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, good amenities, Excellent breakfast.
Very nice place to stay, pleasant experience. We discovered Culvers, a great sandwich place within walking distance from Hotel. We were impressed with Americinn and would recommend it as a cut above its rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel but loud air conditioner

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The air conditioner was very loud and would turn on every 10 minutes making it very hard to sleep. Otherwise, the hotel was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW Iowa

OK but

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: A/C bathroom vent
Location: University of Iowa
slow A/C, no working vent in the bathroom Between 1 and 10 I would give the hotel a 6.5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay, comfy beds

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The beds and friendly staff.
Cons: To be sure the rooms are at a comfortable temp after housekeeping finishes. Check the AC filters regularly, clean or change.
Location: It is right off the interstate so it is easy access to Iowa City. It is near the mall and lots of restaurants.
We wanted something off the interstate near the north part of Iowa City. We drove hours after working all day so we didn't get there until midnight and was extremely tired by the time we did. The clerk was friendly and fast on getting our room but when we walked into our room, it was musty, damp, and humid. We tried turning down the air but it didn't take the humidity out of the room. The floor even felt damp. I went back down to the desk, he promptly gave us another room. That room was better(still had that musty smell but not as bad as the first room), and as soon as we turned the air on, it started cooling down and taking the humidity out of the room. We slept great due to the beds were comfortable. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but it smelled great as we were leaving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Hotel is nice and quiet but is need of updating.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Air conditioners in the main lobby have not worked all summer (I was there multiple times throughout spring and summer) and the pool, although clean, did not have pool towels was very hit and humid in the room. The carpeting throughout the facility is old and worn and the breakfast had minimal choices and bland. I usually went out to find something else. For the price, however, it was worth it. It was clean but in need of repairs throughout. Kind people. Also, there is no printer by the computer to print boarding passes. I have stayed here for years but it is now ready for a complete remodel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
There was a strange smell in my room that made me incredibly uncomfortable. The shower head was separating from the wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LeMars, IA

Nice Room and price was right. Clean rooms.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Clean room and price was right.
Cons: Breakfast area cleaned.
Location: Close to University and all things surrounding.
Nice room, breakfast area could be thoroughly cleaned and make it more pleasing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

The nicest AmericInn we have ever stayed at!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Everything was great. Breakfast had a wide variety including fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles to make, cold cereal and more. Room was well appointed and clean. Freshly baked cookies in the lobby. Free admission to nearby health club included with your stay. Both coffee and an assortment of teas available 24 hours in lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Reasonable price for decent room

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Slept well. Comfortable & quiet room.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. In 4 days, never saw meat or scrambled eggs (had swimmer needing protein.) bananas offered only once. No skim milk.
Location: Good location for ISI State swim meet.
Staff was helpful. Had some trouble with key cards.