Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good and very please.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Clean, quite, in the cantered of the city, smiling and polite staff.
Cons: Breakfast and bed could be improved.
Location: You are in the cantered if the town. You can travel to/from airport with ine bus as little as less than 1 euro.
I am very pleased with Astoria Hotel. The staff is very helpful and always polite. The room was very clean. The bed was not excellent but with price I paid I don't think I can complain. It is in the entered of the city. They could improve a bit on breakfast. The food was always same. If you are after a bargain but decent hotel then go for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Good location but the room was not clean, no toiletries provided only liquid soap in a glass, worn-out/uncomfortable pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AJW from Stafford

Clean hotel in great location

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was exactly as expected with reasonable sized, clean and comfortable rooms. Convenient location not far from the main promenade, bars and restaurants. Friendly service by hotel staff, basic but fresh selection for the included breakfast, I would definitely stay at this hotel again if in Thessaloniki.
1 out of 5
by mark from england

Not nice!!!!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
It is a city so maybe shouldn't expect to much but the view from hotel was like something you'd imagine from Beirut!!! Open the windows at six in the morning to be treat to the clubs music downstairs & endless horns going. We moved hotels after 2 days of a six day trip. Would not stay there ever again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Value for Money. Clean and in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carolinus from London

Overnight stay - great location for the nightlife

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel due to its close proximity to the nightlife (Ladadika) which was just across the road! The welcome at reception was lovely, the quality of the whole hotel was very nice and modern, although we could only really get wi-fi in the corridor, the reception in our room was almost non-existant. The beds were hard but comfy, but the 2 downsides would be the lighting was very dim (just 2 lamps, no overhead lighting) and it was very noisy with traffic & music from outside. I would definitely stay here again for a short visit, but would ask for a room on the back of the hotel, away from the road. Breakfast was OK if it's included but I wouldn't want to pay the extra for it. All receptionists were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic central location, a stroll away from restaurants and the seafront. No idea what complaints about noise are talking about - our room was peaceful and the whole hotel was clean, efficient and welcoming. We stayed one night to get a morning flight, and the no 78 bus to the airpot is just 5 mins walk away.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by jim from florida

Decent Bare Bones Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Located 10 minute walk from the city center, the Astoria was a bare bones value for a hotel. Clean and safe, but not plush. Long wait to check in and check out with only one person working front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great neighborhood, but not ideal for workcations

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was in Thessaloniki for 4 days gathering research, and one of the main attractions of the Astoria Hotel was its proximity to the Byzantine churches, archaeological sites, and museums I needed to visit. However, I needed to send files back and forth from the hotel, and the internet was the worst I have ever seen for a 3-star hotel. The connection was ridiculously slow, frequently disconnected, and had a weak signal most of the time. The front desk staff claimed that it was because they were fully booked and more people than usual were using the wifi. Then get a bigger server! Also, the hotel doesn't have any "Do Not Disturb" signs, so expect the cleaning ladies to knock on your door and open it sometime around 9:00 or 9:30 am. I was not happy about that. The neighborhood has some excellent restaurants, and everything except the beaches is more or less within walking distance. Even the bus to the airport is just a 5-minute walk away, which was very convenient. Because the neighborhood is bustling, it can get noisy at night (as in disco/rave parties). The staff did its best to keep up with the traffic in and out of the hotel, but clearly the hotel needed more people at the front desk. They were friendly and helpful, though, and while the hotel is not the best in town, for the price and its location, the benefits outweigh the inconveniences.