Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than last year but still not 3-star

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Room was cleaner than last year. (I reserved the room without knowing it was the same place.) Fingerprints and hair in bathroom. Fridge and heater still noisy. Nice pillows.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Roll the Dice

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were great and very helpful and professional.
Cons: Renovate the entire place with a new, modern design.
Location: Get thee to Iowa City.
Chose one the anonymous roulette selection engines on the internet which promised a three star hotel. Wrong! The Coralville Holiday Inn is NOT a three star joint. More like two. Everything is pretty worn down and antiquated. The hall design is straight out of The Shining. Long twisting hallways and stairways that emerge and disappear. Its interconnected with another hotel so there are dueling reception desks if you take the wrong turn. The restaurant is pretty weak and the breakfast burrito was tasteless and greasy at the same time. The one redeeming feature was the very helpful and efficient staff working there. Wouldn't stay here again-or do the search engine roulette. From now on, I pick.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Midwest

Smoking

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was fine. Frustrated that i purchased a non-smoking room but was placed in a smoking room even after a comversation at the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Coralfrom Illinois

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed my stay here! Comfortable beds, perfect pillows and great customer service. Definitely would stay here again. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mika Degoey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn and Brianfrom Holiday Inn Corelville

dont stay in room 408

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you stay here avoid room 408. We stayed here before attending a game the next day. It rained for a few hours starting at around midnight. After that we had water dripping from the ceiling on our heads the rest of the night. Needless to say after enduring that and having to drive 5 hours to get home the next day we were not happy. After all we hardly got any sleep because of water splashing in our face all night. The hotel was not bad but if you stay in the 4th floor beware you may have to endure water dripping on you all night if it is raining. Also the restaurant that is attached to it is overpriced and the food is mediocre at best. Bottom line i will never stay here again. Next time we will be staying at the Marriott or the Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Aug 26, 2014
It was a memorable stay in the hotel and its very close to the shopping mall and eating places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Momfrom Illinois

Disappointed

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel shared a pool and that was not in the description. The rooms were crowded and bathroom tiny. The sink and cabinet was much to big for the bathroom. I thought holiday inn's were much nicer than this one. I will not be picking a holiday inn
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Good location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: location and staff
The location is good. The hotel staff was nice. The carpets throughout needed to be replaced as they were bubbled up in places in the hall. The carpet in the room was dirty and needed cleaned as it left my baby's feet dirty. There was a lamp that needed to be replaced as well since it had to be propped up against a chair in order to stay standing. Also, some of the key pads needed to be replaced since they didn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Shower, No Refund

Posted Aug 4, 2014
A pipe burst in the hotel and my room did not have water in the shower in the morning. I asked for a refund, but was instead offered a free breakfast saying they should not give me a refund for something 'beyond their control'. I insisted on a refund and was finally told they could not give me a refund since I booked through Expedia and not directly with them.