Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha

On the way to Chicago

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Hotel was very clean, and the people were very friendly. Pretty good value for the price. Would have liked to stay when the weather was warmer to take advantage of all the outside activities.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom austin, tx

HORRIBLE

Posted Sep 13, 2014
WAS THE TRASHIEST HOTEL AND SMELT AWFUL. COULDNT PAY ME TO GO BACK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ashleefrom Cedar Raipds, IA

Great experience!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I took my daughter and her sister ages 5 & 6 and this was the perfect place for them!! They had a blast & the waterpark was just the right size for them to be able to do their own thing & I could see them the whole time. Everything was very clean and well taken care of and the staff was very friendly... I also loved the neighborhood!!! All around great experience - thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ashlee, thank you for your feedback and visiting our hotel. Please come back soon! We hope to have extended hours shortly for our waterpark.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

terrible experience

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awful...spent $400 for 2 rooms for 2 nights and the pool was only open from 3pm to 6pm 1 day. Water slides were not working and arcade was down. Hotels or Hotel.com should make people aware of this when booking. Will never go back to this resort. All food places close by 8pm. who does that??????
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler, we appreciate your feedback and we apologize for your bad experience at our property. Since new ownership has taken over at the end of July, our property is going through a lot of renovations and that is why the arcade is closed. In addition, since our property is located in a small town, all nearby eateries close pretty early, depending on the foot traffic. Our restaurant is open until 9pm daily. We will address the water park hours and arcade renovation through Hotels.com ASAP. Again, we apologize for the experience you had and will continue to enforce and strive for high levels of customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
was pleased with our stay . only drawback was big water slide was shut down for maintenance the two days we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler, thank you for your visit and your feedback. Our slides are fully operational now, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Please come back soon and we apologize for the maintenance issue during your stay. Thank you and take care.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Papafrom Ohio

Huge Disappointment

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Planned trip around this waterpark without any word that it was closed since September. Had two 9 year-old grandsons with us to show them my Iowa home growing up. We were all wiped out by the news as we showed up in our bathing suits ready to enjoy the lights out waterpark on the other side of the locked glass doors. Ou granddaughters loved it when we were there a few years ago. Why couldn't someone have let us know???
1 out of 5
Recommended
by un happy visitorfrom iowa

worst place ever

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible place we will never go back.
2 out of 5
by Glyfadafrom Kansas City, MO

Sad experience

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Facilities
Location: Convenient
Your Review Clarion Inn Amana Colonies and Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort After spending the Thanksgiving holiday with family, we decided to book Friday night in this hotel so that the children could swim and just generally have a good time before returning to school on Monday. Upon checking in (2 rooms) we found that the water park had been closed for faulty mechanics and poor water quality since 9/6/13 (this was posted on the front door leading into the lobby). This was not stated by Expedia or the link that I brought up before booking the hotel. The hotel was border line deserted and had we not already paid for the hotel through Expedia, we would have turned around and walked out. Two of the adults in our family went down to the exercise room and found not only 2 of the 5 pieces of equipment inoperable, but 4 of the 7 track lights in the room were burnt out. The water cooler was also empty and the area need cleaning. The only plus to the entire experience was that the desk clerk when we checked out, said "stay wasn't so good was it?" When I replied that she was correct, she said that the staff keep reporting the complaints to the owner, but he does nothing. She was very sympathetic. The server at breakfast was very friendly also.
1 out of 5
by samfrom omaha Ne

did not stay

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Nothing, DID not stay
Cons: update there web site
They advertise that they have a indoor water park. But it is closed and has been closed for months
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very disappointed that the water park was closed for maintenance. Apparently they would have discounted the stay if we had made the reservation directly with them, but not for us having gone through hotels.com. We were also disappointed to learn that the hotels.com rate was the same rate we could have gotten on our own, except that on our own we would not have had to deal with the prepayment and 24hour cancellation notice requirement. Lesson learned.