Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Polarizing experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We stayed 4 nights at hotelVetro for a wedding. It was our first time in Iowa City, the location of the hotel was perfect. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. And our room was beautiful. The ventilation is really loud, but the in room one you can just leave on during the day and turn off at night. There was huge fans outside that spun throughout the night, but i'm a light sleeper. The low point was the maid service, it very hit or miss. First day, we had barely any toilet paper, so i called the front desk to ask for some, and it took 4 hours to get there, luckily there wasn't any rush. They knocked on our door the next morning to clean the room but we had JUST received the in-room breakfast, so i told her to come back in an hour, and she never did. Then we didn't hear from them again. The next morning, no knock. So i asked a cleaning lady in the corridor to clean our room when she passes by. She did, but that was far from cleaning, tidy a little bit, remade the bed without changing the sheets even if I left the notice that we are given if we want them to do it. It could be a top notch hotel, but a lot of issues are holding it back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie

Comfortable, modern hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the in-room amenities.
Cons: The air-conditioning units work well but can be a bit loud.
Location: The hotel borders a pedestrian mall that is lined with shopping and casual dining facilities.
I stayed at this hotel while attending a summer conference at the University. The location is excellent. Easy walking distance to university facilities and surrounded by eating and shopping facilities. This is a boutique-style hotel with modern design and furnishings. The rooms are very spacious, and have a kitchenette with refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, and dishwasher. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vG from IL

Great Getaway

Posted May 11, 2014
A little hard to find parking just to check in - we circled the block several times just looking for a place to pull over so we could register. Long-term parking was a little easier with a ramp at the end of the block. $12 for the night. Staff very helpful. Chris was very welcoming, with great recommendations and answers to our questions. Room was spacious but you can see the wear and tear in the hallways and room furnishings. Love the floor to ceiling windows. Love the idea of the decor. Great kitchen options if you need to stay longer. Perfect location for campus events, restaurants, and music. We walked everywhere, lots of latenight options in the area. The AC and outdoor noise was a little distracting but the room, staff, and location was exactly what we wanted. Iowa City has a lot going on and this hotel fits well in the heat of the fun.VG
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, modern, well priced hotel in NYC

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean look and colors, price, location
Location: Close to Time Square, great central location
Stayed two nights in room with kingsize bed. Room are small but well arranged and appointed. Everything worked well. The design is pleasing and relaxing, a nice thing after a busy day in NYC. I was staying alone in the room so I do not know how the room feels for 2 people but I assume it is still comfortable. The A/C worked well. The mattress was really comfortable. I was on the 27th floor and noise level was not a problem at all. The elevators are super efficient. Staff was pleasant and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marty from Kansas City/Minneapolis

Best place to stay in Iowa City, IA

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Location. Modern design.
Location: Great location for coffee, restaurants, and business with the University of Iowa.
Another good experience in Iowa City at Hotel Vetro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Did not pat attention to the details. Average at b

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Deferred maintenance in the room with broken handles, chipped accessories and holes in the washcloths. The room was extremely cold when we arrived and the heater kicked out ceiling air that was so loud it was difficult to sleep. This place has decor that tries to be hip, but it is not worth the money. Poorly executed boutique hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick access to all things in Iowa City

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Modern. Comfy bed.
Cons: Could hear street noise occasionally, but what do you expect when you're staying at a hotel in a downtown area?
Located right on the Ped Mall. Great shopping and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Des Moines

A Gem

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Totally impressed. Floor to ceiling windows, great bed with chaise and sofa, full refrigerator with micro and stove top, polished concrete floors with large, warm area rugs in living area. The hotel is very modern and the art work is intriguing. Perfect access to bars and restaurants, and the parking (11:00) is right next door. Great market with local food and extensive wine and beer next door. Fantastic hotel and a great buy on hotels.com.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Frank from Ankeny, IA

affordable high-rise luxurious stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
outstanding accommodations for a very affordable price - the wife wants some of your features for our home