Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Staff is over-the-top friendly and helpful. Great location to everything. New clean hotel in a very clean and friendly city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Teething troubles?

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Location - easy drive to U of Iowa.
Cons: Service, facilities, staff, policies.
Apparently this is newly-opened, so maybe some is just teething troubles. a) neither of the elevators would go to the second floor when I checked in! I ended up at the third and had to haul my bags back down two flights. After that, I used the emergency stairs so I don't know if it was a persistent problem. Pretty weird. b) #203 was infested with flies and ladybugs -- I think they were hatching, because there were 1-2 new ones daily for me to tackle. c) the first morning, the maid rooted through and re-arranged all my toiletries and personal stuff in the bathroom, but didn't make my bed. After that, I put the Do Not Disturb up and since I was on my own and had only 4 nights total, I just did for myself. d) third night, someone moved into the room above me -- the floors are paper thin or that person stomped a lot. I did not hear noise from the rooms to either side. e) the kitchen sink in #203 filled with water every time I ran the faucet and the disposal did nothing to clear it. f) I had to check out early morning and pay with gift cards, which always take a long time to process, so I went down late the night before and asked if I could pay. I always do this with gift cards in Marriotts around the world (WA, WI, CO, Phuket, to name some), but in *this* Marriott they refused and made me check out in the morning so I had to get up way early to ensure I wasn't in a long line or creating delays for everyone else. The location was good for me, the hotel blah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rock Island,IL.

Weekend getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!
Location: Plenty Of resturants nearby, and shopping mall!
Needed a short weekend getaway for shopping. Location was literally across the highway from the mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Muscatine, Ia

Cold floors

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Super cold floors made it quite uncomfortable. The room was on the ground floor so I think it was a slab floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I will see if there is anything that I can for your comments that you have listed. I will also check the room to see if there is anything else at play.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom SW Iowa

New granddaughter for Christmas.

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
visiting son and family. Excellent hotel. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Dec 10, 2014
We had a mouse in our tub, so at 10:00 at night we had to move to another room. The hotel had a foul smell throughout the hotel. The desk clerk said the manager will call me the next day to give some compensation for having to deal with the mouse, but it has been 3 days and no call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rogerfrom Ohio

Comfort

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very comfortable and roomy. Beds were excellent. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grayslake, IL

University of Iowa Visit

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the breakfast and exercise room and nice size of the work desk in our room. I loved the little coves by the breakfast room with the TVs also.
Location: We loved the mall nearby and we spent some time in downtown Iowa City. We also used the paths close to the hotel as we are avid runners/bikers.
The hotel was great! Great breakfast, excercise room had up to date equipment, pool/hot tub area was very nice, we loved the kitchen area and desk area (very large). Very impressed with this hotel and plan on staying here again in the future. Staff was very pleasant and was able to help with any of our needs and the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Stephen Rentzfrom Whitehouse, Ohio

Very Nice Roomy place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We find the room has lots of room to move around and it has a very nice kitchen with table and chairs to eat on. It is also a pet friendly hotel which we did have our pet with us.