Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel close to Univ. of Iowa campus.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: It's proximity to the campus is great.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location was great. Close to the campus, as well as restaurants and shops.
Nice, comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff was very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lacking Comfort

Posted May 30, 2015
Mattress too soft and sunk in the middle of the bed. The room fan kept waking us up - noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice hotel with super-helpful staff

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: Our room was right next to the pool, which was a little loud sometimes but overall not bad.
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sheraton in Iowa City while attending and helping out with our friend's wedding. The hotel staff were always present, attentive and happy to help us coordinate our trips via the included Sheraton shuttle service so that we could get to the wedding rehearsal, pick up food, and otherwise be wherever the wedding party needed us to be to make the schedule work. Our shuttle driver went so far as to let us call in unscheduled trips to make sure we could get everywhere we needed to be, even when things didn't go as planned. Across the board, the hotel staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and make us feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland (recently moved from Iowa City)

Good location, nice basic hotel, a bit overpriced

Posted May 23, 2015
Cons: Internet connections smoother to establish.
Location: Right on ped mall convenient for several restaurants, grocery, library, some shopping, lots of bars (a bit noisy at night).
Location right on the ped mall (center of what "downtown" there is in this town) is very convenient. Rooms are nice, no particular special features, internet a bit klunky (e.g., secure VPN connections refused), so a bit overpriced, but staff friendly & service fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Convenient to the location we were visiting.
Cons: Building maintainence
Location: Excellent mall outside the hotel.
Bed was too soft, wallpaper coming off the wall, damp carpet near the air conditioner/heater, room smelled musty, there was a sock behind the desk on the floor, mold on the bathroom tile and ceiling. This hotel was recommended by a family member, and we were very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

January visit to Iowa city.

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location Friendly staffs
Cons: Parking Prices
Location: Shopping Great restaurants Literally Playground
My family and I visited Iowa City in a cold winter month of January of this year. We knew the city very well, since we lived there for a few years. We knew the hotel location was great for shopping and restaurants, especially for kids. We love that we could walk to a excellent library and a nice playground infront of the hotel. we really enjoyed the complimentary appetizers in the lounge area. Over all, it was a great stay for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel pity about the staff

Posted May 4, 2015
Hotel is great and clean, rooms are super comfortable with great amenities. People working check in/front counter couldn't care less if you are there however. I felt like less than a number and the only two questions I had while there were brushed off and passed on to me to take care of, like calling a cab to the airport. I've never heard of a hotel where you call your cabs yourself (especially since out of town people would not have cell service and even a quick call would cost a lot in roaming).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to food and restaurants

Posted Apr 27, 2015
My first room had a garlicky food smell that penetrated through it, also the shower wasn't draining. I had to switch room the next day, the second room didn't smell bad, but it smells of whatever they spray in the room to get rid of bad smell. I think this hotel is older and probably needed a good renovation. Very conveniently located, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but no TV

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Club floor access and appetizers
Cons: TV reception
The TV reception was very poor. After being gone all day and wanting to watch TV before bed at 11:30 p.m. to have a majority of the channels snowy with lines through them was frustrating. But, it was late and I wasn't going to call the front desk about it. I just went to bed. The hotel was clean, helpful staff and walking distance to everything downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the greatest service or room.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Was not fully cleaned upon arrival. One of the "clean" towels was dirty (had make-up or something on it) and the shower curtain had shaving cream and hair on it. I stayed for 2 nights, and housekeeping did not really clean during the day. It was sort of evident that they came--they emptied the trash can, and that is literally all.