Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service at front desk and rooms were great!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Great service at front desk and rooms were clean nice. Pool was great for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, Il

Convenient location that's near the Interstate.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Good location with a decent in-house restaurant and bar as well as two brew pubs and another restaurant within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, Iowa

Nice hotel, not close to parking.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Clean. Comfortable room.
Cons: Parking is too distant from the front door. It's a long walk for those who aren't in the best of physical health.
Location: Many eating establishments and bars.
Necessary visit for family time because of health problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We reserved 2 queen beds but got a king. Air conditioning didn't work very well either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good rooms, shady staff

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room was nice and clean, big comfy bed, nice shower. Getting into the hotel from the parking is overly complicated but the parking itself was nice.
Cons: Whomever was working the night desk needs to find a new profession or learn some manners. Room was good, the experience overall was awful.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby within walking distance, close to the Coralville strip. Plenty to do.
Hotel was advertised as FREE PARKING on Expedia-- IT'S NOT. In the fine print it says you'll be charged for parking anyway. We asked for a quiet room after driving all day and were given a room right next to a wedding party. Incredibly loud, leaving their doors open, etc. We asked to change, they tried to talk us out of it and then gave us a new room. We then had to request a fridge-- not every room has a fridge? What? The hot tub was caution taped off-- we asked what was wrong and the snarkiest hotel manager I've ever seen in my life told us it'd be at least another week due to a "chemical imbalance". Lo and behold, people were in it the next day. At least be straight with us, we get that it's not working but just making up "a week" with the snarkiest attitude ever isn't helping. To be fair, the room was very comfortable otherwise, but the staff was all around pretty bad. For this price I expect to be taken care of a little better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We agree that you should have expected more of your stay at The Coralville Marriott Hotels & Conference Center; and apologize that we were unable to deliver a better experience. Feedback such as yours is taken very seriously and we share it with our various departments so that we may find ways to improve our service. We always aim to be vigilant when responding to guest concerns. Please accept our apologies for the lapses you experienced and we truly hope for the opportunity to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Suburbs

Excellent but costly

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Pillows- I travel with pillows so I don't have 7" of foam to contend with. I could have left them at home this time.
Cons: Price
Great place, really nice - But they charge everything: for parking (in the middle of Iowa) charge for Wifi, and charge for breakfast. It makes for an expensive 9-1/2 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Seattle, WA

Never stayed at a Marriott before ...

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, the food and the conference facilities.
Cons: Free internet and breakfast.
Location: There are two restaurants prominently in front of the Marriott and two or three others close by. Other than that, the retail is nearly empty.
A Marriott was an upgrade for me (I usually stay at Hampton Inns) and I enjoyed everything except the lack of free internet and a free breakfast. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, not as formal as they are at traditional Hilton's (where I have stayed). Maybe that came from being Iowa people but it made the stay neat. They never failed to recognize me wherever they encountered me and give me a chance to ask a question or get help. Food at the in-house restaurant was really yummy so I ended up eating there all three days. Facilities were very clean and beautifully situated on the Iowa River and a walk a way from the underdeveloped retail in front of the hotel. Overall, if someone else were paying, I'd definitely go for this Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dufus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but overpriced for what you get.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Nice pool, and grounds
Cons: Wifi in rooms. Minimum continental breakfast.
Pleasant rooms and surroundings, but surprised us that there was no wifi in the rooms. Parking was extra, and no breakfast. Pillows were flat, but beds were comfortable. Seemed pricey at $200.00 per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the review. We're thrilled to hear that you overall experience was a success however we are very sorry that you were disappointed in our amenity offering. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have any parking facilities; however have been able to work with the garage to add the charge to the hotel room bill for convenience. Please note that for future reference, complimentary wifi is available in our lobby. You are correct that complimentary breakfast is not available, however we do offer a wonderful menu in Edgewater that most guests are very happy with. As for your pillows, we are sincerely sorry. Plush Marriott bedding is a standard at all full service properties. Should this ever happen again, and we hope that it does not, we hope that you will contact our front desk immediately so that we may correct your bedding issue. Once again, thank you for visiting and we hope to see you very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from R. Chicago, IL

Wedding stay

Posted May 18, 2014
Nice hotel. Sunday was a bit hectic due to a large church group event