Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean family friendly hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 2, 2015
We started one night to go to the aquarium. The hotel was clean and accommodating. We will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Personnel were pleasant and cordial. Closeness to beach was great.
Cons: In all Best Western hotels, recycling should be emphasized more for the customer.
Location: Agate Beach! Unusual sand formations.
Specify if you want a beach view rather than the parking lot--all the photos on the hotel website show the beach view, but unless you ask for it you won't get it. There is a price difference, by the way. The only Best Western on our trip in which breakfast was not included in the cost of the room. Air conditioner was somewhat noisy which didn't help sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redding ca

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: nice and clean
we stayed one night, it was fine nothing else to say. we stayed there once before and it was fine
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OR

Rude staff

Posted Jun 13, 2015
The staff was very rude because we booked through expedia. They made it very clear the do not like guest who book with expedia or use groupon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We were probably given the worst room in the hotel, window opening to the parking lot, no privacy, and noisy. Beachside views were not full even across the hallway from us. Construction was being done and so some of the facilities were not usable including the spa. Construction-like drilling noise occurred about 15 times beginning at 6:30 am on Saturday, and several times beginning at 8 am on Sunday, waking me and my small son up early both days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice place to stay on a busy weekend:

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the rooms a bit. Pretty spartan and dated.
The Best Western SAgate Beach Inn is a bit dated, but clean and very convenient to the Newport area. We had a room on the back side and were near the upper parking area, which was a bit loud at times during the night. I would recommend getting an ocean side room to avoid the sounds of loud music and loud talking from clueless guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so Best Western...

Posted May 25, 2015
Very expensive for what is essentially a 2-2.5 star hotel. No complimentary breakfast at all. Upgraded room charged even though "oceanfront " rooms were easily available. Oceanfront rooms are partial ocean views and not worth the upgrade fee. Price point is way off for what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancovuer, WA

Not bad, not great. Better places for the price.

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Beds and pillows were super comfortable. Restaurant staff very nice.
Cons: Nothing here to justify the price. Other area hotels are offering breakfast, cookies, chowder, etc. Little extras make a big difference.
Location: We visit Newport 3 or 4 times a year in all seasons and never run out of things to do and see.
In Newport, I usually stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn when wanting a beautiful ocean view and lots of nice extras, or the Travelodge when needing a comfortable place to sleep on a budget. The E Street Inn was full so booked here because of the pool and spa. I was having pain issues and looking forward to the SPA. At check-in we found that the spa was closed. I told the front desk person that the spa was my reason to book there. She was completely uncaring and said I could cancel the reservation. Really? At 5:30 on a Saturday evening? And go where? We stayed because we felt we had little choice. The room was small, view of the parking lot, no continental breakfast, bathroom very cramped, restaurant food unremarkable. It would have been nice to get a view room, restaurant voucher, anything really, for the inconvenience of the spa being closed. I won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kootenays

Nice enough place by the beach

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Close to beach, clean, comfy and has a restaurant if needed.
Cons: Room sliding glass door was a little run down but we didn't have ocean view so it's not like we're were looking at it.
Location: Beach is right there and you can walk a long way on it. There's a nice lighthouse and natural area just north that our family enjoyed.
Nice enough and right next to walmart if you need that? Beach is a very short walk across the street and parking for us was in upper lot and has sky walk to get in to hotel. Just writing about things I never saw in other reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Amazing View!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Amazing view for miles from the room. Beds were comfortable, room was clean. Almost heard no noise the whole stay.