Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Quiet

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Clean and quiet hotel near the university and adjacent to a nice Asian restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything for a relaxing weekend retreat!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
We wanted to get away from the responsibilities of our business, and spent one night at this hotel. It felt like we had left the state for a warm and relaxing climate. The hotel is so pretty and everything is so clean. The bed was as comfortable as the expensive hotels we have used. The breakfast was probably the best we have ever had in a hotel. There was a choice for everyone's taste. We have already recommended it to family and will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best value for money you can ever find

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Great location close to UI campus, very new and clean rooms, great gym and swimming pool, polite staff
My wife and I stayed at Hampton for 6 nights on our visit to Iowa City and I was absolutely impressed with this hotel. My expectations were pretty high considering previous reviews, but they were definitely exceeded. This place is better than some 5-star hotels that I have stayed at. The room was extremely clean, the staff were very polite. There is a great gym equipped with high quality machines and a nice swimming pool The breakfast buffet was decent. Generally, at that price, you normally do not expect to find something of such quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near everything!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Friendly staff, comfy bedding. We enjoyed the complementary lobby amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brent from Des Moines, IA

Great hotel close to University of Iowa Hospitals

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Tops in staff of all hotels we have stayed with. Location was perfect. Room was fantastic!
Cons: The Saturday morning breakfast could have been served a bit longer since we were late rising. The breakfast server was in a bit of a hurry.
Location: University of Iowa hospitals and athletic facilities are right next door. Any of Iowa City's attractions are just a short drive away.
Staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. My wife is disabled and I am hearing impaired. Staff were very aware of our needs and gave us exactly what we needed. When we needed an extra night's stay it was granted willingly and they provided with the extra towels we needed as a result. Beds were very comfortable, sheets were clean, the room smelled good. Our last stay at a different hotel, the beds left all of us with backaches, the rooms had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The contrast to Hampton Inn was profound! I would really recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Close to University

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel common areas were clean and relatively new. Convenient location. Rooms were comfortable with plenty of amenities (microwave, refrigerator, etc.) Breakfast buffet was not well stocked and ran out of food every morning. Went to events hungry or stopped for fast food. Cleaning staff generally did not clean rooms until very late in the day and cleaning was not thorough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MJ from western Iowa

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. I especially think the beds at Hampton Inn are comfortable.
Cons: If I had one complaint, it would be that we had trouble regulating the temperature of our room. Seemed it was either too warm or too cold.
Location: Great location. Easy to get downtown, and easy to get to the U of Iowa campus.
We have always loved Hampton Inns, and this one met our expectations. It was clean, comfortable, and attractive. Right next to a Village Inn and not too far from downtown or our destination, a hawkeye basketball game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dee from Iowa City University area

Hotel stay for five days

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Wi Fi, kid friendly convenient, breakfast
Cons: HOUSKEEPING
Location: n/a to my needs
There were some very good things about my recent stay. and a few that were disappointing The staff at the front desk were all excellent at all times. The breakfast on a whole was very accommodating and convenient, most appreciated and especially in the bad weather. I would stay with you again if I am in the area. A few things regarding the breakfast and hot foods that were disappointing - the waffle iron was very difficult to prepare, the egg tray was always empty and not refilled for the later guests. The fruit tray was also usually low and little in supply. The kitchen staff was less friendly and appeared disinterested to assist as me. So you were on your own. And the coffee was not really that good,. The room although overall was clean and the housekeeper came each day, ....it appeared she never vacuumed and left behind trash items on the floor. This was the only thing that disturbed me the most. I assume that is a basic housekeeping task.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: This hotel is new and very clean. The rooms are nice, and the beds were very, very comfortable.
Cons: The location leaves a lot to be desired, unless you like shopping at Staples or eating at Village Inn. The location is in a 'to be developed' area.
Location: As noted, the location leaves a lot to be desired. It is in an area designated to be developed, and will be nice in several years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by portwaikato2000 from New Zealand

clean, comfy and super friendly!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Awesome staff, who were very helpful and welcoming. This hotel is quite new and very clean and well kept. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. We were a family of four and we think it was good value for money. Free breakfast also very good.