Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
Under construction. Very poor condition but was inexpensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk was a mess, entry was unfinished

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Give substantial discounts because of renovation mess.
Hotel was run down, desk clerks were not ready for check-in, they are remodeling with mess everywhere. Room smelled heavily of cleaning supplies. Travel Lodge should be careful of branding hotels with their name before they are remodeled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Good stay for the price. Its under renovation currently but should look good when its don .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Sheets on one of the beds was stained. Juice in dispenser at breakfast was spoiled. Pancake batter tasted like it had sat out of the refrig. The hotel was under construction so hopefully it will improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Northfield, MN

On the Way

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: ran out of space above. The pool looks lovely. Pleasant staff. Decent enough breakfast offering, although sausage was there one day and not ...
Cons: A good cleanup, window washing, and completed construction project. No doubt valuable input could come from your staff.
Location: Two miles from downtown, at a good rate, is great.
My recent two night stay at Travelodge was a bit curious. May I offer comments as an experienced and retired manager, not as negative criticism but rather as a means to review your product? If so: The place is under construction, with all that implies, since last November, I understand. Still, your product was an appreciated value for me. In fact, I was surprised not to hear saws and hammers, and the working crew was respectful and helpful. My first key did not work but the foreman, I presume he was, happened to be near and offered to open my door so I could deposit my luggage. The lobby people were pleasant and helpful as well. Unfortunately, communication seemed absent. The breakfast room was unreasonably dusty, based on the appearance of windows and window sills. The juice machine was depositing a detestable liquid, which on the second morning of my stay, finally had an "Out of Order" sign pasted well above the operative buttons so that people who didn't notice the sign were still trying to get juice there. I know it wasn't just my room because I heard another guest complain about having only two bedside lamps in his room. Trying to use my laptop at the desk was difficult due to lack of light. The light switch at the door was inoperative or led to a light not yet installed, which was also a complaint by another. As much as ceramic tile is durable and pleasing to the eye, it is uncomfortable to more feet than mine, especially in the middle of the night w
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet place

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: The walls are a little thin, but they said that is part of the renovation.
Location: It was close to my conference center and near a grocery store. There was a restaurant right next door. Very close to Iowa City hospitals, stadium.
In process of remodeling, so things are a little disarrayed. New mattress which was very comfortable. Office staff very nice to work with. Once it gets remodeled, it will be a great place. It was quiet for the most part. Close to a grocery store and had a microwave and refrig. in the room. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
the pool was closed for renovations. only breakfast option was donuts. TV was not HD.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Dirty Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Everything was very old and outdated. Sheets did not smell clean and the towels in the bathroom definitely smelled and looked dirty. I think it's definitely worth it to spend a little more money and not put your health at risk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Staff seemed nice and looks like new owners are making upgrades.
Cons: Breakfast was minimal, 'health club' listed is a discount to one in town that they don't have info for, pool under construction.
Location: close to university, mall and interstate
I'm sure this hotel will be improving, as seems it was recently purchased and new owners are doing much. In the mean time, you have to live with much construction. Pool, paint, doors that should be locked, but aren't, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Haven, UT

Great digs, but forget the breakfast

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: bed, bath and beyond
Cons: breakfast
Location: It's Iowa City. Go to the Fossil Gorge and the antique car museum. Otherwise, anything Hawkeye is a reason for coming here.
The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations; should be really nice within the year. The king bed was very comfortable, the room temperature perfect, the whole place clean as can be. But the continental breakfast is more like the island of starvation. They must be encouraging guests to eat out for breakfast, as the watery juice is requisite for washing down the unpalatable donuts, mutant bear claws and the like. There are a few red delicious (Red but not delicious) apples and oranges, and two choices of cold cereal, without enough milk. Oh and coffee, which I also didn't try. Actually I am speaking almost totally based upon supposition, since after one look at the fare, I skipped it altogether, except for the apple juice, and that's how I know it's even waterier than Tree Top.