Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom waukee iowa

Great location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
This hotel is within walking distance to many places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

It's all good in the hood baby! I don't need to s

Posted Jan 5, 2015
My experience was great save for the bummer reason I was in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small closet

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: Closet space needs improved or at least some hooks on the wall to hang your coat on since there is no way coats and clothes will fit in the closet.
We stayed in the Sheraton in Iowa City over the 2014 Christmas holidays. Everything was great except the VERY small closet space. The bar to hang your clothes on could only have been 8 to 10 inches long so it was a struggle to get our hang up clothes in that space. Other than that the staff was friendly and very helpful and the rest of the room was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home for the holidays.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Visiting family in the area, and needed a place to stay. Quiet, clean room, and very comfortable bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient walking distance to the University

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice and clean, could use some updating but very good location for shopping, restaurants and to the University of Iowa.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Too expensive for what you get

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, close to Iowa campus, and near bars and restaurants.
Cons: Offer more complimentary amenities like parking and bottled water in the rooms. Lower the room rates, even 50%, and I would consider staying again.
Location: You can about walk from the campus. Buffalo Wild Wings is nearby, as well as a host of pubs. Hawkeye fans everywhere, which is fine since they're nice
I traveled from Texas to watch the Nebraska vs. Iowa game, so I decided to book this room in advance because I knew hotels near the stadium would get booked pretty quickly. After staying I was very displeased with the presentation of the hotel in whole and would sooner stay at a Best Western or Motel 6 than book this Sheraton again. You pay for everything on top of the outrageous price you pay for the hotel - from bottled water scattered throughout the room to the hotel parking garage, they ended up racking up my card on file for many other charges after booking far in advance on expedia. It is very close to the campus and in the middle of quite a few bars and restaurants. The beds were super comfy, but once you take that out of the equation, it's really just a place to sleep. I wouldn't be able to afford to do anything else at the hotel. To top it off, I was thirsty so I went to the vending machines, but they were broke on my floor and the one below me (ice too). I went to the service desk on check out and they were going to charge me for additional hotel parking (because I had 2 rooms) but I only brought one vehicle so I had to plead to get that removed from the final statement. And just as we were leaving the parking lot (after paying for parking mind you) we noticed a sign on the parking garage saying "free parking today". At that point I was too tired with dealing with hotel staff about everything that we just left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milwaukee wi

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The room was great and the bed was comfortable. The price I paid should include some sort of continental breakfast though.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines

Wi fi slower than old 3G

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Beds (at least mine) sagging. In a hotel in Iowa, I would not expect to pay such a premium for parking. And please, free wi-fi. The time has come.
Location: Great places. I recommend Graze for drinks and appetizers. 126 is nearby and quite good. Atlas. Too many great places to list.
This hotel is incredibly convenient if you're visiting the university. Otherwise, it is quite inconvenient, beginning with the endless drive around the city parking garage used for parking. Then the walk to the hotel. Parking is expensive--almost Chicago downtown hotel expensive. They advertise free wi-fi, but be aware: you will often be unable to get internet access and will get "try again later" because the system is busy. Then when it finally comes up, you wait, and wait, and wait. In the time it took to load my e-mail page, I had sent three message on my vintage 3G iPhone. UNLESS--oh yes, you can PAY outrageous rates and get faster speeds. That's just guest abuse. Or bait and switch with the "free wi-fi" claim. The other issue was the bed. It was quite soft and sagging. So, though my ratings above seem high (yes, people were nice, the room was clean, etc.), it's these little injustices that make me less than enthusiastic. The Iowa House is nice, less expensive, and not of this other nickel-and-dime stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Roy Raemerfrom Highland Park, Illinois

Convenient to University

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were pleased with the comfort of the room as well as the amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Twin Cities

Great location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Work out facilities were exceptional and the room was very comfortable.
Cons: Train the overnight staff on changing fuses.
Location: Airliner & Blue Bird Cafe (try the cinnamon role), the river walk from Burlington Ave. south on the West side of the Iowa River.
It was terrific being located right down town with great work-out facilities and a very clean comfortable room. Those are all of my top agenda items. The only reason that I did not rate this a "5" across the board is that a fuse blew in our room knocking out the phone, television and lights the first (Friday) night and until we could go down to the front desk and wait in line (no phone) Saturday a.m. it could not be fixed.