Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane from Dallas, TX

Just What We Needed!!

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Pros: Very relaxing and accommodating.
Cons: The parking lot was difficult to maneuver in, our fireplace didn't work and the second floor didn't have a balcony.
Location: Right on the beach. Great views. Right on 101. Marvelous
I love road trips, but they can get pretty tiring. This lovely hotel was exactly what we needed. Everything was brand new! The staff was solicitous. The location was perfect. Breakfast delivered to the room - priceless!! The room was gorgeous and had enough space to relax. All the little things you need, like a frig, and some that you don't, but love - like a fireplace. I particularly liked that there was a little entry hall, so that it felt more homelike. Really tasteful furnishings, too. We arrived just as the social hour was ending, but we grabbed my husband's kite and hit the beach where we had our own social hour - but no one was serving wine. Two things kept this stay from rating as perfection. Our expedia reservations put us on the second floor - which has a great view, but no balcony. Also, the fireplace wasn't working. Someone came up and jiggled something, which got it on, but it only stayed on about 60 seconds, so that was a disappointment. Otherwise - stay here. You'll love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver WA

June 2012

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Cons: I would have like a larger selection for the continental breakfast and the food was barely warm when brought to the room.
The staff was very warm and friendly. The hotel was completely remodeled and very clean. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the beach access was easy. The location is wonderful, close to many restaurants, a movie theater, the outlet mall, and the casino. The nightly wine and cheese social is a nice addition as well. It is hard to find dog friendly hotels on the Oregon coast, but The Shearwater Inn welcomes our furry family members. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
2 out of 5
by Annette from lebanon, oregon

Not my 1st choice

Posted May 22, 2012
Cons: The smell in the hall way and room.
Location: Was okay easy access to the beach.
The decor was outdated, the smell was bad don't know if it was a cleaning product they use or one they use to try and cover up the smell from the dogs. It was very old and musty smelling my husband had a hard time with it had to open the sliding door to air out the room. When we ckecked in the gentlemen at the desk did not seem very happy to be there and he was very hard to understand had to ask him to speak up and to repeat himself. The elevator took for ever to get to our floor (we were on the 4th floor). Could not understand why they did not have a ice machine on each floor had to go down to the 2nd floor to get ice. And wait and wait for the elevator finally took the STAIRS. Got plenty of exericise!! The view from the 4th floor was okay on one side saw the top of a resturant the other the top of another hotel. When we got to our room just after 4:00pm all the lights in the room were on and the TV was going. Not the best way to save electicity. We always like to try new Hotels at the coast but this one we would not stay at again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Puyallup Wa.

Great getaway for couples

Posted May 7, 2012
Pros: There wasn't one favorite thing...Everything was great!
Location: The Shearwater is located just across from the outlet stores...in the middle of Lincoln City.
We arrived on a Thursday afternoon in time for their Wine Tasting. They also served cheese and meat. It's served in the parlour...nicely furnished...so you can meet other guests. Really a nice feature. All rooms overlook the ocean.We had a 2 bedroom suite as there were 4 of us...The room was so nice! Kitchen, living area, master bedroom and 2nd bedroom...Really nice feature was the fact that it had 2 bathrooms...Made it so much easier getting around in the morning...They also serve a breakfast, brought to your room... Granola, with fresh fruit, yougurt, bagel and a hard cooked egg. Also, coffee, juice, and tea. The managers were friendly and very interesting to talk with. We had such a great time and definitely will go back again..New owners are putting king beds in all the rooms.. just missed out on that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Experience for us!

Posted Apr 30, 2012
There were bonuses we weren't expecting: breakfast served to us in our room, wine and nibbles from 5:30-6:30 each evening. (no charge) Another thing which didn't apply to us, but they are pet friendly. Everything was clean and up to date. I have never seen a live plant in a room before. We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Farmington, UT

Very nice!

Posted Apr 10, 2012
When we checked in on Apr 7, 2012, we learned that this hotel has a new owner. I suspect that the high quality will be maintained by the new owners, so it remains to be seen if the rating will be the same. The previous and now the new owners are keeping this hotel dog friendly. However during our stay, the Internet wireless was down for the weekend. Every room faces the ocean although there are other buildings in the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heaven from Sisters, OR 97759, USA

A Must Stay Hotel!

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Pros: Cozy rooms and breakfast in bed.
Location: Great location with views of the ocean
My new Oregon Coast Hotel! Upon checking you are greeted by their friendly staff who actually offer to help with your bags. In the evening they have a lovely wine and cheese tasting. We arrived after the scheduled time but we're still offered a complimentary glass of wine. The room was cozy felt more like a Bed and Breakfast than Hotel. In the morning the bring you breakfast in bed. I'm not talking donuts and juice, it's a delicious choice of options very nicely presented. All these pluses with out the high price tag. I felt the accommodations were excellent for the price. Would definitely recommend this Hotel to my friends and family. Keep up the great job O'dysius Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy from Oregon, USA

Excellent Birthday

Posted Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Nice ocean view.The room had a balcony with chairs, gas fireplace, and refrigerator. The Hotel property was well kept and clean.
Location: Close to the beach on a quiet street.
Excellent place for couples. Professional staff and the evening wine tasting was a lot of fun! Great place to celebrate a Birthday.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Not worth the money

Posted Dec 6, 2011
My wife and I thought we were getting a nice room with a jetted tub by the window over looking the ocean. We were also told it was a feather top mattress and pillows. When we got there, our room.had no jetted tub and the receptionist said the hotel did not have them. We paid extra for that room, next morning staff said they did have the room and she was new. Our room had stains all over the bed and a broken tub. They did not offer an apology and still charged us the extra money. Not an ideal get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Lovely, intimate, botique hotel that we will visit again.

Posted Nov 14, 2011
We were not disappointed in any way, with this sweet hotel. From the time we were greeted we felt like a welcomed guest. The evening wine and cheese reception was wonderful, as was the choice of wines. Our breakfast, (delivered to our room) was a surprise and delicious. When we checked out the next morning we vowed to come back. The manager and the staff were exceptional.