Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The whole hotel smells of cigarettes. The floor in our room was sticky and when I told the staff they said it was because the carpets were just cleaned. I was then told by another staff that they were not cleaned for a few weeks. They offered me towels and sheets to lay on the floor to avoid stepping on the carpet. The plastic covering the cups in the room had holes in them. I questioned whether anything in the entire hotel was clean. Worse holiday inn I have ever stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable interstate location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Stayed for one night in this hotel in a room with two queen beds. The front desk workers, both when we arrived and left, were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, except from some hairs on the shower wall. The beds were comfortable, clean and had a lot of pillows. I did unplug the refrigerator in our room for the night because we weren't using it and it was very loud. We didn't make much use of the facilities, but I appreciated its location as an easy to find place right of the interstate so that we could take off quickly the next morning for our final destination.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

Busy hotel-

Posted May 11, 2014
Liked hotel except room location hard to get to. No breakfast, and connected to another hotel-workout facility was a Joke!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to university facilities

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Requested room for 3 adults. Third adult had uncomfortable sleeping arrangements
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Omaha NE

Hotel is nice - close to the interstate.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Easy.
Cons: It's ok - it seemed older so unless they rebuild there's not much that could be done.
Location: Fast food was about a mile south. University of Iowa was about 10 minutes away.
Hotel is nice - fairly basic. Doesn't look that great from the outside - but lobby was modern/clean. Hallways felt like an older hotel but the rooms were realtively modern. I wouldn't spend a fortune to stay here - but it was a good stay. Staff was very kind to us on check in and check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natasha

Good time

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: the staff and my bed, tv :)
Cons: the Bar need a lot of improvement.....big money maker that they are losing out on.
Location: prime location to the mall, and food
I enjoyed my visit. All the staff member where nice and helpful. I was in need of directions to the Black Stone resturant and he printed out direction! The beds were way comfortable, but the only thing I didn't care for was the lounge...they don't have a great selection of alcohol, and even see a couple leave because they didn't have UV vodka....let alone any flavored selection. Also they need to have the bar tender stick to the original ways in making drinks. He made a bloody mary for a guy at the bar and put Genuis and Bud Light in it.....the guys was not happy but choked it down. I think they could make a lot more money if they had the right stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Jenny from Chariton

Great overall hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed the staff at the Holiday Inn, they were friendly and helpful. When we checked in our room that he gave us keys to actually had people in it still. We went back and told him, he gave us a free bar drink coupon for the inconvenience. My only complaint was that there were approximately 10-15 kids in the pool that were being very rude. They were splashing water everywhere, making loud noises with the pool noodles, and in the hot tub. There was one other couple there besides my bf and I, we all ended up leaving. We waited about 45 minutes hoping someone from the front desk would come and put an end to it, did not happen. Even though there is a sign in the pool area that says "no horseplay" they do not enforce it. When I got back to our room I did call the front desk and tell them about our bad experience. He stated that he would get someone down right away to take care of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by D from Iowa

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was nice and warm when got there, single digits outside. Had trouble with opening side door with key card. Front desk was very nice, prompt, and easy to understand. Had a cot and was delivered within 20 min. Had plenty of room. Would go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for Iowa City stay

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine for what we needed it for. We came in for a football game, so it was close enough to the campus, decently priced. The beds and pillows were rather hard and the setup of the hotel is a little odd. I'd stay here again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for access to University of Iowa

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Room was clean, staff friendly. It was a great location for us to get to the Mayflower dorm at the University of Iowa