Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I

Posted May 19, 2015
The rates were extremely high due to college graduation. They are in the process of working around the hotel lot (possibly creating new rooms?) so we had to pulll our bags through torn up concrete.There was a leak from our bathroom sink so the floor was always wet. In the am there was no hot water in the shower and very little water pressure. When we tried to turn on the air nothing happened. I did mention this to the front desk and was given a surprised oh??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Desk clerk very friendly
Cons: Require staff to understand and speak English
Location: Easy to get to downtown and U of Iowa campus
It would be nice if staff would all understand "English"!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
They needed a credit card on file for any extra expenses. I checked my card the next day and there was a $194.00 from the travel lodge. When I asked about it they did not know anything about it. I spent zero money on anything. It took 2 days to remove they amount from my card. I did not have a sense of trust in them. The breakfast was below average.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom utah

This place was terrible! Very disappointing.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The TV was old, but it did work. Kids liked the pool.
Cons: Although some renovation was going on, the problems we had were not because of that.
Roll away cot came with no mattress, just springs. This was never resolved during our two night stay. Shower ran hot then cold then hot. Wifi connection didn't work most of the time. Patron dryer didn't blow hot air so our clothes never got dry. Vending machine didn't work properly. Towels were very old, thin and worn. Breakfast was poorly managed. Outside security door was never locked. Two of the three bulbs in the bathroom flickered constantly. We did not enjoy our stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wedding

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: I think maybe have someone that knew how to speak english in the day time. The gentleman that was on around 5am was very nice and helpful/
Location: only had malls!! places to eat!!! no night life.
don't really know. I had a better idea of what Iowa City would be like and I was totally surprised. Nothing to do. Not enough places for night life.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
Under construction. Very poor condition but was inexpensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk was a mess, entry was unfinished

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Give substantial discounts because of renovation mess.
Hotel was run down, desk clerks were not ready for check-in, they are remodeling with mess everywhere. Room smelled heavily of cleaning supplies. Travel Lodge should be careful of branding hotels with their name before they are remodeled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Good stay for the price. Its under renovation currently but should look good when its don .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Sheets on one of the beds was stained. Juice in dispenser at breakfast was spoiled. Pancake batter tasted like it had sat out of the refrig. The hotel was under construction so hopefully it will improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Northfield, MN

On the Way

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: ran out of space above. The pool looks lovely. Pleasant staff. Decent enough breakfast offering, although sausage was there one day and not ...
Cons: A good cleanup, window washing, and completed construction project. No doubt valuable input could come from your staff.
Location: Two miles from downtown, at a good rate, is great.
My recent two night stay at Travelodge was a bit curious. May I offer comments as an experienced and retired manager, not as negative criticism but rather as a means to review your product? If so: The place is under construction, with all that implies, since last November, I understand. Still, your product was an appreciated value for me. In fact, I was surprised not to hear saws and hammers, and the working crew was respectful and helpful. My first key did not work but the foreman, I presume he was, happened to be near and offered to open my door so I could deposit my luggage. The lobby people were pleasant and helpful as well. Unfortunately, communication seemed absent. The breakfast room was unreasonably dusty, based on the appearance of windows and window sills. The juice machine was depositing a detestable liquid, which on the second morning of my stay, finally had an "Out of Order" sign pasted well above the operative buttons so that people who didn't notice the sign were still trying to get juice there. I know it wasn't just my room because I heard another guest complain about having only two bedside lamps in his room. Trying to use my laptop at the desk was difficult due to lack of light. The light switch at the door was inoperative or led to a light not yet installed, which was also a complaint by another. As much as ceramic tile is durable and pleasing to the eye, it is uncomfortable to more feet than mine, especially in the middle of the night w