Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect location close to campus

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful
Cons: nothing
Location: Easy to get to and away from traffic
We went to Hawkeye Football game and coming back to the room was awesome. Quiet and peaceful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tawnifrom Fairfield, IA

WHAT A FIND!!! excellent coffee and breakfast!

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Plum grove exceeded my expectations in every way. It was comfortable and luxurious! Perfect for my "mom-cation" aka: "mama needs some time for her self" getaway! I was in IC to see a show at the Englert. Plum Grove is about 1 mile from downtown in a nice quiet neighborhood, a perfect distance to be able to walk and then cab back in the evening. Shelly, the proprietress, was a gracious and kind hostess, very present and knowledgeable when needed but not at all intrusive. She suggested a great Italian restaurant for me to dine at prior to the show that evening. The breakfast she crafted the next morning was AMAZING! Served in her wood paneled antique style but new dining room, it consisted of: a fresh fruit smoothie, fruit cup with a gazillion different types of the freshest fruit and whipped cream!, baked french toast with pecans and CARAMEL sauce! AND the coffee was perfect. People, you know it's going to be good if they have the coffee totally dialed! I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are looking for a clean and quiet place with lovely decor, luxurious amenities (claw foot bathtub!) and delicious breakfast and coffee. Far better than what I would have found at any of the local hotels....The only possible issue I could foresee is that the beds are queen size so if that is too small for you then might not be the best fit. For me it was perfect! I can't wait to come back again! They also have a lovely 2nd story outdoor deck area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very suite bed and breakfast in Iowa City

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful private bathroom part of the deal, and comfy bed. Quiet.
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: It is about a 25minute walk from downtown and away from the University. I felt very safe doing that in the early evening by myself, however.
Beautiful home, new construction but Victorian feel. The Lydia room is beautiful. The breakfasts were just delicious. There is cable and Wi-fi in the rooms. Shelly (sp?) was a wonderful hostess. It has a very romantic feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 33-year Hawkeye

Comfortable and delicious

Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Best night of sleep in Iowa City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Diane

Wonderful find!

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a charming bed and breakfast located less than five minutes from the U of I and downtown Iowa City but nestled in a lovely quiet neighborhood. The room was quaint, lovely and quiet and the breakfasts were to die for! The owner is very friendly and helpful with answers to any questions about the area. I loved staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisafrom Milwaukee

Iowa City gem

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: Beautiful home, well taken care of, clean and inviting.
Cons: Can't lock room door with a key
Location: Residential street. Quiet and lovely
Wonderful inn run by wonderful people! Beautiful home with a great story and modern conveniences. Only "negative" is that the room door only locked from the inside and couldn't be locked from the outside. This could be a true security risk for some people. Would come back--no doubt about it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Just like Home

Posted Oct 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay! The place put as at ease and it felt like home. We went up to Iowa City for a funeral, and really needed a quiet and comforting atmosphere. We booked the architect suite and it was all we could ask for. The entire place was very quiet. The breakfast food was to die for, simply delicious! We will definitely stay there again when in town. I think it would be a great romantic get-a-way, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Delightful!

Posted Sep 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
This was our first B&B experience and it was a pleasure! We were in town for a sporting event and we didn't want to stay in a hotel, so we decided to try out a B&B. It was great! The owners were very attentive to our needs. From the moment we arrived until we left, they were warm and welcoming. Their attention to detail was very much appreciated. From the cookies, jellybeans, and water in the foyer to the edible flowers on a breakfast plate, they demonstrated their love for their establishment and their desire to please. Breakfast was a real treat with a homemade, organic, 3-course feast. They explained every item and how it was prepared in as much detail as we wanted. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and comfortable. They even gave us a tour of the other rooms so that if we visit Iowa City again, we know what to ask for. The other rooms were equally impressive. Without hesitation, we would stay there again!