Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent as always

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Easy to find Lots of car parking Lovely staff Clean and comfortable rooms
Cons: Nothing
This is the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at Hotel City and we have always enjoyed it immensely. The staff are always extremely helpful and courteous and the rooms are always lovely. We have recommended this hotel to any of our friends asking about hotels in this area. We will be back again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Close to the train station... but not a nice area.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: We came in late on a Tuesday evening and there was not much to do in the area. We were able to find a nice restaurant.
We picked this hotel based on its location close to the train station since we were only stopping overnight. However, area made us feel uncomfortable as there were a number of derelicts hanging around the square in front of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and recommended a pretty good restaurant nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LuRhe from San Jose

Close to Train Station

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best part of the City Hotel in Villach was the outstanding breakfast! They went out of their way to be helpful plus marked the various juices, jams, in English. Sautéed vegetables, fresh vegetables, a wide assortment of everything; bread, meats, juices, fresh and dried fruits. It was located right across from the train station and had an elevator to assist with luggage. The room was quite nice, but VERY small. Great wifi in the room and a terminal in the lobby. Friendly front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by middle aged couple from Sydney Australia

very pleasant stay

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very convenient for us as really close to trains Staff were helpful and pleasant Room was very clean and well serviced Location was easy walk to town centre and Villach a really pleasant place to visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from St Albans

Nice hotel, right opposite the main station

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Good, near to shops and station, booked at last minute, nice breakfast buffet, good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
by susan from san diego

Way overpriced & not like any 4 star I have stayed

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The smallest bathroom ever! Only stayed here because it was close to the train for one night. Smaller than a cruise ship room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Right opposite main station

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
A superb hotel. Although the room we had was small it was well laid out making maximum use of the space available. The breakfast is to be especially recommended as it uses as much locally produced items as possible, the soft cheese board provided had some of the best cheese I had had for a long time on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location opposite Hbf, no noise though. 5 Min walk to town bars / restaurants. Breakfast good, starting 07:00. Hotel really needs a bar though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Excellent value.

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a wonderful hotel. I just needed a place to stay overnight because I couldn't catch a train to Lienz till the next morning, so I got the economy room and loved it. Everything about this hotel is great - very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful free breakfast, immaculate rooms, and a great location. The only reason why I would have given them 4 stars is because the economy room is not air-conditioned, and that should have been made clear before booking it (nowadays I would expect all rooms to have A/C). When I asked about it, I was told that I would have to upgrade my room for it. I thought that was kind of petty. Fortunately, it was a cool night.