Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to University
Cons: A little pricey for the room quality.
Front desk staff very friendly and helpful - prompt answers to our questions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in the heart of Iowa city close to Univ

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I booked my reservations on expedia.com and apparently the hotel has to access their expedia account and re book the reservations themselves before they are official. I checked in to find that my reservations were not confirmed by the hotel and my room was not available. I showed the confirmation email from expedia and they offered me a king room with a pull out futon. I didn't realize they upgraded my room to a deluxe which was a fantastic view of the city. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. However issues with the toilet backing up; however, maintenance was very timely and efficient. All in all a good experience. I was taking my daughter on a tour to see university of Iowas campus for potential college placement So if your in to see th University kinda pricey but for 1 night definitely worth it. Rooms were immaculate despite the toilet folly. Very pretty and just step outside and you are immersed in several cute shops and restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Polarizing experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We stayed 4 nights at hotelVetro for a wedding. It was our first time in Iowa City, the location of the hotel was perfect. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. And our room was beautiful. The ventilation is really loud, but the in room one you can just leave on during the day and turn off at night. There was huge fans outside that spun throughout the night, but i'm a light sleeper. The low point was the maid service, it very hit or miss. First day, we had barely any toilet paper, so i called the front desk to ask for some, and it took 4 hours to get there, luckily there wasn't any rush. They knocked on our door the next morning to clean the room but we had JUST received the in-room breakfast, so i told her to come back in an hour, and she never did. Then we didn't hear from them again. The next morning, no knock. So i asked a cleaning lady in the corridor to clean our room when she passes by. She did, but that was far from cleaning, tidy a little bit, remade the bed without changing the sheets even if I left the notice that we are given if we want them to do it. It could be a top notch hotel, but a lot of issues are holding it back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie

Comfortable, modern hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the in-room amenities.
Cons: The air-conditioning units work well but can be a bit loud.
Location: The hotel borders a pedestrian mall that is lined with shopping and casual dining facilities.
I stayed at this hotel while attending a summer conference at the University. The location is excellent. Easy walking distance to university facilities and surrounded by eating and shopping facilities. This is a boutique-style hotel with modern design and furnishings. The rooms are very spacious, and have a kitchenette with refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, and dishwasher. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a very nice stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by DeMa from Oklahoma City

Unfortunately a disappointment

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We selected the Hotel Vetro based on recommendations and descriptions on the website. The first room we had that was supposed to be a lovely room overlooked the parking garage and was dirty. So we moved. The second room was attractive, the bed was comfortable, the balcony had a nice view. While noise was annoying over the weekend, we turned up our TV to drown it out and had restful nights. We chose the hotel because my husband planned a Mothers' Day breakfast that would be possible because of the advertised kitchen. Unfortunately we were sorely disappointed. The kitchen was equipped with one plate, one fork, one dirty glass in the dishwasher - no pots, pans, or other cookware. We learned well into our 3 day stay that we had to order these things if we wanted them. The furniture had lots of stains - I don't like to think about what they were. There were beer cans and cigarette butts on the balcony. The floor of the room was not clean. Coffee/tea, lotion, etc. were never replaced. And the final blow came when we returned to our room Sunday evening at 10:30 to learn that our room has not been made up at all! Trash and towels remained from Saturday am. We truly expected more from a rather pricey boutique hotel and disappointed that it didn't contribute more to our celebration. Hotel management requested feedback via personal e-mail, which I sent. As yet I have received not response. We will not be returning to the Hotel Vetro when we visit Iowa City again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ed from Chicago, IL

Modern hotel in heart of downtown

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great modern hotel in downtown Iowa City. My wife and I spent a weekend night to see a show at the Englert Theater. The room was great. It had a balcony, kitchen, modern bathroom with a tub, and comfortable king sized bed. I'd recommend getting the city view rooms, since our rooms faced the parking garage and HVAC units. In addition, the sound proofing was not great either. We were easily able to hear the drunk students outside on the balcony and roaming the halls late at night. The hotel does enforce quiet time after 11:00 pm, however this is a college town so do expect some noise on the weekend. We called to complain about loud noise at 2 AM and this was addressed swiftly, so that was a plus. Overall, great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vG from IL

Great Getaway

Posted May 11, 2014
A little hard to find parking just to check in - we circled the block several times just looking for a place to pull over so we could register. Long-term parking was a little easier with a ramp at the end of the block. $12 for the night. Staff very helpful. Chris was very welcoming, with great recommendations and answers to our questions. Room was spacious but you can see the wear and tear in the hallways and room furnishings. Love the floor to ceiling windows. Love the idea of the decor. Great kitchen options if you need to stay longer. Perfect location for campus events, restaurants, and music. We walked everywhere, lots of latenight options in the area. The AC and outdoor noise was a little distracting but the room, staff, and location was exactly what we wanted. Iowa City has a lot going on and this hotel fits well in the heat of the fun.VG
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jean B from Chicago

Conveniently located in downtown Iowa City

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We loved the retro feel to the room and the full refrigerator and cooktop in the room were great additions. Staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com