Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to University
Cons: A little pricey for the room quality.
Front desk staff very friendly and helpful - prompt answers to our questions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in the heart of Iowa city close to Univ

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I booked my reservations on expedia.com and apparently the hotel has to access their expedia account and re book the reservations themselves before they are official. I checked in to find that my reservations were not confirmed by the hotel and my room was not available. I showed the confirmation email from expedia and they offered me a king room with a pull out futon. I didn't realize they upgraded my room to a deluxe which was a fantastic view of the city. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. However issues with the toilet backing up; however, maintenance was very timely and efficient. All in all a good experience. I was taking my daughter on a tour to see university of Iowas campus for potential college placement So if your in to see th University kinda pricey but for 1 night definitely worth it. Rooms were immaculate despite the toilet folly. Very pretty and just step outside and you are immersed in several cute shops and restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Polarizing experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We stayed 4 nights at hotelVetro for a wedding. It was our first time in Iowa City, the location of the hotel was perfect. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. And our room was beautiful. The ventilation is really loud, but the in room one you can just leave on during the day and turn off at night. There was huge fans outside that spun throughout the night, but i'm a light sleeper. The low point was the maid service, it very hit or miss. First day, we had barely any toilet paper, so i called the front desk to ask for some, and it took 4 hours to get there, luckily there wasn't any rush. They knocked on our door the next morning to clean the room but we had JUST received the in-room breakfast, so i told her to come back in an hour, and she never did. Then we didn't hear from them again. The next morning, no knock. So i asked a cleaning lady in the corridor to clean our room when she passes by. She did, but that was far from cleaning, tidy a little bit, remade the bed without changing the sheets even if I left the notice that we are given if we want them to do it. It could be a top notch hotel, but a lot of issues are holding it back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie

Comfortable, modern hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the in-room amenities.
Cons: The air-conditioning units work well but can be a bit loud.
Location: The hotel borders a pedestrian mall that is lined with shopping and casual dining facilities.
I stayed at this hotel while attending a summer conference at the University. The location is excellent. Easy walking distance to university facilities and surrounded by eating and shopping facilities. This is a boutique-style hotel with modern design and furnishings. The rooms are very spacious, and have a kitchenette with refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, and dishwasher. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zlinguist

Good place - very contemporary

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great to be able to walk to many different restaurants and to walk around the neighborhood. The hotel is chic and fun. We got a special perk 'romance package' with champagne, rose petals, cheese, and chocolate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom and Mary from Iowa

Cannot recommend

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was not what we expected. We were on a lower floor with a view of the side of a parking garage. We heard outside noise all night long especially sirens. The furnace was very noisy when it came on and ran. Kept us up all night. The TV did not face the bed. Had to physically move the tv and the table it was on to face the bed. TV did not swivel. Will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

overbooked and comped a room in another hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Sheriton, supposedly our room was flooded? so they gave a room at the Sheriton. The people were great about ensureing we had a place to stay, but the Sheriton is not as nice as the Hotel Vetro. I got the feeling that they had overbooked the hotel, as there was a wedding there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary Nixon from Iowa City,Ia

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got the room at the Vetro for my daughters wedding night. When they arrived they said there was a pipe problem and they had to move them to the Sheraton which was next door. They gave them a room with two queen beds for their wedding night. Brie said they were not very helpful. I am disappointed. Thanks Mother of the Bride Mary Nixon