Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Waterloo Iowa

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: none needed
Location: church activities
I am glad we discoveredthe Clarion 6 months ago. Friendly staff, comfortable accomadations' great breakfast, good price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Cons: Let people know shuttle schedule before booking.
We thought there was 24 hour shuttles to the airport. Shuttles began at 5 am so we had to call a taxi. The first room we were given was not cleans yet so they moved us. Th hotel is very near a railroad so we heard trains at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff. They were extremely helpful.
I was only there for a short time, but everyone was very courteous and extremely helpful. The hotel was close to the business at which I had a meeting and offered shuttle services to the meeting and to the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK but not outstanding.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Airport shuttle. Dinner theatre meal was delicious.
Cons: Cleanliness. Staff at desk needs to give specific directions.
Location: Tricky to find behind other businesses. Plenty of choices for dining nearby. Airport shuttle available.
Location a little tricky. Hotel seems to be in transition. Affected some services. Appreciated the airport shuttle. Would consider stay for economy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Different Experience

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Great deal with corporate discount rate
Cons: Extend the breakfast hours from 6am to 10am (currently close at 9am) on the weekends
Location: For restaurants and shops, try the Edgewood Plaza area west of Cedar Rapids (10 minutes drive from the hotel).
Normally I stay at big chain hotels (i.e. Best Western, Holiday Inn, Marriott) for personal and business travels. But I have selected this hotel based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and Expedia. I must say this is a different experience since the hotel also serves as a conference center for major events (i.e. weddings, seminars, meetings). With all the modern amenities provided in this hotel, my stay was a pleasant one since I was able to secure a good deal in the Cedar Rapids area. The location is close to ADM (Archer Daniels Midland) company and major industries (General Mills, Quaker Oats, Rockwell Collins). The surrounding area has many fast food chains and gas stations. The hotel is also near the 6th avenue and I-380 highway leading south towards Iowa City (30 minutes drive) or north towards Cedar Rapids downtown (10 minutes drive). Overall I must say this stay has been a positive one for me in Cedar Rapids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was clean, hot tub and pool clean, and breakfast was awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dennyfrom Michigan

passing through

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hot tub was too small. Cook was late so breakfast was late getting started. Friendly front desk staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

so so, nothing to brag about.

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
You could tell the hotel was older and had been remodeled. The whole hotel could have been cleaner, main bathroom smelled horrendous. Breakfast was very instant tasting,the same every day, no fruit or yogurt, eggs didn't taste real, gravy less than desirable, and all their breads and rolls were old and hard. wasn't a bad stay but was not exceptional either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by REBECCAfrom Stockholm, Sweden

Clarion hotel and convention center- Cedar Rapids

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel needs a little renovation. But in spite of the that it was ok. Personel was helpful and the breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Cedar Rapids

good times

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fun relaxing