Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Cons: There is nothing I would change.
I didn't expect much given that it was Cedar Rapids, IA, but I was very impressed. It would be considered nice in any city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great location. Several restaurants, museums and nightlife surrounds the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankeny, IA

Nice new hotel.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
This hotel was new and clean and very nice. I liked that they had room service and the food was good. I used the fitness room. Nice but small like all hotel fitness rooms. I didn't like that there was no free parking. 20 dollars a day for valet or 75 cents an hour at the parking garage across the street. For as new as this hotel was, the bed seemed cheap and not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Comfort and affordable

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See previous statement.
Location: The NewBo for the Arts was taking place downtown with festivities, a half marathon/10k run, music, arts etc. lots of community. Pretty cool.
We were visiting family in Cedar Rapids IA and needed a place to stay for the weekend. This doubletree had been refurbished last May and reopened from the 2008 flood. It is a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff and helpful. Very clean. Close to everything. There are two things I'd like to see at this hotel: a whirlpool in the pool area and a more family friendly restaurant (price wise). Overall it's a beautiful place to stay. We would choose this hotel again. Oh yeah, delicious cookies upon arrival!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, IL

Cedar Rapids Labor Day Weekend Visit

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Downtown location
Cons: Add a hot tub!! Free wifi and breakfast would be nice, especially when other nearby nice hotels all have it.
Location: Bars, pubs, restaurants, and the river all within walking distance. Sadly, the two theaters with plays and the best places to eat were all closed.
My girlfriend and I live in central Illinois. We like to travel and explore. Cedar Rapids was about 3 1/2 hrs away, so we decided to go visit for the weekend. We ended up selecting the DoubleTree for our stay. Great location! It's right downtown. So no complaints there. Very nice, very clean hotel. Would I stay there again though? Nope! Things I did not like about the hotel: No parking. Had to park on the street, which honestly wasn't that big of a deal. No meters on the weekend. No free breakfast. OK no huge deal. NO HOT TUB! Blah. No free wifi. What?! 3 1/2 star hotel that was a disappointment. If I go back I'll stay at the Country Inn & Suites. Cheaper, has free parking, free wifi, a HOT TUB, and even free breakfast... very nice 3 star hotel! Heck, or even cheaper yet the Fairfield Inn has all the same and is a 2 1/2 star hotel. But I'd probably pick he Country Inn. If a direct downtown location is a must, the DoubleTree is OK. Otherwise stay elsewhere. And really, with the lack of traffic in this city, staying just outside of downtown is no big deal at all. Oh and the beds! Most nicer hotels have a king single or a double queen. King singles were booked, so we got a double.... two full beds. They were tiny. We had to sleep in separate beds. Beds were at least comfy though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

New modern hotel in the heart of downtown,

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The restaurant staff were extremely polite and helpful.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: All the restaurants and bars downtown were within easy walking distance.
The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The restaurant food was excellent and the staff there was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

VIP

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe curbside......wasn't marked very well where to park to check in.
I felt like I was a VIP from the moment I checked in. Beautiful hotel and excellent staff!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very pretty affordable hotel. Only annoyance was the frequent trains that chugged by the building. Luckily, I was on an upper floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: clean, great location (to hospital etc.) Staff was very good except for one front desk clerk with a VERY heavy accent
I requested a handicapped accessible room due to my girlfriend having surgery and needed easy access to the shower. the room (at $144.00 a night) was very small and didn't even have a table to eat on for one let alone two . I have stayed at many less expensive hotels over the years and have paid much less for much more room. No refrigerator, mini bar, shower leaked water over entire floor of bathroom , TV control work once in awhile with no guide or pay per view movies. No where to purchase snacks other than the "Pantry" where there were an odd assortment of items at a very inflated rate. When I asked about local places to eat dinner I was refereed to the interactive screen in the lobby which listed a couple of local places but decided to take a walk and found several within 3 blocks that were not listed. If it wasn't so close to St. Lukes and Doc. office I would stay somewhere else (and of course the freight train running by on a regular basis blowing horns all night didn't help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
very happy with all aspects we partook of. Will stay again if in area. Sorry were only in town 1 night.