Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by un happy visitor from iowa

worst place ever

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible place we will never go back.
2 out of 5
by Glyfada from Kansas City, MO

Sad experience

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Facilities
Location: Convenient
Your Review Clarion Inn Amana Colonies and Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort After spending the Thanksgiving holiday with family, we decided to book Friday night in this hotel so that the children could swim and just generally have a good time before returning to school on Monday. Upon checking in (2 rooms) we found that the water park had been closed for faulty mechanics and poor water quality since 9/6/13 (this was posted on the front door leading into the lobby). This was not stated by Expedia or the link that I brought up before booking the hotel. The hotel was border line deserted and had we not already paid for the hotel through Expedia, we would have turned around and walked out. Two of the adults in our family went down to the exercise room and found not only 2 of the 5 pieces of equipment inoperable, but 4 of the 7 track lights in the room were burnt out. The water cooler was also empty and the area need cleaning. The only plus to the entire experience was that the desk clerk when we checked out, said "stay wasn't so good was it?" When I replied that she was correct, she said that the staff keep reporting the complaints to the owner, but he does nothing. She was very sympathetic. The server at breakfast was very friendly also.
1 out of 5
by sam from omaha Ne

did not stay

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Nothing, DID not stay
Cons: update there web site
They advertise that they have a indoor water park. But it is closed and has been closed for months
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very disappointed that the water park was closed for maintenance. Apparently they would have discounted the stay if we had made the reservation directly with them, but not for us having gone through hotels.com. We were also disappointed to learn that the hotels.com rate was the same rate we could have gotten on our own, except that on our own we would not have had to deal with the prepayment and 24hour cancellation notice requirement. Lesson learned.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane from Des Moines

Very disappointed

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was very disappointed with this hotel. Went to relax in pool and waterpark has been out of service since september. If we knew that would not of stayed there. They really need to do a make over on this hotel! Outside key card on door is broken, holes in walls, light fixtures in halls broke just to name a few.. Not worth the money...
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessica from Wisconsin

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was clean, but when we arrived we were told the waterpark and pool had been closed since September. We were not made aware of this prior to the fact, and probably would have gone somewhere else had we known. The attached restaurant (a 10% discount coupon was supplied) was alright, nothing I would seek out again in the future, and the waitstaff were not the friendliest of people. The shower was possibly the shortest I've ever seen... I had to bend down to use it and I'm only 5'4". Needless to say, my boyfriend was slightly annoyed by the showering experience. The provided pillows were half the size of normal bed pillows. I'm assuming the hotel just put pillow-covers on some basic throw pillows? I can safely say that in the future I will avoid any hotels bearing the name "Clarion" and instead opt for a sleeping bag on the ground... if no other option presents itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: For me the location
Location: Adequate
Good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Good room, quiet. Hard to find for us anyway as the hotel has a different name than the sign. But figured it out and was a great stay. Food and a bar in the hotel. Bartender friendly and all staff made us feel comfortable. The shopping next to the hotel was great. We will stay there again if in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Disappointed that the waterpark was closed. This was not on the website when booking our room. Location was good as we were visiting University of Iowa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Omaha

Family fun near Amana Colonies (when pool works)

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here b/c everything in Iowa City and Coralville was booked due to a Home Game. Thought the 100$ rate might be justified by the pool/water slides, but they were out of service and no break on the rate. This place is kinda near IA City and kinda near Amana Colonies, but not as close as you might like. The Seven Cities restaurant attached to this hotel was an unexpected gem though. Great food with a local flair. Made up for the busted pool.